RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Am I a "Poser"?????(60 posts)

Am I a "Poser"?????huffer
Mar 25, 2003 1:26 PM
I just bought a Serotta Legend Ti with full Dura Ace, Mavic Ksyriums, blah blah, and even the special paint job that changes color in the sun. HOWEVER, I have never owned a road bike in my life. That is, I am a complete beginner at road riding and racing (however I have ridden MTB for many years). What is daunting to me is the idea of going out on club rides, races, etc., and having to endure the "jeez, he's got a Serotta and he doesn't even know what the hell he's doing, what a poser/yuppie scum/your derogative remark here. What is the mentality of dismissing someone as not being a serious rider simply because his first bike isn't a $500 beater (no offense to anyone who owns a bike in this price category)? I consider myself VERY serious about road racing, having trained my ass off this winter in the weight room and on the stationary bike, and have also taken the time to read many books and magazines on what it takes to be a serious competitor. I have always loved the idea of road racing, but being in college, did not have the funds to pursue the sport seriously. I know I will love it, so why not get a bike that can deliver any amount of performance I can muster, and grow with me as I improve each year? Bottom line, I want to ride seriously and meet other people who are serious about the sport, but am already discouraged by all the "Poser" talk I hear all the time. I don't want to be talked about negatively behind my back just because I have a good bike. Sounds fair to me, but this just isn't the way it is, is it?
No...PdxMark
Mar 25, 2003 1:36 PM
the "poser" tag speaks far more to the person who applies it than you. It's about them judging you by your bike rather than your personality and character. Enjoy your great bike and good luck with racing.
Tell them you are not a poser if they say so.chriscpa
Mar 25, 2003 1:37 PM
It works
Don't let "talk" get you down. Do whatever youRhodyRider
Mar 25, 2003 1:39 PM
want to do. Anecdotally, I think there must be about 10 times as many good people road riding & racing out there that couldn't care less what you do or ride, as there are folks who might employ sarcasm or derogation on you. Do a non-scientific study, perhaps: for every one person you encounter who says (dripping with sarcasm), "nice bike" or mutters, "5000 bucks worth of equipment, and fifty-cent legs", or challenges your machismo with a bike-path-hero sprint contest, also count up the folks who don't say an unkind word or who only have nice, encouraging things to say. Then tally the results, and see for yourself. Your enthusiasm for the sport, if sincere, will eventually morph into confidence in your abilities, and then you'll wake up one day and realize you don't give a hoot about what others may say behind your back. YMMV.
Yes, you are.RJF
Mar 25, 2003 1:39 PM
Just kidding!

It's human nature -- people will always be jealous about the guy with the $5,000 bike. Even more so if the guy with the bike isn't experienced. I wouldn't worry about it. Sounds like you've got the right attitude. The only real "poser" is the guy on the $5,000 bike who is a newbie BUT has a huge ego and attitude.

Don't worry about what others think.

And, you suck for having such a nice bike, you poser. ;)
No53T
Mar 25, 2003 1:42 PM
Please do not confuse what you read here with real life. On the road you will ride with many guys who don't even know who Ben Serotta is.

A couple of guys questioned why I would be racing a Waterford, most have no idea what kind of bike it is don't realy care.
PosersMR_GRUMPY
Mar 25, 2003 1:52 PM
Anybody that races, and doesn't know what a Waterford is, is a Poser.
It's a pen right? Or was that the crystal grandma collected? -nmSnowBlind
Mar 25, 2003 3:13 PM
PosersThe Human G-Nome
Mar 25, 2003 3:51 PM
anybody who points out every single little pebble in the road as a hazard! oh wait, that's not a poser, that's just my buddy chris.
It depends on who you ride with.MR_GRUMPY
Mar 25, 2003 1:45 PM
If you show up to a hard paced group training ride and proceed to be off the back before you get out of the parking lot, you won't see the eyes rolling or the snickers or the rude comments. You have to pay your "dues" to get respect.
If, on the other hand, you go on nice club rides, you won't have that problem.
So the answer is YES and NO.
BingoSpoiler
Mar 25, 2003 3:14 PM
"I just bought a Serotta Legend Ti with full Dura Ace, Mavic Ksyriums, blah blah, and even the special paint job that changes color in the sun. HOWEVER, I have never owned a road bike in my life. That is, I am a complete beginner at road riding and racing (however I have ridden MTB for many years). What is daunting to me is the idea of going out on club rides, races, etc., and having to endure the "jeez, he's got a Serotta and he doesn't even know what the hell he's doing, what a poser/yuppie scum/your derogative remark here. What is the mentality of dismissing someone as not being a serious rider simply because his first bike isn't a $500 beater (no offense to anyone who owns a bike in this price category)? I consider myself VERY serious about road racing, having trained my ass off this winter in the weight room and on the stationary bike, and have also taken the time to read many books and magazines on what it takes to be a serious competitor."

You appear to be serious with the IDEA of racing. But no amount of weight room hours, or no amount of just reading about racing will get you respect. Only participating in racing will get you respect. That's why people see first-timers on pro-level bikes as poseurs. They look like they're trying to earn respect through their bike, not their riding.

"I have always loved the idea of road racing, but being in college, did not have the funds to pursue the sport seriously."

What do you mean? If you were serious, you'd buy a cheap used road bike. Training is cheap is free. Races are around $25, less than you'd spend on a Saturday night out at the clubs. If you can afford a mountain bike, you can afford a road bike.

"I know I will love it, so why not get a bike that can deliver any amount of performance I can muster, and grow with me as I improve each year? Bottom line, I want to ride seriously and meet other people who are serious about the sport, but am already discouraged by all the "Poser" talk I hear all the time."

This is part of the problem. You don't know you'll love it until you're off the back, finishing dead last even after giving 100%. If you walk away from that and say you love it, you'll earn respect.
If you're so worried about first impressions, just buy a cheap road bike, ride a bit, race a bit, then break out the superbike.
You have ably called our hero on a number of issues thatbill
Mar 25, 2003 3:33 PM
arguably make him a poser -- but none of them involve his bike. Who cares what bike someone has?
In my club, the best riders probably don't have the best bikes -- with a couple of exceptions, the best riders are the hammerheads who don't have wives and kids. This perspective sometimes reflects a life that revolves around training on a bike as a tool rather than looking on bike as an aesthetic statement or rather than a life spent making the dough necessary to buy an aesthetic statement, but WHO FRIGGIN CARES? Those guys don't, not to my knowledge, anyway. They either don't notice at all or they offer a sincere compliment on the nice ride and then go kick ass. Not to prove anything about the bike, but because they can, plain and simple.
The people who care; those are the guys I worry about.
Not at allLowend
Mar 25, 2003 1:46 PM
As long long as you enjoy riding. It is not about the bike. Like you, I have ridden MTB for many years. I wanted a road bike to commute or do rides at lunch, but I could only afford a $500 bike. I enjoy my $500 bike and ride when ever I get the chance. I don't think it makes me any less of a rider than people with their $4,000 bikes. Don't worry about what other think. There will always be someone talkig bad about you, no matter kind of bike you ride. F*** em.

Jim
Pretentious Alpha Malevelocity
Mar 25, 2003 1:49 PM
So long as your ego isn't raging, you're willing to learn group riding skills, are sociable, etc., I think most of us will admire your bike more than anything else.
Pretentious Alpha MaleThe Human G-Nome
Mar 25, 2003 3:56 PM
true, and just think, even if you are a poser you could change everyone's mind in less then 6 months with a little hard work. ;-)
Without a doubtpmf1
Mar 25, 2003 1:51 PM
Dammit, don't you know you're supposed to suffer on a cheap, heavy, crappy road bike with barely working components and possibly a kickstand for a few years all the time dreaming of a titanium bike before you finally get one? What the hell is wrong with you?
I had some of the same concerns, but now I just think there arebill
Mar 25, 2003 2:01 PM
guys, there are bikes, there are guys on bikes. If a guy has a cool bike, cool. If a guy is cool, cool. If the guy is a great rider, cool. If the guy has a cool bike but is otherwise an ass, it's still a cool bike. If he's a great guy but a lousy rider on a lousy bike, then he's still a great guy. If he's an ass, but a great rider, well, I won't bother with him much off the bike, but I will try to get on his wheel.
Already at the risk of redundancy, you get the idea.
Life's short, dude. Don't waste an ounce of precious energy worrying about what others may think. Wear/ride what you want and wear/ride it well.
"Walk tall, or don't walk at all." B. Springsteen
I had some of the same concerns, but now I just think there areThe Human G-Nome
Mar 25, 2003 3:58 PM
ya, but what if he's otherwise an ass when off his bike but when he's on his bike he's a great guy only when he's riding his cool bike, but when he's on his crappy bike he's just like the ass he normally is when he's off the bike except when he's with other great riders on cool bikes? what about then huh smarty pants?
last week is this week, next week, and this week is last weekbill
Mar 25, 2003 4:05 PM
next week, therefore, next week is not this week until next week.
If you have to ask...mohair_chair
Mar 25, 2003 2:01 PM
Why do you care what petty people think? Don't ever be embarrassed to have a nice bike. I'm sure there are lots of people to ride with in your area, and not all of them are losers.
nofiltersweep
Mar 25, 2003 2:08 PM
I wouldn't worry too much about it- there are a ton of people I've seen on very nice bikes that actually LEAD a group to run lights, stop signs, ride three or four abreast in traffic, etc...

...most bikers are too worried that they themselves might be identified as a poser to point it out in someone else... sort of like farting- nobody wants to be the first to notice because other may think it was them.... ;) I mean, how far to you want to take it- almost no one is truly worthy of their gear ;) Everyone could "get by" on a lesser bike... I really don't need such an expensive helmet and realize I'm just paying extra for fashion... there will always be someone faster or on a nicer bike... these are all immutable laws of doing anything.

Seriously, the guy/girl pointing out poserdom (or a rising stem for that matter) has some serious insecurity issues... like any of those issues make anyone any "better" than another is absurd. Now if you are on a group ride and you pose a legitimate HAZARD to the safety of others? That is a different story....
AgreeChiFlyer
Mar 25, 2003 2:09 PM
Most of the people who are crass enough to actually say something like "poser" probably are just jealous, or just being a horse's ass. Hey, like everyone else said, you got a great bike...go have fun with it, and if you get into road racing, I think you will find that most of the people who mutter "poser" will be the ones behind you.

I was Mtn Biking (And still do) when I started road biking. I like road biking simply because it is a different kind of riding, and it's a nice change. I have found the the really serious crowd of road riders are more prone to be worried about their performance and getting better than worrying about the next guy is riding or wearing.

Go enjoy...
ChiFlyer
(Who still wears Primal Wear Jerseys, and doesn't care what anyone says!)
Poser=goodThe Human G-Nome
Mar 25, 2003 4:06 PM
some of the great things about being a poser:

1) you have the choice to end your poserhood. all you have to do is put in the dedication.

2) the only way you can be a poser is is someone dubs thee "poser" and in that case, any guy/girl who would say the word poser (or poseur for that matter) is already a complete self-conscience jackass to begin with so you're a better person then they are.

3) by definition, you have a nicer bike/gear then the person calling you poser.

4) you are the most talked about rider on all cycling forums and if it's true that any any kind of publicity is good publicity, you've got it made and you're practically famous!

5) if you're a poser and you can still ride better/harder/faster then the non-poser, just think how good you'll be when you finally shed your poser cacoon.
maybe not, but you could always fake it :-) nmDougSloan
Mar 25, 2003 2:27 PM
Sounds to meMel Erickson
Mar 25, 2003 2:55 PM
like you're worrying about something that hasn't happened and may never happen. Life's stressful enough without worrying about what other people MIGHT think. Go out, be humble, ask questions, take direction, wear your thick skin and you'll be fine.
You are a class a "FRED"!!!!!nmthe bull
Mar 25, 2003 3:05 PM
You are joking, of course. Irony is tough to detect throughbill
Mar 25, 2003 3:11 PM
these little electronic characters, but tell me you're joking, please.
Freddy's dead, anyway.
Who cares anyway?zmarke
Mar 25, 2003 3:42 PM
Do people judge the car you drive based on your ability to dirve it? (this is assuming you have a nice car and can sort of drive)

You have the means and desire...anyone that says anything can pi$$ off in my opinion!
here's what you dolonefrontranger
Mar 25, 2003 3:44 PM
Ignore the backchatter, take that fancy new bike out and ride the living heck out of it getting yours and its butt kicked racing and riding. If it obtains a few honorable war wounds in the line of duty, so be it. Some of the most respected amateur racers out here ride cherry bikes, but they have rock chips in the paint jobs, scuffs on the levers and often the bartape is looking a little ratty. They are usually clean and function flawlessly mechanics wise, but they don't have that showroom shine.

Showing up to the start line or at the local Bike Nazi ride on a sparkly new bike with flawless clearcoat is like showing up at a ghetto 'ball game with blindingly white new Air Jordans. It marks you as someone who has something to prove.
that's right. ride your bike. let the other animals worrybill
Mar 25, 2003 3:53 PM
about whatever it is they worry about. all you should be worrying about is riding your bike.
The animals, by the way, want to kick your ass whether you're riding your ti Serotta or your nephew's tricycle.

I got a lesson in that when I was pre-riding a course with a guy in my club just last week. He's a Cat 3 (I'm a lowly, aging Cat 5), and he's strong, but he's really smarter than strong. Which makes him pretty smart.
Anyway, we're tooling along, and he hears my chain rattle on a shift. The sucker is immediately gone off the front. He heard my little mechanical issue, he heard me cuss, and it was absolutely second nature for him to take off. That was sort of scary.
here's what you doThe Human G-Nome
Mar 25, 2003 4:16 PM
that's pretty true. it's funny, but people treat me a lot differently when i'm on my beater compared to when i'm on the new Ciocc. i still ride them both equally, in fact, i probably ride the beater more. on the Ciocc, people either want to start up a conversation about the bike or they are really serious about wanting to kick my ass on the climbs. on the beater, i'm mostly ignored until i'm kicking someone's ass. i think it's funny that a new bike with a perfect clearcoat would catch someone's attention. the real poser is the guy who would go out of the way to scratch and rough up the looks of his bike just to look like a warrior. it's akin to buying new jeans that are pre-ripped or being a mall punk. either you can ride or you can't and no amount of fashion is going to mask that fact.
that's why my Colnago is always a little dirty...Mariowannabe
Mar 26, 2003 6:00 AM
I want it to look like I RIDE. (Actually, I clean the drivetrain, not the rest.)
What is a poser, anyway?purplepaul
Mar 25, 2003 3:49 PM
Someone who tries to impress others but can't. Usually, that applies to the people who are throwing the insults.

I've read plenty of posts by riders who take particular glee in denigrating "fat middle managers on Trek Postal bikes" so I can understand why you might be concerned about some of that hostility being sent your way. Instead, it may be a good way to determine who is and who is not worth riding with. Just how does your choice of bike affect them in any way?
What is a poser, anyway?The Human G-Nome
Mar 25, 2003 4:22 PM
exactly. if you're throwing around the word "poser" you're a poser. if you got bent out of shape everytime you saw some poor rider in a posty uni around here you'd get awfully tired of feeling so irritated very fast. if some newbie is getting satisfaction by sprinting by me on the flats then more power to him/her. i wouldn't blink an eye and if that gives them some sort of satisfaction then more power to 'em. cycling is definitely a sport that involves testing yourself and if you can give someone the fleeting joy of thinking they've bested you then you're a better person for it. what does it matter?
re: Am I a "Poser"?????No_sprint
Mar 25, 2003 3:56 PM
We make judgements based upon ability. If you are a danger to anyone around you, are clearly lacking in riding skills, a squirrel, likely to take out another rider, etc., you'll find people getting away from you. Don't matter what kind of bike you're on. That said, we all had our first day riding with the big guys in the fast group. Stay in the back for a while.
wellllllllll.....AaronL
Mar 25, 2003 3:58 PM
You are, to an extent.

Sure, it's a free world and all that crap. But why do you think you need an exotic bike to go race? What are you going to do when you dump that thing in a cat5 crit corner and buckle it up? Do you think a $1500-2000 bike will hold you back? If you do, then you have a lot to learn about racing.

Not to mention the fact tha you say it's your first road bike, how do you even know if it's going to be "right" for you when you don't even know what's wrong? Trust me, you don't know what's wrong at this point. You can read every magazine/book, go to multiple fit experts and you will never know what's best for you until you get a lot of miles under your belt and learn what works best for you.

I'm not trying to be a jerk and I'm not jealous, you asked for our opionions, and you got mine.

Good luck racing, and I really mean that. But I assure you that you will soon understand that it's not about the bike.
Not a poser, a beginner.triple shot espresso
Mar 25, 2003 4:16 PM
Or maybe a fat guy on a nice bike. Posers are more into the team kits. It's ok to be a beginner with good gear so long as you don't pretend you know things that you don't.

IMO Serrotas are bikes that beginners with the means ride, I don't see many racers riding them. So the bike says you're serious about the sport but perhaps uninitiated.
Not a poser, a beginner.= meThe Human G-Nome
Mar 25, 2003 4:33 PM
Posers are more into the team kits.>>>

that's true to an extent and definitely more true in America then in Europe. it's certainly not a good litmus test however. it's funny, because i wear a spanish champion jersey from time to time that i bought specifically because it was on clearance and because it doesn't boast any logo of the sort that would make someone a poser. some guy rode up beside me the other day, however, and asked me "who's the current spanish Champion, is it Freire?" i had no idea. is it freire, galdeano? i didn't know. since my cable left me last year, i don't even have access to OLN and i'm no longer keeping up on the races. anyway, that's my detour into poserhood. i did manage to smoke him on the pending climb, however that little f%$#^%n bastard! (just kidding)
Juan Carlos Guillamon (Jazztel) nmseyboro
Mar 25, 2003 7:09 PM
I hope old school kits are acceptabletriple shot espresso
Mar 26, 2003 7:10 AM
I totally forgot I did the training race last SUnday in a Team Zed jersey.
If 30-some canny RBR veterans hadn't taken this questionOldEdScott
Mar 25, 2003 5:32 PM
seriously, I would have sworn it was a troll. Not a whole lot about this story sounds right.
If 30-some canny RBR veterans hadn't taken this questiongeeker
Mar 25, 2003 8:23 PM
I think it *is* a troll. Pretty high troll index so far.
If it is "troll", why post , other than to insult someoneteamsloppy
Mar 25, 2003 8:55 PM
already vulnerable to insult?

About 4 months ago, this guy/girl posted trying to decide on ordering a Serrotta or Seven Frame. That's about the right time period for a custom frame to actually show up.

huffer "Serotta or Seven Cycles Frame or...?" 1/27/03 11:21am

I think users of the word 'troll' are of the same ilk as those that use 'poseur'. And you troll-insulters always manage to post near the end of a thread here at rbr. What's the deal? Hoping to slide in an insult without getting flamed yourself, hoping only the original poster reads every response in a long thread like this? FU
Yes--Can I have your bike? nmduckstrap
Mar 25, 2003 5:54 PM
re: Am I a "Poser"?????brian n
Mar 25, 2003 6:39 PM
huffer,

don't get too bent out of shape about other peoples comments, most who say such things are really just trying to assert their "cool" position to their buddies. it sounds like your fitness (and definitely your confidence and spirit) is high, so i would imagine that after a few group rides you will get the hang of most major things and the people/club you ride with will see you as a serious rider and not a "poser." many tricks of road racing/riding take years of experience, so just keep that in mind for your first few rides. if you really are worried about your first pack experience, hook up with a buddy who has the experience and get him to give you some hints before your first ride. If you don't know anyone in your road club (or all your friends are mtn riders), here's a quick list of dos and don'ts for group riding:

1) make sure you don't "half wheel" the rider infront of you. this is where you overlap your front wheel with his back wheel. if there is a sudden change of direction or slow down most likely he will take your wheel out and you will cause a crash.

2) use your computer to make sure that you don't continually speed up when you take pulls at the front of the paceline. it is quite easy to unknowingly speed up by 2-3 mph when the guy infront of you pulls off. experienced riders generally don't like this seesaw effect on the paceline. unless you're gonna drop them, then give it all you got ;)

3) pay attention to the length of pulls people are taking on the front. don't think you will gain any points by staying on the front for a long time, most likely you will just get very tired so when the hammer drops, you're out the back of the pack in a second.

4) don't feel bad about saying you want to hang at the back of the pack (and not work in the paceline) for a few rides. often times people are skittish riding with new people in pacelines, as you put a certain amount of trust in your buddies not to screw up. by being up front they will see that you are serious about learning, serious about not causing a crash, and will generally be much happier to teach you the ins and outs of pack riding.

5) have fun! pack riding is the essence of road racing, and when you get the hang of it it really is a ton of fun realizing you can go much faster working together than out by your lonesome.

-brian
Poser's Revenge :-)jose_Tex_mex
Mar 25, 2003 7:36 PM
True, this is petty. However, once a year myself and a friend head to the steepest hills around for our annual poser/lame-o moronothan.

Our attire: white t-shirt, white socks with red stripes, mountain shoes, basketball shorts, and ofcourse the old black and yellow vetta helmet. Crochet gloves optional.

We use our old school, taped up bikes, which are great but look like crap. Usually, a question to other riders about STI will hammer home our ignorance and imply inability to ride.

Next, we pace along and pass some snobby roadies who promptly jump on our wheel. We take them in to the hill and crack them. Yeah, it's childish and immature, but soooo much fun.

It never ceases to amaze me just how many people out there think they SHOULD be able to beat someone based upon fashion or equipment alone.
Why only once a year?Fez
Mar 26, 2003 8:47 PM
I've been having a lot of fun lately riding around in a slimcut wicking T-shirt, cycling shorts, and mtn bike shoes. Functional, but looks nothing like roadie gear.

When I get to our local training loop, its kind of fun hanging with or dropping the snobby roadies all dressed up in full club or team gear.

If they drop me, they figure they should have because I look like a beginner. If I drop them, it might make them wonder how a dude in a Tshirt and mtn bike shoes did that.
From a fellow "poser"...RCole
Mar 25, 2003 8:24 PM
I agree with most here - most riders don't care and those that do? - who give a damn. Like you I am fairly new to the sport - been riding about a year and a half. I've got a Moots, Dura Ace, "blah blah" and you know what? I've got 3 kids, a time-consuming career, and when I have free time I love to ride or just admire my work of art in the garage after the kids are sleeping. This is my vice and I enjoy it. Hey, I'm not out there boozin' it up with the boys, right!?

Enjoy that fine bike of yours!
You keep your Moots in the garage?!?LactateIntolerant
Mar 26, 2003 6:54 AM
That's just abuse :-)
only if you arnt faster than me :) :) - nmbenja15
Mar 25, 2003 9:10 PM
Serotta reunion!!!timster
Mar 25, 2003 10:55 PM
Here is picture of my Serotta !!!
You are not a poser!

Post yours Huffer!!!
Serotta reunion!!!russw19
Mar 25, 2003 11:14 PM
What is that thing, a 65? That's one big bike.. remind me to draft you on the training rides....

Nice bike!
Serotta reunion!!!huffer
Mar 26, 2003 9:23 PM
Nice looking rig timster! I am taking delivery of my Serotta tomorrow and plan on posting it on the "what do you ride" thread. I am absolutely giddy with delight!
put the shoe on the other foot...russw19
Mar 25, 2003 11:12 PM
I am a roadie, 100%. I own a nice mountain bike. It's a Rocky Mountain Vertex TO with a SID and XTR. If I went out riding with you on the trail, would you think I was a poser? Being a roadie, I ride very fast on the straight parts of the trail, but my bike handling is not the best. I never rode bmx bikes as a kid and on the road, trees don't jump out and grab you like they tend to on the trail. So when the trail gets technical, I slow down a bit from my MTB buddies. I am not afraid of the trail, but I respect it and don't really like crashing. I know my limits on the trail and ride within them. My MTB buds kick my butt thru the technical parts of the trail, but I catch up in the transition parts and on climbs.

Now, if I showed up and rode on the trail with you, would you label me a poser in your eyes? Or would you accept that I am a roadie and am at least out on the trail trying something I don't excel at?

This is really about the same thing you are asking.... and I wouldn't care if you were new to the road. If you showed up and had a good attitude and said you were new to the road scene, I would offer a tip or two and tell you to just have fun. If you kept showing up and getting better, I may offer a few more tips when I thought they would help. If you were in pretty good shape and pretty fast, I may try to drop you. Not because I thought you were a poser, but because that's what roadies try to do on training rides with other racers. If it was a slow group ride, I wouldn't do that, but if it was a racer's training ride, I would treat you like everyone else. That's the only way you would learn what to watch out for in a race when you are about to get dropped.

Anyways, I hope you enjoy your bike, it sure sounds like a nice one. Just ride it and don't care what other people think. Just have fun... that's why 99% of us here ride, because we love it. If you do too, then there is no way I could call you a poser.
just ride your bike nmJS Haiku Shop
Mar 26, 2003 6:26 AM
Ride wheelies and bunny-hop curbs and you'll be in...(nm)Quack
Mar 26, 2003 7:02 AM
Ride wheelies and bunny-hop curbs and you'll be in...(nm)wackycyd
Mar 26, 2003 2:56 PM
Quack!!!

"Quack!, Quack!, I second that!

wacky

C'est poseur. Ne pas poser. (So at least you're not a snob) fin128
Mar 26, 2003 7:12 AM
Take two psychiatrists and call me in the morning.djg
Mar 26, 2003 11:12 AM
Some folks may talk behind your back. Some folks are such that there's no pleasin' 'em. Most folks won't care. They'll either notice the nice bike or they won't notice at all. You bought yourself a good bike. Ride it. Enjoy it. Be serious about racing or semi-serious or experimental or lackadaisical (the last one's sort of pointless, IMO, but it's entirely up to you). Do not let the bike be the locus of dark fantasies about gossip behind your back. Unless you want to.
You're not a poser, you're a smart consumer.fbg111
Mar 26, 2003 7:26 PM
You're not a noob to biking. Given your MT experience you could probably kick some roadie butt, at least when climbing. And you're dead serious on getting into the roadie sport and performing well in it. Obviously you would be buying such a bike at some time in the future, so why not save $500, skip the beater, and go ahead and get what you know you're going to eventually want and need. Imho, you just saved yourself .5k.

You might want to skip the full matching team gear, though. ;)