RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The beginning of my new SS, comments welcome(9 posts)

The beginning of my new SS, comments welcomeMel Erickson
Feb 25, 2003 7:57 PM
It's a 70's Panasonic. I had it powder coated for $60.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Frame(20).jpg

Close up of the head tube/top tube lug.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Headtubelug.jpg

Rear dropouts.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/dropouts(4).jpg

The powder coat is a two step process, gold over black. It's textured, like worn pewter. It's certainly different. Not sure if I like it or not. It's kind of an experiment. How do you like it?
This was also my first attempt at posting multiple picturesMel Erickson
Feb 25, 2003 8:00 PM
Obviously, it didn't work quite right. Please click on the links to see the photos.
Well, at least nobody will steal it...Ahimsa
Feb 25, 2003 8:04 PM
Brah! Just kidding ya!

Nah, really, I kind of like it. It looks medieval. You must kit it with all black parts and minimal logos. That would look wild.

Nice work! I like experimentation. You might be ahead of the curve.

A.
Black everythingMel Erickson
Feb 25, 2003 8:21 PM
Right down to the chain. The headset is just temporary until my shop gets a black one to fit my fork from their supplier. Black bars, tape, hoods, cable, crank, post, seat, rims. The only things not black will be the hubs, brakes and levers, which are silver and the BMX freewheel, which is gold and black. I haven't been able to find black, long reach brakes or aero levers and the hubs were already laced up to the rims.
Don't be mad at me....crosscut
Feb 25, 2003 8:04 PM
I'm not crazy about it...at all. It looks like decorative iron. Something you would see at craft shows, and not really appropriate for bikes. Again, this is just my opinion. I know what you were trying to do, but I don't think this works.
I don't think you knowMel Erickson
Feb 25, 2003 8:13 PM
because I didn't know when I told the shop to do it! Why would I be mad? Yeah, it kind of looks like iron. Something you wouldn't expect on a bike. I've had it for a couple of days and I think it's growing on me. I originally wanted burnt orange but the shop didn't have it. When I picked the frame up, low and behold, there was some tubing with burnt orange! He just got it in. It fades from light to dark in a random pattern (very subtle) and looks really great. If only I was a week later.
Wow...Elefantino
Feb 25, 2003 8:15 PM
That is really cool looking. I'm not sure whether you're going to ride it or mount it on a shield. (Kidding) You might want to consider wearing chain mail when you ride it, though. (Ditto)

Seriously ... I'd be concerned about pieces of the raised paint chipping or being nicked. Think that will be the case? If not, then I agree that this is really on the cutting edge.

Of course, there's always the problem of how to make the decals stick...

FWIW,
Mike
I don't think the powder coat will be a problem at allMel Erickson
Feb 25, 2003 8:26 PM
It's really a smooth finish but dimpled like a golf ball, but not as pronounced. It's also powder coat, not paint, which is supposed to be pretty tough. No decals, except maybe my name on the top tube. The coater said decals would stick well. We'll see.

Anybody know where I can get some chain mail? Maybe a jousting lance too, like on the commercial.
Very unique and quite pretty. We used to use...rwbadley
Feb 25, 2003 8:58 PM
a black crinkle paint in the '70's that had a similar finish.

I remember spray painting some valve covers off a '67 cuda with this crinkle paint. You had to bake it in the oven to get the effect. The smell was something awful, I seem to remember getting yelled at by parental figure over the situation...

I would love to see a pic when it is done. I have the feeling a photo may not do it justice.

Rock on,

RW