RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


anything besides NICK going on in cycling lately?(16 posts)

anything besides NICK going on in cycling lately?EpicX
Feb 27, 2003 6:45 PM
just wondering...lol.
Roadbikereview.com & mtbr.com are having technical difficultiesteamsloppy
Feb 27, 2003 9:59 PM
No posts in 3 hours. The sites are impossiby slow to respond. I have been browsing with other windows and have patiently checked back every 5 or 10 minutes.

What technology does roadbikereview use (Cold fusion, Apache, IIS with Asp)?
re: anything besides NICK going on in cycling lately?rogue_CT1
Feb 27, 2003 11:59 PM
What do you mean? Nick is the center of the cycling universe. Therefore, anything that happens with our leader must be of interest to us!
Apparently not...biknben
Feb 28, 2003 5:29 AM
Man...I wish there was.

Let's see...

-I'm about to order a Surly Cross-Check Frame.

-I got two Tufo tubies that I have stretching on rims. I'm going to glue them tonight with the tufo glue strips. I haven't used the glue strips before.

-I bought a rigid MTB fork off Ebay for an old frame I have. I'm going to build it up as a singlespeed beater.

Anybody want to talk about this stuff?
me me meDougSloan
Feb 28, 2003 7:30 AM
Let's see:

I re-organized my shop area. Anyone want to see pictures of my tools?

I also re-organized my Computrainer and weight bench set-up. If people are really bored, I can post photos of that, too. No pics of me jumping off the ground with weights, though, sorry.

When you are stuck at home with a baby, this is the stuff you do.

I rode 3 times this week! Wow. I think that's more than Nick, even.

Big "metric century" tomorrow, the Reedley Blossom Ride. As lots of "get fat in winter" types do this one, it helps my ego by passing lots of fat dudes. Much more fun that riding with the racing team. Anyone want me to post a photo of me passing fat guy?

Built a wheel. That was fun. It even holds up the bike when I ride!

Might do a 10 mile time trial Sunday morning with the team. Every bit of ego boost I'll accumulate on Saturday will be shot to hell, for certain. I'll be luck to manage 22 mph (a speed I've done for 100 miles solo before).

Anyone want to know more stuff about me? I can repost about my 508 glory days if anyone wants. ("The older I get, the better I was.")

Dog
and if that isn't exciting enough for youColnagoFE
Feb 28, 2003 7:54 AM
I lifted legs monday, chest tuesday, back wednesday, and day off thurs. cardio monday, tues, and wed. at lunch
if you like i could go into detail about each of the specific lifts, # of reps and sets.....i ate monday--tuna, spinach, protein bars, fruit, water
tuesday--salmon, broccoli, protein bars, fruit, water
wednesday--steak, broccoli, protein bars, fruit, water
thursday--repeat monday
friday--repeat tuesday.......zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
and if that isn't exciting enough for youHolden_1
Feb 28, 2003 8:22 AM
What no pictures? My favorite excercise at MY gym is to stack 45 lbs plates on my head and jump off a flight of stairs. Don't worry my coach says it it safe for me. After all, I am a natural born climber, and I am far more advanced than the rest of you!!! LOL.
My coaches dangle me upside downOldEdScott
Feb 28, 2003 8:38 AM
from a balcony railing and drop me so I land on my head. That toughens my head so I don't have to wear a helmet. Don't worry, these are all very qualified coaches and they're there to make sure I don't hurt myself. I can't believe you would think these great coaches would let me do something dangerous. Besides, regardless of your own opinion, I have accomplished great things in my career.
Please Stop! -- I'm laughing so hard...Dale Brigham
Feb 28, 2003 10:25 AM
...that I'm BOUND to be fired from my job. Hey, that could be my new moniker: POVERTYBOUND DOT MO.

Dale
What city in MO ? ( nm )Andy
Feb 28, 2003 1:14 PM
Columbia, MO (nm)Dale Brigham
Mar 1, 2003 4:47 PM
Columbia, MO -- born there (nm)DougSloan
Mar 2, 2003 2:58 PM
me me meupandcomer
Feb 28, 2003 12:18 PM
Sure Doug, I'd like to know more stuff about you. What was something really cool you accomplished in your cycling career? (22mph avg. for 100miles is pretty cool)
only one thingDougSloan
Feb 28, 2003 1:30 PM
This is about the only thing I ever accomplished:

http://www.midcalracing.com/5082001/5082001.htm
heck yeah!sacheson
Feb 28, 2003 8:53 AM
I've typed a few hundred lines of code in between visits to NicksWorld.com (DNS aliased to RBR.com). More semi-colons and curly brackets than you can shake a stick at! Freaking gripping, I tell ya.
more winter to come cause Nick saw his shadowSpoiler
Feb 28, 2003 9:04 AM
But he refuses to go back into his hole.