RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


"Larger" Frame Advice(21 posts)

"Larger" Frame Advicehammy
Mar 6, 2003 10:47 AM
I'm looking for some input on the best handling bikes/frames in the 60/61cm size range.

I'm interested in good climbing, super stable descending bike...and would be interested in hearing about specific bikes and/or geometry for larger frame sizes. I know each bike is different, need to test ride, etc...but am interested in general impressions and specific experiences.

I'm 6'2", 175, do longer rides/centuries. Love to climb, but not so enjoyable when the descent is unstable. Currently ride a Seven, which I can best describe as being "noodly" up front.

Thanks for the input.
same question . . .dtufts
Mar 6, 2003 12:12 PM
I have the same question. I wonder what the experienced riders on this board think. I am 6'4" 185. The LBS wanna put me in a 63. I'm wondering if a drop down to 60/61 would be worth it for handling. I really don't know anything about it. I don't currently have a road bike. Any thoughts . . . .
re: "Larger" Frame Advicerussw19
Mar 6, 2003 12:13 PM
Since you have such a nice frame, have you considered just trying to replace your fork first? It could be it, or your bar/stem combo and those are going to be much cheaper to replace than your frame. What fork and bar/stem are you riding?

Russ
re: "Larger" Frame Advicehammy
Mar 6, 2003 1:08 PM
Excellent advice...I replaced the "seven" wound up fork, with the beefier standard wound up. Ritchey WCS bar and stem I'm please with. Have made many bike setup adjustments...none of which have cured the "flexy" front end feeling. For any skiers out there, I'd equate it to soft vs. stiff skis.
wheels?lonefrontranger
Mar 6, 2003 1:12 PM
honestly, a lot of the flex you are feeling could be coming from the wheel(s). That being said, I remember seeing Lennard Zinn, who is also a big guy, doing a review of a Seven frame and being really disappointed with how it rode - his poor review was based on the fact that he couldn't let go of the handlebars without inducing radical (and I mean RADICAL) headshake.
what caused it?gregario
Mar 6, 2003 1:21 PM
FLR: what caused in this case, or causes the front end shimmy? I am a big guy too, 6'2", 185# when I'm in "shape" and I took my custom Anvil to a shop once to make sure it fit me correctly. They were a Seven dealer and they said it was a good fit but they also asked me if I experienced front wheel shimmy. I didn't recall it being a problem but after thinking about it I may have experienced it a little. I don't know why they asked, is that a problem with larger bikes? Do you know where the review was? (They also tried to pitch getting a Seven to me)
shimmy is a bigger problem with larger frames (nm)ColnagoFE
Mar 6, 2003 1:38 PM
shimmy or headshake = resonancelonefrontranger
Mar 6, 2003 1:54 PM
I'm no engineer but how it has been explained to me is that there are a number of things which will induce shimmy or headshake, including but not limited to: loose or brinnelled headset, too much fork rake/trail, too much fork flex, wheel flex, loose hub cones/bearings, and lastly a large frame built of flexible material (which could include ti, aluminum or steel depending on tubing diameter). The long tubes allow for more length of arc for the resonance to amplify, if that makes any sense. Without adequate steps taken in the build (i.e. oversized tubing, gussets, fluting, other stiffening agents) you get headshake.

Someone will no doubt jump all over this extremely unscientific explanation... so I'll just take my superb-handling 46cm Colnago out on this beautiful blue sky Front Range day and ride :)
Hope it's this nice tomorrow on MY day off! (nm)ColnagoFE
Mar 6, 2003 3:18 PM
HeadshakeBrad S
Mar 6, 2003 3:31 PM
Yes, I have ridden many frames in the past with the no-hands sever headshake phenomen. It is usually due to the lack of lateral stiffness in the front triangle which is obviously a problem with big frames (I have ridden both 61 and 62 cm frames in teh past). This lack of lateral stiffness allows an oscillation to start which continues to grow until you grap the bars. I have swapped wheels around and they sometimes would make a small difference, but never would stop the no-hands shimmy at speed.

See my post below about the Pegoretti GGM, which has greatly oversized front triangle to give it gobs of lateral stiffness, but still excellent ride quality. I purchased it last Spring and it has been fabulous. Absolutely no headshake, even no handed at 50 mph descending the mountains around Boulder. Absolutely incredable handling bike! Highly recommend it to big guys who ride big frames.

sorry about the spelling!
ColnagoColnagoFE
Mar 6, 2003 1:35 PM
I ride a 62cm MXL which is really stiff and climbs well enough for me. I'm your height, but weigh about 190-195. Fork makes a big difference too. I got the Flash carbon with mine and love it. If you want something lighter you could always take a look at the Dream+, but I don't know how that compares to the MXL for heavier riders.
VeloNews Had A Good Article About Thismerckxman
Mar 6, 2003 1:56 PM
The VeloNews article discussed the construction factors that contribute to unstability and shimmy. I think it was written by Zinn; appeared in the last year. Is it online somewhere??
what I ridemadstork
Mar 6, 2003 1:57 PM
Hammy,

I'm 6'4" 190 and ride a custom steel Land Shark. Descends very well, has an Ouzo Pro fork. Top tube is 60.5. A previous bike got the shimmies on downhills, and it's no fun, so I understand your desire to find something better.

Not sure this feature makes a difference, but I spec'd a dropped top tube of 3cm, similar to Colnago geometry on their big frames. Others may have an opinion on whether this stiffens up big frames. Maybe Colnago is on the right track.

Haven't ridden one, but how about an aluminum rig like a Colnago Dream Plus, CAAD7, etc.?
Landsharkgeeker
Mar 6, 2003 2:49 PM
Does your custom Land Shark use any oversized tubing? I'm 6'2.5", 185#, have admired GVH's inventory of Landshark and "Gary V" (look to also be made by Slawta) frames, but they all use standard diameter tubes. I'm afraid they'd be too flexy. My current ride (kind of a Frankenbike, former GT Team Issue cyclocross frame I got used) is 853 with a steel fork and oversized downtube. Very stable, adequately stiff, but I'd prefer a slightly stiffer BB.
Landshark tubingmadstork
Mar 6, 2003 4:55 PM
Yes, it does use oversized tubing. It's a mix of Reynolds and Dedaccai tubing. Top and down tubes are oversized, and the down tube flares noticebly at the bottom bracket. Chainstays are somewhat beefy, but not like a Foco set. I came from a Columbus SP and the difference in bb stiffness is noticeable, plus the bike is comfortable. Not the lightest thing going, but I wouldn't hesitate to get this bike again.
Pegoretti Great Googoolee MoogooleeBrad S
Mar 6, 2003 3:25 PM
I ride a 61 cm GGM, I am 6'3" and 165 lbs and this is the best handling, most stable descending bike I have ever ridden. This bike could easily handle someone over 200 lbs and be just as stable. It is a steel bike and though it is very stiff, the ride quality is really nice.
Tommasini Sintesi works for me....ukiahb
Mar 6, 2003 4:53 PM
weigh 200 lbs, bought a 61cm Sintesi last year, mainly based on the many postive comments on RBR and love it...it rides well, is plenty stiff enough and it is dead stable on high speed descents...and is gorgeous to boot, fantastic paint and lug work. Not the lightest for the price, but for someone my size who does not race an extra pound or two is insignificant IMHO.
Nice bike. I love skinny Italian steel tubed likes. Retro. (NM)StevieP
Mar 7, 2003 12:52 AM
My boy!Sintesi
Mar 7, 2003 1:36 AM
Sintesi fans are legion. You decked it out nicely. Did you get it at the closeout price?
My boy!ukiahb
Mar 7, 2003 9:14 PM
Thankyou Senor...I did indeed get it from CC on closeout, and they knocked another $50 off for a minor paint chip, ended up being $2k out the door equipped w/ Chorus...wish I'd done it a lot sooner, am cranking out a lot more miles this year and enjoying it more....
re: "Larger" Frame AdviceVikingbiker7
Mar 7, 2003 7:54 AM
That is amazing. I'm 6'6" 226 and I ride a Seven Alaris 63.5 cm with a Wound Up fork and Mavic Cosmic Elites. I've decended gaps in North Ga at 50+ mph and the bike stuck right were I put it in every corner. I can sprint the bike with no noted loss of power also. I have now added a set of Kysrium SSCs and it is even better.