RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Kestrel Talon Seatpost Dilemma(11 posts)

Kestrel Talon Seatpost Dilemmampj
Mar 1, 2003 10:10 AM
Just recently built this Talon:





with all my favorite components; including a Cinelli carbon Ram post:





The post is exceptionally light, aerodynamic and looks incredible on this bike; but regretfully {because of it's aero Y shape design} it does not extent far enough into the seat tube. I need about another ½" to 1" to comfortably accommodate my legs. Major setback, as I just paid $199.00 for the post, and although I have not yet had a chance to even ride the bike {it's still major winter here in West Michigan} the post has been inserted, so cannot be returned.



This past week I just purchased a Kestrel dual position aero seatpost:





Another disappointment! This post, although inexpensive compared to the Cinelli, weighs a TON! Should have done my homework! Now that I have a nice seatpost collection {although I think that I can return the Kestrel post?} started, I'm in search of another post, and am considering a Campy Record {bike is full Campy Record} carbon post in a 250 mm length; or perhaps a Easton EC70 {250 mm length} . Both posts seem fairly compatible; although the reviews on the Campy post are very diverse? There are no reviews on this board for the EC70, so am open for suggestions? The bike, although somewhat setup for racing, is just intended for general road use, but weight – shock absorption is definitely a factor. Any input would be very welcome. THANKS!

re: Kestrel Talon Seatpost DilemmaAkirasho
Mar 1, 2003 2:03 PM
... sorry, I've got no solutions for you (got a couple of frames with proprietary posts) but do admire your build... pull that sucker out into full sunlight and take another shot (what size?)!

I'd also bet that a lot of us here have fallen victim to "the best laid plans"... I know I've got a few in the spare parts box... perhaps you'll recoup some of your dough at a swap meet or it'll find a home on your next frame?

It'd seem that if the Easton would fit... it would aesthetically balance with the stem (I have no experience with the product)... and, of course, Thomsons are popular.

The weather is about to break here... and speaking of break... I was able to finally chop a path out of the ice to my back door... now I only have to slip and slide across about 15' to reach my back yard and herd the dogs in and out... it must be a sign of spring.

Be the bike.
re: Kestrel Talon Seatpost Dilemmampj
Mar 2, 2003 6:38 AM
Thanks on the compliments regarding the build. Size is a 57 cm. I'm 6', and the top tube is about 1" below my crotch line, which seems ideal. Can't wait for Spring weather either!
re: Kestrel Talon Seatpost DilemmaAnj
Mar 1, 2003 8:22 PM
Just a thought. How far are you from the pedals? Maybe you could get a saddle that sits lower to get the correct reach to the pedals? Looks like that ones rails extend quite a ways below the saddle. Good luck!
re: Kestrel Talon Seatpost Dilemmampj
Mar 2, 2003 6:39 AM
The seat actually only sits about 1" max too high, so a saddle with a lower rail system might just work. Thanks for the idea! Finding one might be a problem though, since all the cycling catalogs depict top/side views with really no indication as to rail height. I will look into though. THANKS.
have you considered a USE Alien?lancewannabe
Mar 2, 2003 6:34 AM
I have the same considerations when picking posts. I have the alien carbon and like it.
Sweet looking Trek! Looks feather light! ....mpj
Mar 2, 2003 6:55 AM
Although not mentioned in my post, the Alien is also under consideration. Now that I'm looking at one in a catalog, I see that it's actually the lightest of them all. Thanks for the suggestion!



I'm still going to try to fiddle around with my Cinelli post, and see if I can get it to work. I could actually insert it further into the seat tube if I file away at the carbon seatpost spacer which holds the seatpost into place, but not too sure if I want to risk damaging it, although I'm sure that I could get another one quite easily from Kestrel?

Be Carefullancewannabe
Mar 2, 2003 7:03 AM
Id check with kestral about filing anything. Im always real worried about doing more harm than good. I have never taken a close enough look at the talon to make any logical comment but I would imagine that if you file away material towards the top, it may effect the clamping power since the top is where the clamp bolt is...just a consideration.
RE: Be Carefulmpj
Mar 2, 2003 8:58 AM
It's not on the frame itself, but only a small carbon spacer that holds the seatpost into place. Anyway, I already changed my mind about doing any filling, as the spacer is hollow, which I just discovered. Thanks for the warning though!
NO Easton carbonJimP
Mar 2, 2003 11:10 AM
Your frame has an internal wedge type seatpost binder. I had an Easton post that dented with the wedge binder, Easton replaced the first one and the replacement dented also. These dents aren't dangerous by themselves but you can continue to tighten the bolt and that will crush the carbon fibre. The dents also make the post hard to remove. I now have a USE Alien carbon post with a USE aluminum shim. The USE post is one of the lightest, even with the shim.
Jim
Actually ...mpj
Mar 2, 2003 1:21 PM
Jim; You are right about the wedge type binder, but actually is not what I would call internal. In fact; its removable, as you can see from the pic. It's just a small/lightweight wedge that supports the post in the seat tube. Sounds like the USE Alien carbon is the way to go. Thanks for your suggestion!