RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What's with all the Cannondales on EBAY(12 posts)

What's with all the Cannondales on EBAYcrewman
Mar 24, 2003 4:54 PM
I was looking for a bike for my wife and decided on the Cannondale R1000. So i went to check EBAY for any deals and i find a R5000 going for $560 CDN. thats like $375 US
Its posted by someone called LORENABIKE with this private sellers thing going on. What gives?? It has to be a SCAM

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=7298&item=3600671002&rd=1
When size is not listed, it's a red flag. n/mfracisco
Mar 24, 2003 5:09 PM
re: What's with all the Cannondales on EBAYSTEELYeyed
Mar 24, 2003 5:46 PM
It's got all the earmarks of a scam. Ebay is not what it used to be.
100% pure SCAM !!!!DERICK
Mar 24, 2003 6:30 PM
*Brand new user with 0 feedback.
*Seller outside the U.S.
*Catalog picture of bike.
*Private auction (means you can't even e-mail the bidders to warn them it's a scam).
Someone, PLEASE Stink-Bid this auction. I've e-mailed seller.nmSpunout
Mar 25, 2003 4:31 AM
re: What about the SCAM Cannondales ON THIS SITE!teoteoteo
Mar 25, 2003 5:33 AM
How about the guy on RBR classifieds with a full size run of CAAD 7 Saeco Team Replicas. 2000 each. He lists an L.A. address but has a UK email--nice.

So I mail him and say I'll take one 2000 cash and my best friend in L.A. can pick up (true statement). Of course he never replied.

It's the same news for some really cheap Bianchi's 1800 EV 4/Full Record. Guy uses L.A. address and then mails me that bikes are in Spain but he'll overnight for no charge--yeah right. I overnighted a 5900 for a customer, Wisconsin to Texas...$162...even if international overnight on a bike could happen imagine that cost.
No way I'd consider a bid on that...biknben
Mar 25, 2003 6:30 AM
Catalog cut descriptions and photo. No personal message at all. This is a really lame scam.
have fun with him/her,dante
Mar 25, 2003 6:35 AM
ask him/her for the serial number, then email Cannondale and verify it. Personally I can't believe that people are actually falling for these scams...

dante
Does anybody have the link to report these scams?DERICK
Mar 25, 2003 6:56 AM
Link to RBR ad HERE.teoteoteo
Mar 25, 2003 7:04 AM
http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=32490&query=retrieval

Full size run...$2000 each. UK e mail and L.A. address. No response when I offered 2000 cash and to pick up in L.A.
Can we report these to Gregg? nmSpunout
Mar 25, 2003 7:10 AM
Can we report these to Gregg? nmjtolleson
Mar 25, 2003 7:32 AM
There's a link right on any rbr classified that allows you to alert site administrators.