RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


So what's up with these leader bikes?(10 posts)

So what's up with these leader bikes?Frith
Mar 5, 2003 5:01 PM
The question on these bikes pops up every once in a while but no one seems to know anything about them. Their ads on this site are pretty intriguing. $140 the aluminum frame and $450 for the one with the carbon ass end. I remember someone bought one and was going to give us a report but it didn't happen.
I'm trying to get a friend of mine into the sport on the cheap and one of these Leaders and a $695 105 build kit from gvh might be just the ticket.
We got him on a 52cm caad5 which seemed to fit nicely I'm going to have to compare the geometry of the caad against the leaders.
I don't know...Ahimsa
Mar 5, 2003 5:37 PM
...but if you hear anything give us a heads up, eh? ; )

Seriously, $150 for that aluminum frame is intriguing.

I could always build a single speed out of it. That would give me a chance to try that cashy new White Indutries vert drop hub.

Cheers!

A.
Cant Beat it for the priceabicirider
Mar 5, 2003 6:17 PM
I bought a cheap Model 715 6061 aluminum frame just before Christmas paid $99.00 for a 50cm frame. Couple of things when I got the frame the cable stop bosses were missing they sent me not only the bosses but 2 sets plus 2 rear derailleur replacement hangers plus a 10cm stem all at no charge just for the screw up so I have to say they have great customer service.
I built the bike up with misc Ultegra parts and I have to say for $99.00 you cant go wrong sure it is not as lite but for a early season crit bike hey its stiff very little flex, builds up easy, the decals are all clear coated the paint and welds are not bad at all. I have to say for the price it stacks right up there with my starship tubing frame and also my titanium frame.
The new frame have all gone to 1 1/8" intergrated headset my 715 is 1" standard that is reall the only drawback I can tell the difference between 1" and 1 1/8" pretty noticable in stiffness when climbing or all out sprint.
Overall, again for the price dont think you can go wrong there customer service really is tops.
Be safe out on the roads
Ray Still
Mooresville, NC
Swat_Dawg is the guy building some... nmMrDan
Mar 5, 2003 6:20 PM
It was me who's going to give the report on the Leader'sSwat Dawg
Mar 5, 2003 6:45 PM
Yeah, I know, I know. I said I was going to cough up the info, but I've got school work. If someone would give my professors a call and tell them to let me out of the three papers I have due by friday, I could get that review up tomorrow. I did go down to the shop and gave them a good look over. I have to say that I was impressed, though they weren't perfect. The 715-R is a great looking frame. The paint looks solid and clean. The red frames seem to also have a measure sparkle in them. The only thing that I would say need to be improved are the facing of the Bottom bracket and headtude during painting. There is a little bit of paint in the those areas that will need to be cleaned out. That is a minor thing to fix, and is a great value. We bought three of those, one 780-R (carbon seatstays), and one LD-515 (mtn bike). The bike I was most impressed with was the 780-R. The white frame is absolutely beautiful. The main triangle is contrasted by the carbon stays. The finishing on the 780 was better. It was cleaner inside and all arounnd. We also bought four forks and three seattubes. These parts really excel. The 801 fork is carbon with an aluminum crown, and the 901 is all carbon. They are both immpeccable, the guys at the shop were just raving over the stuff, so it felt good to know we had managed to link up with a company that made good products. The seatposts are equally well finished. If there is one thing I can say about them is pay the $5 extra and get the st-2. It is a lot lighter. For $50 you won't find a better carbon seatpost. The final thing I would say is that I thinkt the 785-R with the carbon seat and chainstays is the best value in their line. I haven't seen one in person, but if they constructed with the same quality, it will be an awesome bike. The frame is about 3/4 of a pound lighter than the 780-R. I have been reading all of the talk about carbon stays being pointless, and actually making the frame weaker or heavier than straight aluminum, but if that is the case then the Treks, Looks, and Colnagos should all be inherently weaker and heavier frames because they are constructed entirely of lugged carbon. Also those frames are legendary for their ride quality, in large part because they are constructed of carbon, so the material is doing something. So if it does something in the entire frames, then having part of the frame constructed of the same material should at least provide a marginal increase on ride quality. I think that the problem (at least for me) comes in when Carbon stayed frames are significantly more than their all aluminum equals. In the case of the Leader frames, the frames are such a good value that it makes the most sense to get all the beneficial elements incorporated into the frame at the outset. I tried to coach some of my teammates into seeing this logic, but in college $200-300 is a lot of money. I wanted to purchase the 785-R and talk with my LBS to get them to think about carrying the brand, because our team would then have a large distributor immediately on hand, so if we crash or screw up, they would have a stock of frames on hand that we could use until our warranty frames came in. As it stands now, if something happens one of our guys is out of the race season for a while, which sucks!I don't know how that will pan out right now, because my funds are real short, and the shop wants to have some experience with a large segment of the product line before they consider working with the company. We'll see. Crap 35 minutes gone. I really have to unplug the internet or else my work won't ever get done. It's all your fault my academic production has fallen, if I wasn't so excited about cycling, all you didn't ask for me to do things that I said I would do, and didn't constantly post good information (I have to read!) I would be getting straight A's...ok at least B's (A's are scarce at this school!). For right now, this all I can say. We are building up the bikes now, but Spring Break is next
good info....now get back to work :) (nm)Frith
Mar 5, 2003 7:00 PM
You've got my attention now.....rogue_CT1
Mar 5, 2003 8:03 PM
Where can I find info on Leader? Do they have a web site? Thanks.
Uh, look at the little ads on the side of the board? nmlook271
Mar 5, 2003 8:17 PM
contact infoabicirider
Mar 5, 2003 8:33 PM
Leader Bike USA,130 Marigold Place
Chula Vista, CA 91910
(619) 425-6452
I've usally talk with Sam, or Brian they are both good guys they really dont have a web site you can get frame info off of ebay thats where they sell the majority of there frames.
Hope this helps
Be safe out on the roads
Ray Still
Mooresville, NC
leader bike web sightCORONADO FLYER
Mar 5, 2003 10:57 PM
www.leaderbikeusa.com