RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The Ultimate Racing Machine? check this out..(16 posts)

The Ultimate Racing Machine? check this out..MountainPro
Mar 3, 2003 6:06 AM
The Ultimate Racing Machine? check this out..

2003 Colnago CF-3
Price: $8,999.95
That's about £5,500....nice
also, designed with help from Ferrari.MountainPro
Mar 3, 2003 6:13 AM
Designed in collaboration with Ferrari, the CF-3 from Colnago is only available as a complete bike. This magnificent road machine includes: Colnago Wheel Set with Carbon Fiber Hubs; Colnago Carbon Crank; Color-Matched Ergo Stem; Cinnelli Bar Tape; Michelin All-Black Axial Pro Race Tires; New Era Saddle; ITM Carbon Colnago Handle Bar; Elite Carbon-Fiber Water Bottle Cage, with the balance of components featuring the Campy Record 10-Speed. Frame Weight: 1150g/55 cm. Call your WCP Service Representative today about this extraordinary road machine!

more...>> www.colnago.com
how aboutWoof the dog
Mar 3, 2003 6:59 AM
not advertising here, eh?

just a friendly suggestion

thanx

woof the dog.
Beautiful!Leroy
Mar 3, 2003 6:21 AM
How did Ferrari help out; with the paint and the logo??
well...MountainPro
Mar 3, 2003 6:32 AM
I dont know how ferrari helped out...maybe they supplied the sticker on the front!..

if it had a 3.5 litre V6 turbocharged engine i would understand...other than that i have no idea how they helped out in the design...
ferrari designs lots of thingsColnagoFE
Mar 3, 2003 6:45 AM
I believe they design stuff like eyeglasses and other stuff. Not just cars. I imagine that they collaborated w/ Colnago in this case for the design. Plus that sticker and the red color scream Ferrari.
Ditto for Campagnolo who has designed for Ferrai & NASA...[nm]bent_spoke
Mar 3, 2003 7:01 AM
carbon fiber stuff?weiwentg
Mar 3, 2003 8:50 AM
I'd heard Ferrari helps Colnago with the carbon stuff, eg lugs for the C40. am I wrong?
They slapped their logo on an bumped the price up a few grand :)empacher6seat
Mar 3, 2003 7:30 PM
nm
naw. here's the "ultimate racing machine"DougSloan
Mar 3, 2003 7:15 AM
U-G-L-YRJF
Mar 3, 2003 7:47 AM
Am I the only one who thinks that bike is ugly as hell? You'd think something designed by Colnago and Ferrari would be sexy. I'm sure this bike is light as a feather, but it just looks so heavy and clunky. Looks like it was designed by an East German circa 1983.
I think it looks nice, except for one thingDougSloan
Mar 3, 2003 7:57 AM
I think the frame looks very nice, sort of organic. However, I don't like the relatively fat, aero looking seat tube top/top tube/stay junction, with a small, round seatpost sticking out. It just doesn't flow there.

Doug
Upon Further Inspection,...Bixe
Mar 3, 2003 8:37 PM
... A friend whose passion for riding is exceeded only by his passion for Ferraris had a very close look at a CF3 standing alongside a 962 at a local exotic car show late last year. He tells me that he was astonished at the rather rough finish of the frame; several joints were not well matched and the paint wasn't very detailed. He hated the bulky cranks, prefering the Campy Carbon cranks. He conceded that since the bike makes the rounds on the car show circuit, it doesn't receive the detailed inspection that many on this board would provide....
I agreeStevieP
Mar 4, 2003 12:57 AM
I think it is ugly. I would rather spend my money on a C40 or a CT1.
re: The Ultimate Racing Machine? check this out..Snowbird
Mar 3, 2003 8:08 AM
It can't be a Ferrari. Ferraris are red.
re: The Ultimate Racing Machine? check this out..russw19
Mar 3, 2003 9:32 AM
The CF1 and CF2 were red and black. Colnago made these as a thank you to Ferrari who helped them design their cabon bonding process.

The CF1 was a red and black road bike. It was the first bike shown to the public that had Campy Record 10 Carbon too, if memory serves me correctly.

The CF2 was a red and black mountain bike. It came out last year.

I suppose the yellow black paint of the CF3 is to separate it from the CF1 which was for the most part, the same bike.

Colnago has put out some much nicer frames than this.. I will see if I can dig up some saved pictures on my computer. (and no, I don't mean the saved porno type either)

Russ