RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Should I 'scribe toVeloNews or CycleSport?Your opinion pleas(15 posts)

Should I 'scribe toVeloNews or CycleSport?Your opinion pleas128
Mar 4, 2003 11:24 AM
Maybe there's no big difference...?
Just acquainted w/both (splurged for plane ride reading) and both look great.
Any others to consider if you're just getting one (English language) magazine subscription?? (apologies if this is a faq or a 'we did that thread two years ago, dude' thing :)

-Thanks
Velonews and BicyclingMaartin
Mar 4, 2003 11:57 AM
My vote for USA based readers. Europe has tons of really nice glossy bicycle magazines but are very expensive.
Bicycling?????sickofit
Mar 4, 2003 12:17 PM
Shirley you jest. Bicycling is crap. It's cheap, but it's crap. It IS cheap enough to put up with its crappiness however.

You are right in saying that CycleSport is expensive, but it's good. So is procycling. I get them both. In the past I have subscribed to VeloNews but found it to be extremely boring.
Bulk-read this one at the library. Kinda "thin"...nm128
Mar 4, 2003 1:04 PM
Agree, also Buyer's Guide wt 10 road bikes..kinda "thin" too [nmbent_spoke
Mar 4, 2003 10:17 PM
Bicycling is poor but $12 a year.. I will try Cycle SportMaartin
Mar 5, 2003 8:07 AM
Thanks for the info everyone
CycleSport gets my voteLive Steam
Mar 4, 2003 12:04 PM
I did subscribe to both, but I found that VeloNews actually gave me more than I wanted. I really don't have much interest in NORBA results and - no offence intended- womens mountain and road results either. CycleSport follows the International men's pro peloton pretty much exclusively. That is what I wanted.
YesPaulCL
Mar 4, 2003 12:06 PM
I subscribe to both and every year, I receive a gift of "Bicycling". We won't broach the Bicycling topic..

Velonews is great for the domestic racing scene and product reviews. Cyclesport is my absolute favorite. There is so much information that it takes me a week to get through it all. If I had to make a choice, I would take CycleSport. It's expensive...like $50 per year but worth it.

About once per year, all three magazines come on the same day. A great overload day.
Cycle Sport (nm)outofthesaddle
Mar 4, 2003 12:06 PM
Cycle Sport is the best.RJF
Mar 4, 2003 12:16 PM
As posted above, it depends on what you are looking for. I want coverage of the European pro scene and no one does that like Cycle Sport. Velo News is fine for the domestic stuff.
Get both!velocity
Mar 4, 2003 12:18 PM
If you primarily want coverage of the Euro pro peloton, and great glossy color cycling porno, get Cycle Sport. Another option in this category is Procycling.

If you want domestic and euro coverage, mountain, road, men, women, etc., get VeloNews.

I recommend getting both.
That was the plan until the sticker shock. So for now it will be128
Mar 4, 2003 1:09 PM
CycleSport.

Thanks people, really good, helpful info.
re: Should I 'scribe toVeloNews or CycleSport?Your opinion pleasraboboy
Mar 4, 2003 1:45 PM
also... if you're interested in North East riding (assuming that 128 means the highway in MA), The Ride isn't bad... just a little thin sometimes. http://www.ridezine.com
! Thanks.Did not know abt that 'zine.$18/y is reasonable.128
Mar 5, 2003 5:11 AM
and you're correct on the handle origin! ("Roadrunner")
Thanks for the link.
re: Should I 'scribe toVeloNews or CycleSport?Your opinion pleasmackgoo
Mar 5, 2003 8:37 AM
I like Vello, for me the race coverage is just enough and I find the writting to be pretty good.