RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


You just knew he was going to win today's stage.....nm(8 posts)

You just knew he was going to win today's stage.....nmchopper
Mar 14, 2003 11:46 AM
agh, still no helmet . . .Jas0n
Mar 14, 2003 12:50 PM
come on. why not wear a helmet? esp. after your best friend just died, and could have been saved by it. no excuses not to. so frustrating. ive broken enough helmets to know they work, and pro's dont even have to pay the 150 dollars each time they need a new one. no excuses, mere stupidity, but im glad he won.
agh, still no helmet . . .MTB_TM
Mar 14, 2003 2:02 PM
I have to say I am still very surprised that UCI or some body doesnt make Hemet wearing legal.FWIW just think of younger kids that watch say the tour and then think to themselves "Lance doesnt wear a helmet, hes cool, mabey I should go without".

Pitty really is!
Not to stir up the pot, but...Matno
Mar 14, 2003 2:21 PM
I recently rode without a helmet (not on purpose, but somehow I was a couple of miles into my ride before I realized I had forgotten it!) At any rate, it was the first time I've done that in about 10 years, and to say the least, I was SHOCKED at how much faster I felt. I'm not an aggressive rider by any stretch of the imagination, and I don't ride in traffic (mostly on paved bike paths), so I can imagine it might be nice to leave it home on occasion. Also, I can sympathize with pros who don't wear them on occasion because it makes a noticeable difference in both weight and ventilation (and my helmets are nice ones). Just a thought. Personally, I don't ride without the helmet (except that once), but I have a family who expects me to get in BETTER shape by riding, not drastically worse!
The key word is "FELT"Mel Erickson
Mar 14, 2003 2:31 PM
I'll bet a dollar to a donut you were not any faster. Weight? 10oz gonna drag you down? Millions of people manage to drag it around, and they're not all highly trained, fit, strong, professional racers. Lastly, tests have been done and at worst they are inconclusive about whether helmets are hotter or cooler than a bare head. At best, helmets are cooler because their design brings higher velocity air across your head and they may somewhat sheild your noggin from the direct rays of the sun. I applaud you for wearing your helmet. Keep it up.
make everyone wear one, no advantage...Jas0n
Mar 14, 2003 2:46 PM
if everyone wears a helmet, then there is no difference in performance. everyone would "suffer" alike. personally, i think we only feel faster without a helmet. i admit that i would often leave my helmet at home while training or on hot days, but its not worth it. at 19, i feel invinciable. i havent eat on a road bike yet, but being a mtb racer, i've broken four helmets. thats way more than enough broken helmets (and no serious injury) to convince me that they work. i would rather see racers go a bit slower (if helmets have any effect, which i doubt) that see racers die. enough with this perverted sense of pride, just wear a helmet. enough riders already do, why not make it mandatory. so frustrating. people imitate racers, dont racers realize this?
make everyone wear one, no advantage...Fez
Mar 14, 2003 3:02 PM
You Wrote:

"people imitate racers, dont racers realize this?"

I hate helmet discussions. I posted earlier today and noted that pro racers will do whatever the rules allow, and right now, the rules don't mandate helmets.

What the pros do has no bearing on whether I wear my helmet or not.
re: The key word is "FELT"cyclopathic
Mar 16, 2003 4:58 AM
tests do not tell all the story as they're done at "normal" speeds. Helmets do not work as well when you climb steep hills. They also increase aerodrag, which might be a consideration.

Now I believe UCI should make helmets mandatory. That would be much more useful and safer then expelling spinachi and bullhorn bars.