RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?(15 posts)

Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?Franchise
Mar 20, 2003 4:52 AM
Everyone,

I couldn't find a review on this cyclo-computer, but I was wondering if anyone had any experience with the Vetta Cordless V100. I am considering purchasing this with a team discount, but I was just wondering if the cordless option(as well as cadence option) interfered with HRM, or if it was erratic.

My other option is a Campagnolo ErgoBrain, but I've heard this computer sometimes is erratic and can be frustrating when it is on the fritz!

Thanks
re: Not firsthand, but...Mike Prince
Mar 20, 2003 6:23 AM
My LBS owner who I ride with periodically just had one go south on him after about 100 mi of use - he did not have the cadence option though. Just stopped working. My experience is that most wireless computers don't interfere with HRM's any more - I guess the HRM's are "coded" better now or newer wireless computers are operating on a friendlier bandwith/frequency than in the past.

FWIW, I just sent back an ultra-expensive Ciclo computer that crapped out, replacing it with a cheap wired Cateye. Basic information and the thing will last a long time.
re: Not firsthand, but...Franchise
Mar 20, 2003 6:37 AM
Thanks for the heads-up! That's too bad about your Ciclo. They are pretty expensive.
re: Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?pina
Mar 20, 2003 6:56 AM
Have had the Postal paint scheme V100 cordless for two years now with lots of use in rainy weather in northwest. Have had absolutely no problem with it and i think it has been a good product for me. With vetta, if you stop for a drink or whatever reason, you need to remember to push the timer button to start up again, you get used to this. I don't think you would be going wrong with this product. After a year + i had to replace a battery, no big deal.
re: Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?Franchise
Mar 20, 2003 7:06 AM
Pina,

It sounds like you are very satisfied with your purchase. Did you have the cadence upgrade? If so, is that a wireless option as well?

Pina - is that for pinarello?

Any recommendations for on-line vendors I could get a V100 from?

Thanks!
Haven't used it yet, but I have a wireless V100 w/HR AND...jtferraro
Mar 20, 2003 7:56 AM
wireless cadence. It was recommended by someone here...he also recommended an online retailer, but I purchased it from my LBS.

-Jeff
re: Saw them at Performance on sale (last week) (nm)Mike Prince
Mar 20, 2003 8:16 AM
re: Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?pina
Mar 20, 2003 4:22 PM
I actually bought mine at REI in downtown Seattle, but if i find or hear of online vendor i will let you know. I buy most things online because of convenience and you can get things otherwise unavailable. I don't have the cadence upgrade yet, but it is wireless (95% sure). Yes, you guessed the shortened name. I use sigma's also and haven't had any problems with them either.
re: Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?Franchise
Mar 20, 2003 5:46 PM
Pina,

Thanks. Let me know if you find or hear about an online vendor. I've got a Prince. It is a very responsive race frameset. This season, it's pretty much been relegated to multi-sport events only, though. I too buy most things online because of convenience! Post a pic of your Pinny!
re: Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?pina
Mar 20, 2003 8:44 PM
Prince, a very fine bike. I have a pina opera in fassa paint scheme. Also a fondriest and de Rosa. It's not a complicated computer, just three buttons on the thing. US Postal and several other teams use this vetta. Cofidis uses it and Lampre also.
re: Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?pina
Mar 20, 2003 9:23 PM
Velogear.com and bikeworld.com have them. A friend of mine bought one at http://www.velogear.com/cyccomandac.html, the one with the heart rate monitor. He likes his.
re: Any Experience with Vetta V100 Cordless?Franchise
Mar 21, 2003 8:06 AM
Thanks! Just ordered mine. I decided on the wireless comp and wireless cadence model! I absolutely love the ride of the Opera. A year ago, I was considering both the Opera and a CT-1, but decided on the 'nago since I already had one Pinarello.
I have the V100 wireless with HR.djg
Mar 20, 2003 1:15 PM
No cadence though.

It seems to work just fine (although when I don't have a good contact with the HR strap things can jump around a bit). 1 year of use so far.
Just got it.Sintesi
Mar 20, 2003 8:08 PM
No cadence. Works fine so far. I find it a little overly complex.
Just got it.Franchise
Mar 20, 2003 8:27 PM
Congrats on the purchase. As for the "overly complex part," what is it? I thought it was wireless. I thought it would be simpler.