RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


in poor taste, or okay? Quick Poll topic:Lance & Kristin(41 posts)

in poor taste, or okay? Quick Poll topic:Lance & Kristingregg
Feb 24, 2003 1:18 PM
Given all the buzz over the separation of Lance Armstrong and his wife Kristin, I was thinking of running a Quick Poll (for those of you who bookmark straight to the message boards, we run the quick poll on the homepage and other site section indexes) about it.

I was thinking of wording it something like:

Do you think Lance and Kristin will get back together?

-yes, for sure
-yes, hopefully
-no, probably not
-no, no way
-don't know

But then I thought, maybe this could be seen as being in poor taste.

What do you think?

-g
Lets leave them alone. (nm)onespeed
Feb 24, 2003 1:22 PM
agreedlaffeaux
Feb 24, 2003 2:42 PM
It's up to the two of them to figure out what's going on and how to resolve it. It's none of our business, and if Lance chooses not to tell us, so be it.

I'd hope that my life were never scrutinized if I were in such hard times. Let them keep their private life private.
NEW POLL: Is this post in bad taste?scottfromcali
Feb 25, 2003 10:52 AM
Yes
Yes, Lances life should not be any of our business.
yes, the person who posed this question should be drug out in the street, and whose hands should be run over with overinflated 700c tires.
would you...mohair_chair
Feb 24, 2003 1:22 PM
Would you do the poll if it were about your parents? Your friends? Yourself?

I'm glad you asked, but put me down as in poor taste.
poor taste. nmjaybird
Feb 24, 2003 1:24 PM
Very poor taste.Not our business.(nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Feb 24, 2003 1:27 PM
I wouldn't. (but they did do a press release...) nmDougSloan
Feb 24, 2003 1:30 PM
Probably to beat the press rags to the punch(nm)TREKY
Feb 24, 2003 2:43 PM
Oh yeah.Poor taste.(nm)TREKY
Feb 24, 2003 2:45 PM
In poor taste. nmUprwstsdr
Feb 24, 2003 1:34 PM
I think it's okay. . .js5280
Feb 24, 2003 1:35 PM
It purely spectulative since we don't know what the details are however it's not disparaging to either person with the way you have it worded. It's more a reflection of what we, the general public, hope are for them. I don't think that is an invasion of their privacy which is what they asked for in their statement. However, if there is still question in your mind, probably best not to run it.
Changed my mind in light of new information. . .js5280
Feb 24, 2003 3:03 PM
on the official LA site. It's better not to be promoting the issue. I wish them all the best and hope they might find themselves back together as family. However, it's up to them to make that decision and for us to respect whatever decision they make.
Poor taste. nmKristin
Feb 24, 2003 1:37 PM
Ironic!!!! A survey within a survey! nmeschelon
Feb 24, 2003 1:43 PM
in addition to Ironic, it's Recursive (nm)terry b
Feb 24, 2003 2:42 PM
It would be in very poor taste ifOldEdScott
Feb 24, 2003 1:45 PM
you did a poll asking people why they think L & K split up, and included some of the likely suspicions. As you word it, though, it sounds a little like a breathless teenage fan mag -- Will Justin and Britney get back together?? -- but it's probably not what I'd call bad taste.

Can't deny there's a lot of interest in this, though. There are already a zillion posts on the LA website, in the guest book.
It certainly wouldn't be the worst thing askedmoneyman
Feb 24, 2003 1:48 PM
And it wouldn't raise many eyebrows in comparison to all the other stuff that we are exposed to. However, I tend to think of this as a family, i.e., cyclists problem, one that doesn't need to be in the public light. But Lance and Kristin are public figures and will surely be the subjects of much more intrusive scrutiny.

My opinion - it's none of our business. Leave them alone.

$$
re: in poor taste, or okay? Quick Poll topic:Lance & Kristinweiwentg
Feb 24, 2003 1:49 PM
what happened to the thread on the guy who jumped off the Great Wall was in extremely poor taste. I personally wouldn't run that poll, but I'm sure a large number of posters here would have no grounds to object.
Ick. It would be like having a poll...Gregory Taylor
Feb 24, 2003 2:12 PM
...asking

"Do you think Lance's cancer will come back?"

- yes, he's doomed
- maybe, but only if those French leave him alone
- no way, he'll have perfect health from here on out
- Lance? Cancer? When did this happen?

Stuff like this is intrusive, insensitive, and the answers are based on complete speculation. That said, I'm completely in favor of quietly starting a betting pool giving odds on, let's say, whether Lance and Kristin get back together by the end of the 2003 Tour. That would be okay, wouldn't it?
...and before anyone gets all huffy...Gregory Taylor
Feb 24, 2003 2:27 PM
No, I don't REALLY think that starting a betting pool to wager on the break-up of the Armstrongs' marrige is okay. Attempts at internet sarcasm sometimes fall flat. Re-reading my post, this may be one of those times.
are you implying that "huffy" is a bad thing? :-) nmDougSloan
Feb 24, 2003 2:55 PM
extremely poor taste_rt_
Feb 24, 2003 2:18 PM
despite the fact that the separation is public knowledge, their lives are not a reality show for us to make bets on.

rt
Another thought. How do you want Lance to think of RBRKristin
Feb 24, 2003 2:27 PM
It is quite conceivable that if a survey was posted about the Armstrong marriage on RBR, that the Armstrongs would actually hear about it. How do you think they'd feel about the survey and this site after seeing such a poll--in light of their request for privacy from his own website?
Who cares?tyrius
Feb 24, 2003 2:36 PM
Would you want someone running a poll if you broke up with your significant other?

What is it with people and always prying into everyone else's personal lives? Just ridiculous.
Poor taste-put yourself in that position..n.m.koala
Feb 24, 2003 2:41 PM
My interest in Lance Armstrong's personal life runs only tobill
Feb 24, 2003 2:55 PM
how his sponsors see the situation, which might learn me something about the crazy business of sponsorship in particular and cycling in general. Other than that, leave the man alone. I neither know anything nor care to know anything about his personal life.
Bring on the dirty laundry bin ! Hip Hip Hurra ! NMtz
Feb 24, 2003 2:59 PM
Record with Aluminum. (nm)sacheson
Feb 24, 2003 3:18 PM
on the other hand...DougSloan
Feb 24, 2003 3:20 PM
Just looking at it from all sides...

Lance did write a book detailing his prior and athe Kristin relationships to some extent. He has financially benefitted from some degree of exposure of his private life, even if the gist of the book was about cancer and his first Tour win. He even told of the embarrassing aspects of saving sperm, etc.

That being the case, whether it be him or any similar celebrity, can they claim privacy when they voluntarily reveal their private lives and profit from doing so?

While the normal response is obviously that it's a private matter, are we thinking that just because we like or even worship him so much? Would it be different if he were an actor or politician?

In any event, I still feel badly for them.

Doug
Whoa! The masses have spoken.gregg
Feb 24, 2003 3:51 PM
I guess I underestimated the volatility of this topic. I didn't expect such strong emotions and replies. And let me clarify that there was no slight or trivialization meant in suggesting this topic for a Quick Poll.

This Quick Poll topic will not be so.

Many thanks for the honest feedback. You all are right, their wishes for privacy should be respected.

-gregg

(there's a whole 'nuther hot topic in here about celebrities, paparazzi, the public, and privacy, but let's save that for another thread)
hey Gregg, i truly dont care - its not my Biz ... BUT >>>Spirito
Feb 24, 2003 4:28 PM
if any of their home movies (;-p) surface on the web can you provide a link?

curious minds need to know !!!! cadence, threshold, spacers(?), positioning etc etc etc. its SO not about the bike.

ciao
Spacers!? LOL! nmSpunout
Feb 25, 2003 5:39 AM
I had a sarcastic reply to that but...gregg
Feb 25, 2003 10:06 AM
...given the feedback in this forum, I think I'll use a little indiscretion here. It's just so hard to make sarcasm work over the internet, ya' know?

-g

(it had to do with home movies and Hot Deals)
(Bigggg.......) YAWWWWNNNnnnnnn..... :-0 0 0 0 (nm)wasabekid
Feb 24, 2003 5:15 PM
I say leave them alone nm.serpico
Feb 24, 2003 9:48 PM
Poor taste without a doubt - this is gossip, leave them be (nm)joekm
Feb 25, 2003 6:19 AM
re: in poor taste, or okay? Quick Poll topic:Lance & KristinJuniorgriff
Feb 25, 2003 6:22 AM
Let them have their privacy, wouldn't you want the same?
4 time tour winners and their families are entitled to privacymarco_esq
Feb 25, 2003 11:21 AM
esp after they make millions selling autobiographies nmcyclopathic
Feb 25, 2003 12:27 PM
Who cares!katie1
Feb 25, 2003 4:57 PM
Good grief! What is this Entertainment Tonight? Leave them alone.