RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


saftey of using a walkman while riding(23 posts)

saftey of using a walkman while ridingdtufts
Mar 14, 2003 10:29 AM
I'd like to take in some tunes this summer with my new MP3 player. Any advice on saftey? Should I avoid this altogether? My routes have light traffic, but there is some traffic.
walkman while riding = don'tFez
Mar 14, 2003 10:34 AM
and if you are in an accident that is NOT your fault and you were listening to the walkman, its harder to collect damages if it comes to that.
I do it all the timescottfromcali
Mar 14, 2003 10:33 PM
on the bike path that is, on a road with cars and other hazards, no thanks. It's definitely illegal to listen while driving a car in California, and probably is on a bike. I get bored riding and riding w/o any stimuli for the mind.
friends don't let friends use walkmans while cycling. nmSpunout
Mar 14, 2003 10:53 AM
I think this is actually illegal in some states eg. CA (nm)Rich_Racer
Mar 14, 2003 11:05 AM
Against the Law if both ears are coveredteamsloppy
Mar 14, 2003 11:19 AM
It's against the law in at least 32 states that follow the uniform vehicle code if both ears are covered.

CALIFORNIA CODES
VEHICLE CODE
SECTION 27400

27400. No person operating any motor vehicle or bicycle shall wear any headset covering, or any earplugs in, both ears.

The prohibition
of this section does not apply to any of the following:
(a) Persons operating authorized emergency vehicles, as defined in Section 165.
(b) Any person engaged in the operation of either special
construction equipment or equipment for use in the maintenance of any highway.
(c) Any person engaged in the operation of refuse collection equipment who is wearing a safety headset or safety earplugs.
(d) Any person wearing personal hearing protectors in the form of custom earplugs or molds that are designed to attenuate injurious noise levels. The custom plugs or molds shall be designed in a manner so as to not inhibit the wearer's ability to hear a siren or horn from an emergency vehicle or a horn from another motor vehicle.

(e) Any person using a prosthetic device which aids the hard of hearing.

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=6692215062+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
It's worse than having too many spacers.....nmMR_GRUMPY
Mar 14, 2003 11:46 AM
I do the one ear only thing, it works fine (nm)climbo
Mar 14, 2003 11:47 AM
nm
not prohibited in Utah, but reflectors are required. . .dtufts
Mar 14, 2003 11:53 AM
you don't see many reflectors on bikes like the kind we ride. I guess its like the helmet debate, you probably shouldn't listen to music.
Why? Try enjoying silence.lonebikeroftheapocalypse
Mar 14, 2003 12:01 PM
I can't think of one way that having music pumped into my head would make riding any better. Plus think of all the titanium stuff your going to have to buy to offset the weight of the walkman. ;-)
here's 1 reason, it stops boredom on my commute. nmclimbo
Mar 14, 2003 12:48 PM
nm
I do it all the time.Allezcomp
Mar 14, 2003 12:43 PM
I don't see the big problem. Just don't crank the tunes too loud.
Good for you! Don't give in to the peer pressure on this board.Ken of Fresno
Mar 14, 2003 1:06 PM
Even if they are trying to save your life. Sometimes you just want to be able to throw caution into the wind, NOT look both ways before you cross, run with scissors or, yes, even listen to some cool tunes while you cruise along the countryside. We should have that freedom!

Ejoy the ride,
Ken

PS Can I have you bike when you're gone?
:)
use 'em all the time on the bike paths...SmogRider
Mar 14, 2003 1:01 PM
while commuting to the train station. Also the approx. 1 mile from train to office. Keep the volume low, no probs. I enjoy silence as much as anyone, but long straight paths can get tedious, and I'm an MP3 junkie.

breakin' the law, breakin' the law-
SR
ARE YOU F*CKING CRAZY?!?!?!Ride-Fly
Mar 14, 2003 1:19 PM
YOU should NEVER do such a thing!!! Why, people will die from your actions!!! Nah, just kidding with ya and messing with all the Safety Nazis on this board. In all seriousness, as long as you are not riding on busy streets I don't see a problem. Hell, even if were on busy streets, it your perogative. I use my MP3 player when I ride the hills. But I do wear my Hell-Mutt all the time!!!
Safety Nazis?filtersweep
Mar 14, 2003 2:32 PM
Cars have enough contempt for all of us as a group that indeed it can affect ME if some miscreant encounters YOU and is incited by your wearing headphones (like we already don't belong on the road in the first place).

Other than that, I could care less if anyone rides the wrong way down the road, doesn't stop for lights/signs, etc...
re: saftey of using a walkman while ridingRubberbandman
Mar 14, 2003 3:31 PM
I could care less is someone is willing to risk their own safety. But when my safety is put at risk I get upset. Where headphones does put me at some risk (albeit small). For example, I rode up to a guy on a bike path that connects two main riding roads. As I rode up I said on your left. He didn't respond and I started to pass on the left. Suddenly, he moves to the left almost clipping my front wheel. I was pissed. As I rode by on the right side I see the walkman buds in his ear.

If you insist on listening to music try to pay extra close attention to what is around you (and behind you). An occasional quick glance is all it takes.
I use a little MP3 player .. butMrDan
Mar 14, 2003 5:53 PM
one ear only. I wouldn't do this in a busy area though.
It's fine as long as you make it a point to look around...timfire
Mar 14, 2003 8:41 PM
Not to get anyone worked up, but as long as you are diligent in keeping a look out (in all directions), I don't believe hearing is all that neccessary. Yes, yes.. I konw that some will claim that their hearing saved their lives at some point, but I'm not convinced it's neccessary. Besides, even with the earphones blaring, you still have some limited hearing. Again though, you need to be diligent in keeping a lookout.

--TK
Illegal in NYCpeter1
Mar 14, 2003 8:47 PM
It is indeed. But doubt it's enforced. there's also a 15 mph speed limit in Central Park (not that you could go any faster than that on a spring saturday, anyway). I used to mtb with a walkman all the time. Metallica is great for gnarly climbs!
re: saftey of using a walkman while ridingRob Sal
Mar 16, 2003 10:28 AM
It depends how loud you have your music. Some people have their personal stereos so loud you can hear what tune is being played half way down the train carriage. Thats why we now have personal stereo bans in some train carriages on some routes!
I once got on a train at the start of its journey, with lots of other passengers. Someway down the carriage a bloke was listening to his personal stereo really loud with his eyes closed. An announcement came over the tannoy that said due to a technical fault with the train we had to go to another train that was standing at the adjacent platform. We all walked past this guy who just sat that there eyes shut, music blaring. As the new train pulled away with us onboard, he still sat there on the old train, banging his head to the music, eyes shut :)

Anyway, you can still here the traffic, wind noise if you don't play your music too loud. If in doubt just wear earbud in one ear!
I do it it feels good!nmthe bull
Apr 14, 2003 6:15 PM
I was almost killed...........Len J
Apr 15, 2003 6:59 AM
when I went to pass someone with headphones on, yelled bike left & she swerved out (Says she never heard me) knocked me into traffic, where I was hit by a car doing 40MPH.

Don't do this! It is not only a safety hazard to yourself, It is a safety hazard for others.

Len