RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?(20 posts)

Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?JimGR
Feb 23, 2003 1:41 PM
Has anyone used both of these and chosen between them? If so, what made up your mind? They both are apparently great trainers.

I'm also curious about any feedback from anyone who's used a 1up for more than a couple months.

Thanks for all your help
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?jromack
Feb 23, 2003 4:36 PM
I chose the 1UP, I liked the design of it better, especially the larger flywheel. I'm a mechanical engineer so I am real anal about how designs are executed.

I have about 750 miles on it and like the "feel" of it. No problems at all.

The Kurt Kinetic is also a great trainer. The choice was very close.
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?JimGR
Feb 23, 2003 5:09 PM
Thanks for the input - I'm leaning that way too. Are you satisfied with the cups, leg joints and the freedom of movement of the ball bearings in the ramps/ways (provided you've taken it apart)?

Thanks again, Jim
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?jromack
Feb 23, 2003 5:13 PM
Of course I took it apart to see how the centrifugal system worked. (also to increase the resistance).

It spins up nicely, no resistance until about 10 MPH.

The cups fit fine because I use the skewer they supplied. The loading mechanism is a quick one step foot lever.
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?JimGR
Feb 23, 2003 5:21 PM
Thanks - I'm curious about the skewer change, was it because you didn't want to mar or damage your original or didn't it fit. I run with Spinergy and would like to keep it there if possible.
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?Sharkman
Feb 23, 2003 5:10 PM
I've owned a 1Up for about five months now. Live in the Pacific NW, and rain makes road training during the week tough. I probably have 400 to 500 miles on the trainer.

Its great. Smooth, very realistic road feel, and I cant come close to overpowering it (I'm 50). The integrated cyclecomputer is pretty neat. They supply a Sigma Sport cyclocomputer that accepts two wheel sizes. One of them is calibrated for the diameter of the rear flywheel. You can use the cyclecomputer on a real road bike too. I just set it up on a Cervelo and used in on a time trial this morning.

Also very useful is the mechanism by which you take the bike in and out of the 1Up. My wife has taken to using it for workouts, and we have an old mountain bike with a slick tire for her to use. Very easy for her or me to change bikes out quickly.

The unit is built to last and I expect its the last trainer I'll have to buy for a while. The only way to do much better would be to spend much more $ on a computrainer or something at that level.

Have heard nothing but good things about the Kurt too.

Bob
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?JimGR
Feb 23, 2003 5:26 PM
Thanks Bob,

I ride a road bike (cervelo too) and plan to use the computer on the bike. And I agree - my dad has the Kurt Kinetic and it's very nice but I'm thinking I'd prefer the portability of the 1up.

Jim
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?Elefantino
Feb 23, 2003 5:53 PM
I've had my 1-up for about 10 months and I really like it. I was skeptical at first because it looks so unlike other trainers, but a quick call to Corky Phillips (great guy, by the way) and the try-it-or-all-your-money-back promise was the deal clincher.

FWIW,
Mike
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?JimGR
Feb 23, 2003 6:01 PM
Thanks Mike - I sent Corky an email yesterday with some questions and look forward to hearing from tomorrow, I've heard he's a great guy. And you're right - in my case (with my dad's Kurt here in town) I can check them out side-by-side without risk.

BTW - do you use your own skewers or the ones Corky provides?

Thanks, Jim
Heres my researchPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 23, 2003 6:06 PM
1upUSA
-small company-little grassroots sponsorship but will take the time to ship in ways to save you money
-very nice look to it
-no play between quick release and mounting
-speedo sensor capability on roller... very cool!
-packability

Kurt
-bigger company-under right circumstances gives something like cost+25 discount
-same bulky look as cycleops trainer and doesn't pack down nearly as small as 1upUSA
-fair ammount of irritating play between the trainer and QR from me using Ksyriums and the trainer... I hate the feeling of being on the titanic while I'm on my trainer

All these make me like the 1upUSA better than the Kurt.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Heres my researchJimGR
Feb 23, 2003 6:21 PM
Thanks Nick,

BTW - 1up's web site currently says they're in stock for immediate shipping.

Do you use your own skewers?
I'd get the skewersPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 23, 2003 7:24 PM
The skewers will just give a tighter fit and reduce any play.

As for ordering down the road the 1up will definitely be on my must buy list but I need to free up the money first :)
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?kyvdh
Feb 23, 2003 7:30 PM
I've had the 1-up since November. Only one problem I have found. I'd be curious to know if anyone else has observed this. When getting up close to 20mph it seems the Sigma Sport computer can't keep up anymore. No matter how much harder (faster cadence) I pedal, the speed won't go higher. I might eek out 21 but no more. As an experiment I put a magnet on rear spokes and mounted the pickup on the frame. With that setup I could get it up closer to 22-24mph. It seems with the high rpm of the freewheel on the trainer, the computer could not keep up (sample frequency too slow). Again I'd love to hear if anyone else has experienced this. Occasionally I have had the trainer seem to just bog down, particularly when going at high speed and standing. It's not been frequent and since doing some greasing around bearings and centrifigal ball cones, I have not had anymore problems. This is the second one I have gotten. They replaced for free when the first one did it. I still think it's a good trainer but wonder about these few items.

Pete
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?JimGR
Feb 24, 2003 5:00 AM
Thanks for your feedback. Your comments on the CPR cones is one of the main things I've been concerned about. I sent Corky an email Saturday asking some questions (including this). I'll let you know what I hear.
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?RussCasteel
Feb 23, 2003 7:43 PM
Jim
I have not used the Kurt, but very happy w/ 1up purchase. The quality is top notch looks like will last more than my lifetime, so I hope warranty applies to the lucky recipient in my will. Trainer is extremely stable on carpet, even for out of the saddle sprints. Also verrrrrry quiet, which is important in my third floor apartment. I use the skewer provided because my Bontrager skewer is the wrong shape to fit in cups. Also the front leg adjustment allows level riding, but be warned, on carpet to not adjust too close without checking clearance every once in a awhile as legs start to settle in. One last note, I did have to move ball bearings to outer position to get more accurate road feel resistance. Hope this helps some.
Russ
re: Trainers - Kurt or 1up and why?JimGR
Feb 24, 2003 5:02 AM
Thanks for the info. I use the Spinergy skewers/hubs and I think they've got similar lever arms to the Bontrager - that's what i wanted to know.

Thanks again, Jim
I Looked at the 1upUSA, the Kurt, and chose the MagnetoRide-Fly
Feb 23, 2003 11:55 PM
The 1up and Kurt are both excellent- probably the 2 best you can buy at the "current time". I originally considered the 1up, Kurt, Fluid2, and the Magneto. I eliminated the Kurt 1st because of the cost of $340 Plus S&H- pure and simple. I figured the Fluid was almost as good but can be had for around $220 to $250 online + S&H. So if I was going to go for fluid types I could deal with the slight chance of leakage with the Fluid2 (supposedly, the leakage history of the original Fluid was fixed for the F2). Then, I decided I don't want to deal whatsoever with the possibility, no matter how remote, of a leak. Eliminated the Fluid2. I then thought about spending the $300 (S&H included in this price) for the 1up. It is a beautiful piece of work, has great reviews with the only issue being that it tends to get very, very hot after some hard use. No biggie to me. Added benefit to the 1up was how compact it was folded. The lifetime guaruntee is nice but who knows if 1upUSA will still be in business 10 years from now?? A lot of companies peddle lifetime Gs knowing they'll "go out of business" when it is no longer feasable to repair/replace their product. I'm not saying 1up will do this...just saying it is done all the time by businesses- even legit ones. In the end, I chose the Magneto because I found it for about $170 and that sealed the deal. The Magneto got awesome reviews in Bicycling Mag and Velonews.com. Both basically said it is "almost as good as the Kurt but for a lot less money". In addition, one more factor played into my purchase and that was future prospects. I didn't want to spend a lot of money and 2 years later there is the "next technological wonder" that is leaps ahead of the current stuff. Good luck in your decision and Ride ON!!!!
I Looked at the 1upUSA, the Kurt, and chose the MagnetoJimGR
Feb 24, 2003 5:06 AM
Thanks - I'll check it out. BTW - is Magneto the brand name or the model name for CycleOps, etc.?
I Looked at the 1upUSA, the Kurt, and chose the MagnetoRide-Fly
Feb 24, 2003 2:21 PM
Magneto is new magnetic trainer by CycleOps with variable resistance they call "powerband". It is just like the Fluid 2's resistance but maybe even more road-like. After having spoken to their sales rep, I got the sense that he thought the Magneto had a slightly better road feel than their Fluid 2 but not as much high end power resistance. He said that the Magneto wouldn't do well for a really powerful sprinter. I think if I remember correctly that the F2 had up to 2500 watts resistance and the Magneto had 2000 watts. I'll let you know how it is when I finally get here. Good luck.
I Looked at the 1upUSA, the Kurt, and chose the MagnetoJimGR
Feb 25, 2003 4:55 AM
Thanks , and BTW power sprints are not my strongsuit. - Jim