RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Carradice Junior overview for PeterRider(44 posts)

Carradice Junior overview for PeterRiderJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:04 AM
Happily purchased from Bill Laine at www.wallbikes.com (highly recommended).

here pictured with all the stuff i'm putting into it for your example. contents are:

plastic rain jacket
brake & der cables 1 ea
3 tubes, 12g co2 carts x7
innovations second wind inflator/pump
8 aa batteries
topeak alien
cellphone
spare cleat, spare seatpost collar
electric tape, zip ties, ziploc baggies
reflective ankle bands
reflective sam browne belt
clear glasses for night riding
warm gloves
24 ounce bottle

critique of the bag not solicited from peanut gallery.
widthJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:05 AM
depth verticalJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:06 AM
depth horizontalJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:06 AM
packedJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:07 AM
lanyard/drawstring cinchedJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:08 AM
closed: front viewJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:09 AM
closed: bottom viewJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:09 AM
closed: rear viewJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:10 AM
Nelson Longflap left, Junior rightJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:12 AM
Junior foreground, Nelson Longflap backgroundJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:12 AM
inverse of last picJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:13 AM
with 24-ounce bottle (fpr scale)JS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:14 AM
Brooks B17 Champion Narrow: tabs and first shot of rackJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:15 AM
Bagman Sport rackJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:16 AM
rack affixes to saddle railsJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:17 AM
side view of unloaded rackJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:17 AM
how Junior attaches to saddleJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:18 AM
how Junior attaches to rackJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:18 AM
buckled from rear of bagJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:19 AM
buckled from front of bagJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:20 AM
whole setup: overviewJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:21 AM
whole setup: rearJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:21 AM
whole setup: sideJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:21 AM
Is your old bag is comfortable with you posting so many pics? nmKristin
Mar 24, 2003 1:15 PM
so much trouble could come from this responseJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 1:20 PM
the new bag was jealous, so what i do sometimes is fill the junior with bricks, stone, and bottled water, shove it in the nelson longflap, then pack the edges between outside of junior and inside of nelson with rolls of quarters and silver dollars. i'll do hill repeats and "cruise intervals" with this setup.

recently i added the ti bolt kit as suggested by Spoke Wrench, and the climbing is much faster with the above mentioned configuration. **NEVER** underestimate the benefits gained by throwing money at a cycling performance issue. :)
Bored this morning? All very fascinating....NOT!Brooks
Mar 24, 2003 10:38 AM
One or two would have been sufficient. Oh, well, folks post their love affairs with their rides why not with a ....bag!?!?

Whatever gets you down the road. (Smiles all around)
simple: if you aren't interested, don't read itJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:49 AM
look back to the end of last week where PeterRider was asking specifically about this bag. as there are few places in the country where you can lay hands on one to eye-up the goods, i really wish someone had done a full overview with pics before i decided to purchase either bag. this post is merely doing for PeterRider what would have been most helpful for me when i was making that decision last year.

it's not a love affair with a bag (ok, that's really questionable, LOL). this is posted in the hopes that others can benefit from it, as well. this is the "Road Bike Review" board, and i'm reviewing a road bike accessory. if you cannot benefit from it, then so be it.

no offense taken or intended...but, this reaction and your original response were not needed, and the sentiment goes without saying.

if one or two helped you, then great. smiles right back atcha.

-J
Just havin' a little fun with ya. I'm sure it's helpful. nmBrooks
Mar 24, 2003 1:03 PM
:-D nmJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 1:20 PM
everything you wanted to know about bags but were afraid to asktarwheel
Mar 24, 2003 11:08 AM
Hey, I think we need a new Carradice bag board!
don't make me come over there, spacer-boy! ;-) nmJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 11:11 AM
actually, I prefer to be called "the stem maestro" (nm)tarwheel
Mar 24, 2003 11:19 AM
More evidence that no good deed goes unpunished - nmdzrider
Mar 24, 2003 11:57 AM
why I prefer the Nelson Longflap (that's all the pics, BTW)JS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 10:39 AM
storage space, versatility, and little things. and, what's annoying (at the bottom).

storage space: you don't have to use it all. on long rides in wet or quesetionable weather, i like to carry extra clothing. changing from wet wool socks to dry wool socks at 65% into a long ride can be refreshing. also, rides that start sub-freezing and end in the 40s or higher leave much to be carried. i also prefer to carry all my food and sometimes a spare folding tire.

versatility: the flap can be extended to twice its length to accommodate *larger* loads and/or a space outside the bag but covered from direct exposure for rolled-up clothing or items.

the little things: the side pockets are nice for storing items that are accessed often, like solid foods. they're spacious--and again, don't have to be packed full when you start the ride. additionally, on top of the Nelson Longflap are two sewn-on loops through which straps (i've used long velcro strips) may be threaded to hold a rain or wind jacket or other wet or soiled items (or even a bedroll) external to the pack. this could also be used for a frame-sized pump.

annoyances: the bags have an unpleasant odor when purchased new. enough that my wife didn't want them inside the house (relegated to garage). second, though the material may be waterproof, and is touted as such, the bag isn't water tight. expect items to collect "ambient" moisture in rain or on particularly wet roads. pack items you don't wish wetted in plastic baggies.

summary: i like them both, but have not used the junior much, even on shorter (<100 mile) rides. i've used the nelson longflap so far on 100 and 140 mile rides, on an "already heavy" bike, with fenders and such, and had no noticeable problems (tested riding at the front of a spirited pack driven by cat 2/3/4 riders, for the middle 50 miles of a century, where the first 25 and last 25 were commutes to a 50-mile ride). though seemingly subjective, evidence shown is same performance i might have had on a 20-pound setup.

given the chance to rewrite my history with this bike, setup, and the Nelson Longflap, i'd do it all over again, except i might have spend the money used on the Junior on something else (beer, probably), and exclusively used the Nelson Longflap.

hope this helps.
Thanks JS !PeterRider
Mar 24, 2003 11:00 AM
Thanks a bunch for taking time to take pics.

Pierre
sure thing, glad to help! nmJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 11:02 AM
ah, 2 more questions:PeterRider
Mar 24, 2003 11:13 AM
- how much clearance do you need with that seatpost rack ? (I have the everybody-has-it trek 5200, and not enough money to buy another bike - have to save, I want to get a bike friday)
- where did you get that rack ?

I am interested in order to make overnight week-end rides. So I would have to carry also a sleeping pad and a sleeping bag. No need of a tent in southern CA :-)

Thanks for the pics, I was surely not going to find so many views either on carradice website or on shops websites.

Pierre
sorry, no more questions are allowedJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 11:25 AM
just kidding.

the bike pictured is a 56cm c-t, though the cross-check has a high bb. it fits like my 57 c-c merckx. you can see that i have several inches of seatpost showing, and the rack and bag are suspended 2-3+ inches above the rear fender. without fenders, that's another .5-1.5 inches.

another reason i selected this bag was for overnight rides in good weather. you could carry more stuff by adding a handlebar bag, or front (or rear) panniers. for longer rides i'm learning to enjoy an unencumbered back--no camelbak or pack. drawback is carrying a third bottle to compensate (i drink lots); the trade-off is worthwhile for me.

the rack, both bags, the brooks, and a second identical brooks b17 narrow were purchased from Bill Laine at Wallingford Bike in New Orleans, by e-mail and phone. i purchased the second brooks b17 narrow from him last week wednesday, and the saddle arrived on friday. he's an internet catalog/phone order-only business. great place to spend your money.

-J
sorry, no more questions are allowedweekendrider
Mar 24, 2003 7:46 PM
Is Nelson Longflap going to be in Paris on August 18?
only if it's stolenJS Haiku Shop
Mar 25, 2003 6:30 AM
no plans of overseas travel this year. 200-600k and the MV24 are my goals this year. maybe BMB next year. no PBP in foreseeable future.
PR, more info on Bagman racks:JS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 1:23 PM
http://www.wallbike.com/racks/bagman.html
AHA! JSHS is really Sheldon Brown!DougSloan
Mar 25, 2003 7:28 AM
Can't hide any more. You're so nailed. That bike could only be ridden by Sheldon. I want to see the eagle thingy on the helmet, too.

BTW, wouldn't something like this be a little more aero:

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/large_photo.html?SKU=4871&Store=Bike

Doug
AHA! JSHS is really Sheldon Brown!JS Haiku Shop
Mar 25, 2003 7:35 AM
in a headwind, yes. in a side/crosswind, no. in a tailwind, i'm fairly sure the carradice is productive (larger surface area). :)

sheldon brown. LOL. i am growing a beard, though.

btw if you are a member of the adventure cycling association, or if your club has a membership, check out sheldon's 2-page article in the april issue regarding frame materials--a myth-buster, for sure.