RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Paging Dave Hickey carbon fiber repair(13 posts)

Paging Dave Hickey carbon fiber repairHigh Gear
Mar 16, 2003 1:05 PM
Cleaning up the KG281 after a ride today I noticed a 3-4mm gouge on the drive side chainstay. Further inspection and it looks like the chainring bolt that connects to the crank arm (Record crank) had backed out. Man, I was shocked. I love this frame and it's only a year old. It looks to me that the stay is soild in that area because I can't see inside the tube. Do you think I could mend this with some epoxy? This frame was purchased used, so sending it for warranty is out of the question.
don't have a direct answer and don't wanna speak for DH, but...Akirasho
Mar 16, 2003 1:22 PM
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/rinard/carbonqa.htm

You might find some useful info here.

Be the bike.
re: Paging Dave Hickey carbon fiber repairDave Hickey
Mar 16, 2003 2:11 PM
I'd throw some epoxy in there. You're picture didn't come out. Is the gouge 3-4mm deep?
More info.Dave Hickey
Mar 16, 2003 2:15 PM
The stay is very thick in that area. You probably don't have anything to worry about. Again, I'd put some quality expoxy in there.
re: Paging Dave Hickey carbon fiber repairHigh Gear
Mar 16, 2003 5:06 PM
Yes it is that deep and about 10mm round. I can't believe I couldn't tell when it was happening.
RepairIan
Mar 16, 2003 4:54 PM
Like Dave said, your picture did not come out, so I can't see the affected area. But, is "you probably do not have anything to worry about" enough of a piece of mind. Will you not think about it next time you are sprinting, blasting into a corner, or going 40-50mph down a hill? I know Dave has made repairs before, but for me, the possibility of a failure is not something I want to think about. It is kind of like the helmet issue that has come up again. You may never crash and actually need your helmet, but what if you did? Along those lines, your chainstay may never fail, but what if it did? I would send it back for repair. It will probably cost you $400-$500 bucks, but you will know it is done right and won't have to worry about it.

Ian
Ian, I agree.....Dave Hickey
Mar 16, 2003 5:35 PM
If High Gear needs piece of mind, send it for repairs. A good epoxy patch will probably do the trick but you might want to get a professional opinion. I might be wrong but I think Craig Calfee will make carbon repairs on other manufactures frames. You might want to call him.
Ian, I agree.....High Gear
Mar 16, 2003 6:54 PM
I'm going to call craig tomorrow. Maybe he can give me some tips on repair. I'll also look into what he would charge for repair. Money is tight now, hope I can do it myself.
No photo?High Gear
Mar 16, 2003 5:31 PM
I guess the file is too large. I even shot it at a lower setting. If anyone would like to see the damage just send me a blank e-mail and I'll send it.

Thanks,
Gary

ghdyjak@worldnet.att.net
I just sent an email. Please send pic. Thanks nmDave Hickey
Mar 16, 2003 5:51 PM
I just sent the photo Dave. Thanks (NM)High Gear
Mar 16, 2003 6:56 PM
Did it dig into the fibers?Kerry
Mar 16, 2003 5:52 PM
It sounds like it did, and that CAN compromise the structure. Obviously it depends on how deep and how wide, but the gouge I'm picturing from a chain ring bolt could be like sawing through the stay for a pretty long distance. If you've cut through a bunch of fibers, you could be in trouble. I'd sure have it looked at. And a good reminder to all to check bolt tightness on a regular basis. I'm amazed you didn't experience creaking and chain ring wobble.
Did it dig into the fibers?High Gear
Mar 16, 2003 6:50 PM
Yes. The spot is 1cm round by about 3-4 mm deep. I did notice a strange sensation but thought it might have been from the chain being washed of it's lube. I read a post above that sent me to a spot on carbon fiber repair, check it out. It sounds pretty easy to do. I'll get as much info before attempting it. It looks like I have to fill the hole and then put layers or carbon fiber or glass fiber over the spot. As one said, I don't want to have this in the back of my mind while decending at 50mph.