RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What to look for in inline skates?(17 posts)

What to look for in inline skates?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 23, 2003 11:34 AM
I'm looking at getting a pair of inline skates to just kick around in and use for a bit of cross training and recovery workouts. What should I look at when buying a pair? Anyone have any experience with the K2 Innova?

Thanks,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
re: What to look for in inline skates?irregardless
Feb 23, 2003 11:50 AM
Look for a boot that fits. After fit, the most important features, to me, are the bearings and wheel hardness. ABEC 3 or better bearings are better (although the higher the number, the closer the tolerances and the more maintenance is required). Also, can you self-service the bearings? With some, you can't. Wheel hardness is a factor in how quickly they wear (the lower the more they wear) and how grippy they are, particularly on slick surfaces (the lower, the more grippy). It's a trade off. Harder wheels make you more likely to slip and fall but last longer.
re: What to look for in inline skates?tremblay
Feb 23, 2003 12:53 PM
Being a Canadian, and being a lover of hockey, I've always used the hockey boot inline skates and have found them to be the absolute best for fit and performance. The hockey boot conforms to the foot better, giving a nice overall feel. When I wore the hardshell skates, I found they felt too much like ski boots and were, in short, kinda uncomfortable and clunky feeling. I'm sure others will have a completely different opinion.

As for wheels and bearings, the more you pay, the better they are. Different wheel compounds serve different needs. As in skateboarding, there are soft wheels and hard wheels. Hard wheels wear less, but give a rougher ride and less grip. Soft wheels even out the vibrations and give loads of grip. I've uses both and prefer a slightly soft compound for inline skates.

Best thing for you to do is try on a bunch and find which feels best. It's kinda like buying a bike in that respect.
re: What to look for in inline skates?twobits
Feb 23, 2003 3:53 PM
tremblay is right on also being canadian i would get the hockey style i've got ccm inlines and love 'em. dot.ca you should already know this.....go canucks go!!!
I got these a little while back on sierratradingpost.comLazywriter
Feb 23, 2003 5:21 PM
They are Salomon X Trainers and they were $200 retail. Got them for only $62 if you can believe that. Very very good skate and I think you can still find them on the internet for a good price. Here is a review fom outside online.
http://web.outsideonline.com/magazine/buyguide2001/inline_skates/the_goods.html
Here you go, buy these if they have your sizeLazywriter
Feb 23, 2003 5:29 PM
$99 is a great deal. One site is still selling them for $200.
You're welcome

http://www.inlinewarehouse.com/descpage.html?PCODE=SPMS
Thanks LazyPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 23, 2003 6:20 PM
Thanks for the info Lazy!

I got a $210 credit for an old pair of hockey skates that got replaced. So with my 25% employee discount I have $280 to spend here in Calgary. I'll keep in mind the Salomons are a good skate though. I was looking today where I work and there was a nice one.

Does this means we're friends now? Just kidding! :)

Thanks again,
Nick
Wow! I'm feelin' a little choked up here (nm)bludoggy
Feb 23, 2003 6:29 PM
It's beautiful when two Trolls make up(nm)TREKY
Feb 23, 2003 7:07 PM
Treky,Lazywriter
Feb 23, 2003 7:18 PM
your mother is a whore. LOL
:-) (nm)TREKY
Feb 24, 2003 2:34 PM
How does the sizing compare toPhatMatt
Feb 25, 2003 12:18 PM
I have CCm hockey skates and love them. Do the size there inline boots the same as there Tacks Line.

Thanks
Sorry for the non bike post
Matt
Fit, stiffness, & wheel sizeBergMann
Feb 23, 2003 7:08 PM
Fit is the single most important factor, period. Keep an open mind regarding brands. My wife has Technicas (Athenas) and loves them, I have Rollerblades (Kit Alphas), which fit me better. As for hockey vs. "hard shell" -- most of the 4-wheel recreational skates have a hybrid soft-boot, with rigid elements serving as an exoskeleton, so the fit is much more comfortable than on the old-school hard boots.

Do you already know how to skate reasonably well?
If so you want a skate with Abec 5 bearings and wheels that are at least 78mm. 80 mm wheels are ideal if you really want to skate for an extended periods as a workout.
You'll also want a skate with a reasonably stiff metal "blade" underneath. Avoid the flexy plastic wheel mounts on cheaper skates.
As for wheel hardness, most fitness skates are going to have wheels with a durometer rating around 80A, so don't lose much sleep over that.

If you are just starting out, a skate with smaller wheels and Abec 3 bearings or less will help ease your entry.

Here's a good site that provides more in depth info:
http://web.skatefaq.com:81/buyingguide.html
re: What to look for in inline skates?NikoK
Feb 24, 2003 3:59 AM
I´m surprised anyone didn´t recommend 5-wheeled skates (called long-distance skates or something?) ? If i had another change on buying the skates, i´d definately go for them. I don´t know if my coordination is poor or something, but for me the normal 4-wheelers (Rollerblade, aluminium rail, 78mm/78A) feel a bit unstable under me, average speed approaching 20kmh. And downhills with speeds well above 30kmh are already a bit scary... The longer rail would do wonders for the stability, i believe. I´m not saying i´m falling down every now and then with these short-rail skates, but they begin to feel like wandering a bit at higher (?) speeds.

Niko

Rollerblade Lightnings: http://www.rollerblade.com/rb2002c/html/lightning_tech1.html
re: What to look for in inline skates?roadrider
Feb 24, 2003 4:41 AM
Most of the guys I ride with skate indoors, some outdoor,
also my son skates. Boot fit is very inportant if you
don't want blisters.My son uses a Verducci boot which
is heat mouldable to you foot most of the top boots
are. He has a 5 wheel Attitude frame with 80 mm Hyper
wheels.Go to your local skating rink and talk with
people they can give you a lot of info. Or check out
http://netracing.com
Jeff
Speed skates & the question of $ and spaceBergMann
Feb 24, 2003 7:14 AM
If you look at the initial post, Nick said he wanted a pair of skates to "kick around in." 5-wheel speed skates do offer superior stability and less load per wheel, but they're not what you want if you're skating in crowded public areas like beach boardwalks, promenades, & smaller parks.
If you've got lots of open space, or are already an expert skater with consummate stopping skills, then knock yourself out. Otherwise, the standard 4-wheel sport skate is the best place to start.
If and when you find you've "outgrown" your 4-wheelers, _then_ you can drop two grand on a pair of carbon Verduccis with cnc machined frames and ceramic bearings. In the meantime, enjoy the fact that you can buy a top-of-the line recreational skate for $300, drop $10 on wrist guards, and that's where the investment ends!
Speed skates & the question of $ and spaceroadrider
Feb 24, 2003 12:19 PM
Just giving all the options. You don't have to spend 2 grand .
If you shop around you can find top of line skates for $300
or less.
Every one I know has no problem skating in crowds, and our
rink is a lot smaller than any park.
Jeff