RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Shimano PD-7750 pedals - reviews?(14 posts)

Shimano PD-7750 pedals - reviews?Live Steam
Mar 1, 2003 12:11 PM
Does anyone have these yet? Do you care to post a review here since there isn't one in the review section. If I don't put Speedplays on the new Giant, I may consider these as an alternative to Look 396. I haven't heard anything that great about the Campy pedals to warrant looking at them.
Own them, but they aren't even mounted yet! :( There are a few..jtferraro
Mar 1, 2003 12:29 PM
reviews online. I believe one @cyclingnews and maybe one @velonews? I don't remember exactly. Also, as you may know, there is a new cleat out for these pedals. My LBS called me to have me come in, drop off my original cleats, and pick up the new ones, which I recently did.

Sorry I don't have a personal review for you but I'm sure you'll hear from others.

-Jeff
Own them, but they aren't even mounted yet! :( There are a few..Live Steam
Mar 1, 2003 12:30 PM
Tell me more about the cleats.
Here you have it....jtferraro
Mar 1, 2003 12:46 PM
http://www.chainreaction.com/recallspdsl.htm

-Jeff
Here you have it....Thanks nmLive Steam
Mar 1, 2003 1:07 PM
Does it place your sole closer to the spindle?Sintesi
Mar 1, 2003 2:39 PM
Did you have to lower your saddle a few mm? or no?
re: Shimano PD-7750 pedals - reviews?Matt Britter
Mar 1, 2003 1:06 PM
Got them and been using for couple of months. Also put on the new cleats two weeks ago. I did not have problems with the orginal cleat, but I also do not do very walking in the shoes.

The pedals have been great, very easy to enter and exist. I came off of SPD so anything would be an improvement. I was also looking at the Speedplay Zero's. The only thing that changed my mind was that the LBS said if did not like the SL's they would give me a full credit, as they had lots of people who wanted them at the time (nice to have the LBS as club sponser!).

Back to the pedals nice and smooth, light, and no forward to back slop on climbing. Only down side is that if like to adjust and play with things these are not the pedals. Put them on and "forgit a 'bow it!"
-mb
re: Shimano PD-7750 pedals - reviews?Live Steam
Mar 1, 2003 1:09 PM
"Only down side is that if like to adjust and play with things these are not the pedals"

What do you mean? They are not adjustable?
Something great about Campy pedalsKerry
Mar 1, 2003 4:01 PM
With rare exception, I think you'll find ProFit owners very satisfied with their pedals. Light weight, low maintenance, easy in/out, high build quality, etc. It's just that they are not "hot" and "new" right now so people don't lust after them. If you do an objective comparison with any other pedal on the market, you'll find that reasons to choose one top pedal over another are more personal preference than must-have features or outstanding differences. I've got about 35K miles on a set of ProFits and they are just as smooth as the day I put them on the bike and still working great. I doubt you'll find any other pedals that can beat that statement (some can match, but none can beat it).
a reasonyeah right
Mar 1, 2003 4:15 PM
...the cost of replacement cleats

nice pedals though. just hope you don't have two pairs of shoes and need a second set of the metal parts of the cleats. the plastic parts are darn expensive too.
Not a reasonKerry
Mar 1, 2003 4:51 PM
Campy cleats are about $15 (you don't replace the insert) so I can't figure out how this is "expensive"
Not a reasonTi-Boy
Mar 2, 2003 3:44 AM
I only have one ride on the 7750's (yesterday's maiden voyage of complete new bike), but I like them very much. Easy in/out, solid platform (I was on mtb spd's), just enough float.
cleat boltstav
Mar 2, 2003 9:57 AM
he cleat bolts are way to short, anyone else have this , i use northwave genetix shoe and i have to use my old look cleat bolts instead.
I got the Ultegra build level PD-R600'sjoekm
Mar 3, 2003 7:52 AM
Cheaper than Speedplay and cost competitive with many of the Looks. I went to these from dual-sided Ritchey SPD pedals and I absolutely love them. Clip in is easy and secure and, once in, they seem to disappear under your feet.

I would imagine the same could be said about the Dura-Ace pedals. I really do like my PD-R600's though, are they are considerably cheaper.