RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Scam. Beware.(15 posts)

Scam. Beware.elviento
Mar 18, 2003 7:54 AM
This is on today's market place. Trek 5900 for $2500. In fact a much older model from several generations ago with hard to replace parts worth no more than $700-800. Folks, beware.

Seller: Charles Olando topcycles@hotmail.com

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=32330&query=retrieval
Are you sure it isnt just someone overestimating the value? (nm)onespeed
Mar 18, 2003 8:06 AM
If you look at the ad, you will seeelviento
Mar 18, 2003 8:21 AM
this guy is VERY familiar with the 5900 model, and he KNOWS his bike is not a 5900.

Selling a $800 bike as a $2500 bike is a $1700 scam in my books.
Looking at that ad hurt my eyes. (nm)onespeed
Mar 18, 2003 8:25 AM
Just curious.Dave Hickey
Mar 18, 2003 8:26 AM
How can you tell? I'm not familar with the differences. I know Trek made a 5900 and 5200.
OCLV ramblingsTJeanloz
Mar 18, 2003 8:56 AM
The pictured bike, with Dura-Ace 8 speed and silver paint, pre-dates either the 5900 or 5200 models. The 5900 and current 5500/5200 use a less-dense weave of carbon fiber than was originally used on the OCLV frames.

But the obvious clues that this is not a 5900 include:
All 5900s have an integrated headset.
All 5900s have a threadless headset.
5900s do not have a top-routed brake cable (it's routed at about 7 o'clock).
5900s do not have a headtube badge, just a decal.

Not to mention that all the parts are of completely the wrong era to be on a 5900, though they would physically fit.
And is (was) there such a thing as Mavic "cosmic pro" wheels?djg
Mar 18, 2003 9:26 AM
I'm no Mavic historian, but it seems to me that the last few years have had Cosmic Carbonnes (which the wheels sure do not appear to be) and Cosmic Elites (which they may be, but which sure as heck have not been raced by anybody in the tour).
Actually, yes, and they are the ones in the photo (nm)TJeanloz
Mar 18, 2003 10:21 AM
My mistake then.djg
Mar 18, 2003 11:29 AM
Predecessors to the elites or part of the SSC series?
Good question...TJeanloz
Mar 18, 2003 11:49 AM
If I recall correctly, and I probably don't, they fell between the what became the Elite and the Carbone. The Cosmic line up used to be really confusing, I believe there was the Equipe, the Pro, the Expert, and the Carbone.

The breakdown goes something like this:

Expert had bladed spokes, 30mm deep rim, 18F/20R spokes.
Equipe was the Expert with the FTS hub.
Pro had bladed spokes with internal nipples, 33(+?)mm deep rim, 14F/16R spokes. And it was that distinctive gun-metal blue.

The Equipe became the Elite, the Pro went away, replaced by the Ksyrium. Mavic just had way too many aero wheels being sold to the same customers.
Right. Mavic simplfied lineup &discont'd the Pros in 1996elviento
Mar 20, 2003 10:50 PM
nm
Thanks. nmDave Hickey
Mar 18, 2003 9:55 AM
Just curious.torquer
Mar 18, 2003 8:58 AM
Model year 2001 5900's are dark grey (carbon) with red/blue highlights on top tube & USPS decals on seat tube, as well as Shimano & Volkswagen decals on chain stays. Fork had straight legs.

5200 and 5500 frames were/are identical, both using slightly heavier carbon fiber fabric ("120" vs "110" grams per something or other) than the 5900 "superlight" climbing bikes used by LA in mountainous stages. 5200 came equiped with Ultegra, 5500 with Dura Ace, wheels (Rolfs or Bontragers) were also different.
Definitely a scammer...Quack
Mar 18, 2003 9:04 AM
He blatantly lies about the bike being OCLV 110. OCLV 110 came out in 2000 and definitely did not have the rear brake cable routed on top of the top tube. He didn't actually say that the bike was a 2001, just that it was purchased in 2001. Furthermore, the Dura-Ace group on this bike is probably the 7400 series and is most likely 5-7 years old as well. I would bet this bike is a 1995 at best, and not worth more than the $800 that Elviento mentioned. This guy is full of crap.
anyone that buys a oclv is getting ripped off.the bull
Mar 18, 2003 10:01 AM
but with this one your really getting ripped off!