RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


seeking opinions on women-specific saddles....(12 posts)

seeking opinions on women-specific saddles....mealex
Mar 23, 2003 9:28 AM
I was looking for any experience, (good or bad) that women have had with women specific saddles. My wife currently uses one of the Terry products, but it became quite "squishy" in a short period of ride time.

Thanks
Hunt and peck.Spoke Wrench
Mar 23, 2003 9:50 AM
Finding the right saddle seems to me to be kind of a hit or miss process. The women in my family who ride all use women specific saddles. My wife recently converted from Terry saddles to some Surface thing. I never argue about these things, I just tell her to pick out what she thinks she might like and I bolt them on.

Good luck!
thats a good seat my wife has one ...the bull
Mar 23, 2003 9:52 AM
with the cute little butterfly on it.
I saw this real hard core chick on a mens body geometry
made by specalized.She said it worked good.
you may want to check out...msmootsiemartin
Mar 23, 2003 10:51 AM
the women's Fi'zi:k Vittesse. I recently tried one and really liked it. Seems to be a little firmer than the Butterfly (which I have on my road bike).
Good luck!
I've tried three so farMelMo
Mar 23, 2003 11:17 AM
I have used:

A Selle Italia that came OEM with my De Bernardi--I think it's equivalent to a Trans Am in shape. I like the shape of it (very flat, butt the right width) and found it very comfy for shorter rides, but like your wife's saddle it's gone squishy and I've retired it.

A Terry Liberator: I hated this saddle for a long time--there's a slight rise at the back, so unless you get the saddle angle set up just right, you tend to slide forward. That was also a function of being on a bike that was too long and had too steep of angles, however, and now that it's on a bike that fits right it is my preferred saddle for long rides. It's firm, and doesn't make my crotch go numb. My only complaint is that those raised bumps where my sit bones go have an unfortunate tendency to exactly collide with the edge of my chamois, which has left blisters if I was sitting too long without taking a break and rearranging my chamois a bit.

I just bought a Terry Butterfly to try and alleviate the sit bone blisters. So far I've only been able to do short rides on it (I'm recovering from nasty respiratory illness) but I like it a lot. It's very flat, and firm so far. They're on sale for $70 for Performance right now, too.

Good luck on saddle quest. If your wife really prefers firm saddles, there's always Brooks...some women really like them.

Melinda
re: seeking opinions on women-specific saddles....dave_w
Mar 23, 2003 12:24 PM
Both my wife and my GF are relatively petite (okay the wife is an ex now), they tried numerous women's saddles and ended up liking a man's saddle better. The ex is on the Terry men's liberator and the GF is on their men's Fly saddle.
Ditto the Terry Fly - my GF has them on all her bikes. (nm)rockbender
Mar 24, 2003 10:10 AM
Try a different Terryzmarke
Mar 23, 2003 2:45 PM
My wife tried almost every men's saddle made since she did not want to get one of those "chick saddles". After much pain and a great deal of money, she went for a Terry racing model.

Needless to say, Terry makes many saddles these days from squishy ones that people who only ride once a year would use to a more supportive racing type saddle for people that put in more miles.

Maybe you just need a stiffer Terry if the fit is correct or maybe they just wear out faster than other saddles.
Brooks Pro S from Wallbike.comLone Gunman
Mar 23, 2003 5:05 PM
He has a 6 month money back unconditional guarantee return policy. The Pro S is a woman specific saddle or designed as such, flexy firm. Did I say 6 month return policy?!!! Nothing to loose but shipping cost.
highly recommend the serfas DD pro women's version..._rt_
Mar 24, 2003 6:26 AM
i've got one on each bike (4 total) and i love 'em for both road & off road. bought my first one in '98 and i'm still riding it.

http://www.serfas.com/racing_saddles/racing_saddles_10.html

rt
re: seeking opinions on women-specific saddles....kilimanjaro
Mar 24, 2003 10:34 AM
I have a pair of used Fizik Vitesse saddle for sale in the classified section. I bought it used myself to try it out because I have wider sitbones but the nose is a bit too wide for me. However it is still very firm. This is a cheap way to try saddles. E-mail me if you are interested.

Carlos
re: seeking opinions on women-specific saddles....mapei boy
Mar 24, 2003 11:51 AM
My wife has about 5000 miles on her Sella Italia Trans Am Lady. She loves it. Yes, it's a bit squishy, but it hasn't broken down.

My wife hated her Fizik Vitesse. I ended up trying it out myself. I loved it so much, it's been my standard saddle ever since.