RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ponderings. How much could I sell it for(34 posts)

Ponderings. How much could I sell it forKristin
Mar 24, 2003 7:43 AM
Down to the wire now. Probably 48 hours before I go this way or that. So now I'm wondering how much I could command for the DeBernardi as a whole bike.

Year: 2001
Miles: -4000
Paint: Pretty scratched up :-(
Components: Excellent, brand new cables
Tires: Very good
Bar tape: New

Original price: $1357

How much could I ask?
re: Ponderings. How much could I sell it forClydeTri
Mar 24, 2003 7:44 AM
I have always heard that used bikes start at half price and goes down from there based upon condition....so, maybe...$600?
Agreed. $600.look271
Mar 24, 2003 6:55 PM
Local bike shop general rule-50% of retail regardless of condition. If I got $600, I'd take it.
Components ? Frame Matl. ?MR_GRUMPY
Mar 24, 2003 8:17 AM
What kind of components do you have on it ? Which model frame ? What kind of steel?
LOL... Sorry. Its Monday!Kristin
Mar 24, 2003 8:20 AM
I guess model and component level makes a difference in value.

2001 DeBernardi Aelle (Obviously named after its tubing material.)
Campy Veloce double
My guess is about $700......Maybe $800......nmMR_GRUMPY
Mar 24, 2003 8:28 AM
LOL...Rusty Coggs
Mar 24, 2003 8:48 AM
Tubing is about bottom of the barrel,unbutted chromo,I think, and the scratches do it no good either.Take $500 if you can get it reasonably quick and move on.
Naw, at $500 its not worth sellingKristin
Mar 24, 2003 8:51 AM
If I can get $800 for it then I'd consider selling it. Less than that and I'll just do a component transfer. Then I'll build the frame back up at a later date.
What are you thinking of getting ?MR_GRUMPY
Mar 24, 2003 9:03 AM
What kind of price range are you looking at for a frame ?
For the new frame $850-900Kristin
Mar 24, 2003 9:07 AM
And of course selling Bernardo is still dependant on the condition of the fork. On Friday I was told it that if feels as if its binding. I need to pull it out and see if its damaged.
ForkRusty Coggs
Mar 24, 2003 10:00 AM
Binding is more likely HS.But,fork could be damaged if paintscratching and rash was crash related,but barring that,steel forks are pretty trouble free.
Well, someone who knows bikesOldEdScott
Mar 24, 2003 9:04 AM
probably wouldn't give you $800, and $500 might be a stretch. But it's got a classy (Italian) sounding name and components, and it's a pretty bike, so you MIGHT find someone unknowledgable to pay that much if you were willing to be patient. Sounds to me like you're in a hurry though, and I wouldn't count on it happening fast.
Exactly. ......DeBernadi sounds classy and exotic....nmMR_GRUMPY
Mar 24, 2003 9:10 AM
I would never take anyoneKristin
Mar 24, 2003 9:11 AM
I will only sell it for what its worth. I couldn't sleep at night if I over sold the bike. It sounds like its not worth selling though. I'll probably move over the components that I can and store the rest for later use. Or I can put another $300 into it and jury rig it to fit me. I'm still wrestling with myself over the best choice. I can spend $300 and ride a bike that's only pretending to fit, or I can spend another $1000-1300 and have a bike that fits for sure. I hate decisions like this!
What's wrong with the fit ?MR_GRUMPY
Mar 24, 2003 9:21 AM
Is it the top tube, or just the general size of the bike ? You could save a lot of money if you reuse the components. That is, if you are happy with the components. If you are unhappy, that's a whole new problem.
What size is your old frame ?
Its several thingsKristin
Mar 24, 2003 9:43 AM
To begin with, its a pretty agressive geometry. Based on both my riding style, goals and overall fitness, I'd do MUCH better on a more relaxed geo bike. To make this one workable I'm looking at a very short stem and set back seatpost. The downside to these changes is that I will be effectively moving myself back over the rear wheel--which I understand will reduce comfort in the feel of the ride.

Why a more relaxed geo? Riding style for one. I prefer to do longer rides and light tours over races--I have no need for an agressive geometry that will only beat me up. Second, even for a girl I have very long legs--5'7" w/an 82cm tight inseam, and most of that goes to my femur. Finally, my overall fitness means that riding a tight frame with lots of drop to the bars hurts like an SOB. I rode 36 miles yesterday, and I felt it in my shoulders the whole way.
Its several thingsFez
Mar 24, 2003 10:16 AM
I haven't followed your saga, but I don't know what you mean by "aggressive" geometry. With road bikes, there are variances in chainstay length, seat tube angle, head tube angle, etc. But I don't know what constitutes "aggressive" geometry.

Do you want one of those touring bikes or one of those bikes with an upright position and shorter toptube?

It sounds like you need a slacker seat tube angle and possibly a shorter effective top tube. Does your current frame have a very steep seat tube angle? Is your current frame a tad bit too small? And even if you do have long femurs, there is no steadfast rule as to how far back you need to be. If you aren't spinning well, try moving fwd a bit. Your KOPS position can be dead center or a few cm behind or ahead. Its whatever feels best for you.

And as far as your pain goes, you will be surprised how much less you ache once you are in shape. Just go easy, build a good base and keep riding. Your bike position will evolve a little as you get more fit.
IndeedNo_sprint
Mar 24, 2003 11:16 AM
Long legs for your height. Classic Italian geometry like Colnago, DeRosa, Ciocc, etc. (don't know much about DeBernardi) should set up very well for you. If you're *inside the stadium* so to speak, I don't see how your geometry could be that far off. I am just the opposite, taller, shorter legs than you. I moved down 1 cm on size with my Italian bike, move the seat a bit forward, voila, right there.

I do however observe that you have nothing but complaints about your ride, therefore, sell it, move on. It's just not worth keeping in my opinion.

Good luck.
Get rid of it. You areOldEdScott
Mar 24, 2003 9:21 AM
psychologically damaged in your relationship to it. You'll only hate it more if you spend more money and 'jury rig' something. Get rid of it and start fresh. Keep the components and sell the frame. Don't even think about 'doing something' with the frame later. Move on. That's Dr. OldEd's free counseling for the day.
The above was the best advice I heard so far....nm.russw19
Mar 24, 2003 9:51 AM
amenlonefrontranger
Mar 24, 2003 10:23 AM
I tried to justify my Trek 2300 for 2 seasons, and ultimately decided the damn thing was a real dog. When I got it I was so excited to have a brand new bike that I fought to love it, but the fit was awful, the workmanship was shoddy (the seat tube was welded 3 degrees off center for Pete's sake) and endless mechanical issues with the Ultegra components and Rolf wheels further soured my relationship with the bike. I ended up hating it worse than any bike I've ever ridden, and I thought my old noodly semifunctional Alan 'cross bike would forever hold that distinction.

sounds like you finally found someone who will fit you properly for your needs. Also, you will find yourself enjoying riding more once you've regained some fitness. Take it from someone who's spent a few months off due to injury or just pure laziness - the readjustment period is always hell.

I love my Colnagos. I could give a rat's if they are gaudy, common, overpriced, poser bikes with shoddy Italian paint (tho I wonder about this, as we have never experienced paint problems with ours) and you will have to pry mine from my cold, dead fingers.
I would never take anyonenoveread
Mar 24, 2003 9:57 AM
Transfer the component to a new bike and make it a single-speed! :)

Hey, did you get out in the beautiful weather on Sunday?

Noveread
Yes, I didKristin
Mar 24, 2003 10:16 AM
It was gorgeous out. I decided to hit the prarie path and ride up to Starbucks in Glen Ellyn. (Almost makes riding invalid, doesn't it?) Anyway, the path is worse than I remember it ever being. I think I lost a few fillings out there. I did 36 miles, which was about 15 miles farther than I should have gone.
Build the bike back up at a later date?Fez
Mar 24, 2003 9:58 AM
If it does not fit you must get rid of it (or acquit). No sense in building it back up to ride if it does not fit you.

If you are thinking of building it back up in the future with some other components in order to sell as a complete bike, then you will likely lose money unless you can get the components real cheap AND you do your own labor.

Swallow your pride and sell it. I've owned cherry bikes that were great bikes but did not fit me great. And I've probably held on to them longer than I should have. I probably would have ridden a lot more happy miles if I just got rid of it and rode something that fit rather than trying to make the old stuff work.

Try an auction so the market will dictate what it sells for.

And finally, Campy Veloce components are OK, but not that exciting. If you were able to reuse the ALL the components on your new frameset, then the only "loss" you have to worry about recovering is your DeB... frame with scratched paint and a possibly failed fork. Sell those (as long as they are structurally sound) and be done with it.

Good luck and don't let your pride make wrong choices for you.
Columbus Aelle?djg
Mar 24, 2003 10:41 AM
Is it even made any more? Was it still available to builders (as new stock) in 2001?

If I'm remembering right, this was more-or-less the budget Columbus tube set two or three generations ago. I think it was available even back in the SL/SP days. Maybe I've got the timing or the model wrong. "Bottom-of-the-barrel" may be a relative term. I think RC is right that this was straight gauge chromo. That's better than "high-tensile" steel (or "gas pipe"--not really gas pipe) that you see in super budget bikes. And in the hands of a good builder it can make for a decent ride. But used, dated, and scratched, an Aelle-tubed bike is probably going to have a pretty limited resale value. Nothing wrong with the Veloce group, but that, too, is some ways down the campag line.

Again, I'm sorry if I've got the tubing/vintage issue wrong, but it sounds like hopes of 800 bucks are seriously ambitious. Without knowing more about the bike to change my mind, I'd say I've seen significantly better for less. You might do better pulling the group and the build kit and fitting them to a better frame with a better fit. You know, you could get a seriously nice frame (even custom) for the price of a mid-line new bike and it's not as if the Veloce will spoil the ride in any way.
I love my VeloceKristin
Mar 24, 2003 11:18 AM
I don't care about people who who thumb there noses at something because its not the most expensive or fanciest model. Veloce works. It shifts well, is quiet, durable and very functional. I have zero ambition to race and am kinda poor. Why would I need Chorus or Record? As a matter of fact, if I bought a more expesive group, it would be vanity. Veloce is a fine set of gears for my needs. And the Shimano/Campy debate is a simple one. Veloce doesn't encorporate the braking and shifting into one lever. I have short hands, so I'd choose Veloce over Tiagra or 105 any day.

Custom. I just found out that I can get a custom frame for under a grand. If I had any idea about that when I first shopped, I would have gone that way for sure. Someone on this board once said that I need custom like I need a whole in the head. I think he was implying that custom is for elite riders only. That couldn't be more untrue, but at the time it was written I took it to heart--too bad. Custom is for people with extremes who don't fit well on stock bikes. Hey! That's me! I am considering a custom frame.
Well, there you go--we have a plan. nmdjg
Mar 24, 2003 11:39 AM
Custom.MR_GRUMPY
Mar 24, 2003 12:06 PM
If it's not fit well, it won't be any better than a stock bike. You'll need to tell him what kind of seat tube angle, what length top tube, how high your bars will be, and what kind of head tube angle. You'll also have to let him know if you want long or short chain stays.
I don't want to scare you, but getting a custom frame is in some ways, harder than a stock frame.
Who are you thinking about? I think there is a frame builder within 10 miles of where you live.
LOL. ARRRGGGHHH!! Sigh...it happened again.Kristin
Mar 24, 2003 12:20 PM
Try as I may, this post is slowly being transformed from an objective, "Hey, how much can I ask for this frame?" post to, "Lets help Kristin pick a new bike." As if that didn't go badly enough the first time I tried it. Sigh. Hehe. Its the nature of the internet I supose. And I'm sure I encourage it somehow, perhaps be responding to questions instead of letting it go.

I love you guys, so please don't be offended when I say, "STOP GIVING ME ADVICE." I'm not asking for help in choosing a new frame. When you read my posts, try very hard to only answer sentences that end with a "?"

Thanks,
~Kristin
;-)
de rosa king with record 10? nmJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 12:28 PM
Now yer just trying to tick me off!Kristin
Mar 24, 2003 12:44 PM
Go fork yerself!
[gasp] why, i never...! nmJS Haiku Shop
Mar 24, 2003 12:55 PM
Ebayfiltersweep
Mar 24, 2003 5:05 PM
I took a bike in a similar price range, took a ton of high resolution photos- described EVERY single flaw (down to each scratch, the cable rub, etc...)- was brutally honest.

I put it up on ebay with a one dollar opening bid and a reserve at $700 (for a bike that can be had for about $1400). I ended up getting more than a thousand for it- and with shipping it approached what one might find one on clearance- new, if you could find it in your size. I almost felt guilty.

You can add that the bike was "woman owned" and probably get even more for it.

My point is, you'll probably see more than you expect...
Absolutely correct.look271
Mar 24, 2003 7:00 PM
E-baying it will get you the most$$. I sold a Raliegh R600 several years ago and got lots more than what I expected. Do it now when the weather is turning nice in the north and people tend to go insane-like sharks in a feeding frenzy! (My moto-"God bless E-bay!" ) I also sold a set of Rolf Vectors for MORE THAN WHAT I PAID FOR THEM! =)