RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?(16 posts)

Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?Allezcomp
Mar 11, 2003 7:57 PM
Looking at buying either Sidi Titan 2 or the Genius 4's. The only difference I can tell between the two are that the Genius has the ratchet. Is it worth spending an extra 50$ to get the ratchet? No one has reviewed the Titan's in the review section of the site so I'm not to sure what people think of the 3 velcros.
re: Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?LD
Mar 11, 2003 8:06 PM
Absolutely. You can micro-adjust the ratchet with one hand while riding.
Yes because....Bruno S
Mar 11, 2003 8:06 PM
the ratchet work as follows: you lift the lever to tighten it then you can you push a buttom to release one click. This allows you to easily adjust how tight you want the shoes while on the bike.

I think is worth it.
re: Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?Raven1911
Mar 11, 2003 8:34 PM
Look at whichever ones fit your feet the best. Sidi makes widths in their cycling shoes which helps get a good fit. Velcro or ratchet...you can adjust both while you ride so there isn't an advantage there. The ratchet being micro adjustable is good but you either want the shoe tighter or looser, the velcro not that hard to adjust while riding. I have the Genius 4's and have had problems with the ratchet breaking. If this happens you have to pay $10 a ratchet (yes $10.00 per) to fix. It is easy to fix once you have a new ratchet, however, if you are at a race when it breaks, there is really nothing that can take the place of the ratchet so you have to ride with a loose shoe or carry an extra ratchet with you to replace it.

I have never heard of a 3 velcro system failing and it seems fool proof and bomb proof. However, fit is more important that anything when it comes to shoes so I would go with that first and then consider what I stated above. Good luck.

Raven
re: Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?gtx
Mar 11, 2003 8:47 PM
I know lots of people who have had problems with the ratchets. I prefer velcro. I'd also say consider Carnacs. Fit is the key, though.
Titan 2 for me..gafino
Mar 11, 2003 8:59 PM
Been using it for almost 10 months and am really satisfied with it.

Chao..
re: Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?sjomi
Mar 11, 2003 10:21 PM
Extremely satisfied with my Titans. nm
re: Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?Live Steam
Mar 12, 2003 6:01 AM
I have both of these models. For the most part they have the same shell construction. Though the ratcheting strap is a nice feature in itself, I can certainly adjust the Velcro strap on the fly as easily as I can the ratcheting strap. The only difference I can ascertain is the top strap on the G4 is wider and spreads the tension over a wider area. The top Velcro strap on the Titan can put a concentrated pressure point over the top of your foot if you over tighten it a bit. Not a big deal. What I do like about the G4 closure is I can just pop the top straps with the push of a button, when getting off the bike at rest stops, to allow the dogs to breath some. You can get G4s on Ebay for $135.
haven't worn titan, but the genius 4 is tha shizznit. nmJS Haiku Shop
Mar 12, 2003 6:09 AM
No.HillRepeater
Mar 12, 2003 7:26 AM
I find them to be an annoyance. I've broken two in less than a year, they can be difficult to release if the mech is dirty and it adds needless complexity for zero benefit. Tighten shoes while riding? Come on - how often do you need to do that- and is grabbing the little ratchet handle easier than grabbing the velcro strap? Micro Adjust? Velcro is infinetly adjustable.

The only benefit I see is that the ratchet holds in all conditions, where velcro seems to not be as secure when wet. If you're riding primarilly on the road and in good conditions, this is a non-issue.

My next pair will not have the ratchet.
re: Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?tarwheel
Mar 12, 2003 7:35 AM
I have a pair of Sidi Rampas (mtn bike shoes) with velcro straps and Genius 3s. The problem with the Rampas is the velcro strap folds toward the frame, and the strap sometimes hits the crank arm and loosens. It seems like a design flaw to me, and I actually sent an email to Sidi complaining about the problem. They recommended cutting the ends of the straps shorter, which helped, but it still seems like a stupid design when they could have just as easily made the straps tighten the other direction -- something I think their newer models may do.

Anyway, I prefer the Sidi models with ratchets. Although I have heard of them breaking, I haven't had any problems and replacement parts are available. What's nice about the ratchets is you can easily adjust while riding, and you can make very slight adjustments. If you're concerned about the extra money, buy some G4s at www.totalcycling.com for $110 and you'll save at least $50. Order some tires while you're at it, and you've saved enough to cover the shipping costs.
Ratchet crapdave woof
Mar 12, 2003 8:12 AM
I've had the Sidi 'Shadows' (I think) with the serrated plastic straps and the red/silver ratchet. The ratchets are crap. I've broken 3 or 4 in the last two years. The ratchet itself doesn't break, but the black plastic body under it, or the spring. I usually ratchet it tighter before a climb, for me it holds tighter than velcro.

I've bought spare ratchets at Supergo for about 10$ each.
But a couple spare if you have these kind of shoes.

Dave
Ratchet crapdave woof
Mar 12, 2003 8:13 AM
'Buy , not But'
take a closer lookjuanteal
Mar 12, 2003 9:20 AM
Check out a few Graham Watson photos of the pro peloton. Most dudes w/Sidi contracts wear the Genious 4s with velcro straps. A few wear the micro-adjust Energies, but not as many.

And while I'm at it, take a look at the bottom of the Energies. There's a rolling bar there that allows you to adjust the stiffness of the cleat. I may not be a mechanical engineer (actually, maybe I am) but I'm pretty sure that when you cut a whole in an object receiving a stress, you're not doing yourself a favor.

But the point is, a lot of pro's wear the G4s. You want to be pro, don't you?
I have abused the sh*t out of my Sidi Shadows with the micro-bill
Mar 12, 2003 9:14 AM
adjustor ratcheting thing, and I always thought that it was a very good feature. There were some times where I ratcheted down my shoes on the fly, but mostly they were just a good way to tighten them up precisely. They have been through rain, mud, snow, etc., with never a problem (although I suppose you could complain that they have frozen up on the road, so that you no longer could tighten them on the fly, but what are you going to do about that? Certainly no worse than velcro -- they're already on your feet by then).
re: Are Sidi's with the ratchet worth it?Rob Sal
Mar 12, 2003 1:00 PM
I have Genius 4s after 10 years with a pair of Sidi Hawaii. The velcro was perfectly secure and fine in all weathers. I changed to Genius 4 purely for fashion reasons. I was a little sceptical about the ratchets, partly as I heard so many 'horror' stories, partly because (if you can understand my logic) the easy/plentiful availabilty of spare ratchets and serated plastic strips made me think they were almost designed to be disposable. The ratchets seem to stick out quite a long way, so they are vunerable to being knocked about, and they are only held to the shoe by one short screw.

With my Hawaiis, at the beginning of the ride I tighten the velcro and forget about them until the ride is over upto 26 hours later. With my G4s I push the serated strip to a reasonable tightness, then during the ride I have to tighten and loosen the ratchet as the thick black plastic strap cannot be angled across the top of the foot for much comfort, plus there is far more material on the top of the shoe than I am used to with my perferated single layered Hawaiis and my feet get a bit hotter.