RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Buying a new bike, what is my TCR worth? Opinions?(11 posts)

Buying a new bike, what is my TCR worth? Opinions?yellowpearlz
Feb 22, 2003 6:17 PM
I'm not posting this in a cheap attempt to sell my bike. I am, however, inquiring as to *about* how much I could expect to get for my 2002 TCR 2 with Cane Creek Aerohead Team Ti wheels and an SLR 135 gram saddle (the only two upgrades). The bike comes in at 17.9lbs, and has at the most, 400 miles on it. The reason I ask is, I'm looking at buying a Klein roadie... and am trying to determine what I can comp. from this one (I'm tight on money). Thanks for any and all opinions,
~mdh

more info needed... (nm)YoungRcR
Feb 22, 2003 7:03 PM
How so? (nm)yellowpearlz
Feb 22, 2003 7:22 PM
What did you pay for it? How would you sell it? (nm)CJ838
Feb 22, 2003 7:41 PM
What did you pay for it? How would you sell it? (nm)yellowpearlz
Feb 22, 2003 7:49 PM
I have about >$1500 into it, although I got everything at a discounted price. Total msrp would be over $2000. It has a few hundred miles on it, and is a 9.9 out of 10. I take VERY good care of my bikes. I'd either post an ad on here and/or try e-bay. My reason for selling: I bought it last spring to use on a cross-state ride, and REALLY liked how a nice road bike felt (I'm usually mountain biking). I am a big fan of Kleins, but at the time did not see myself getting into road-riding too muhc, now I am reconsidering, and looking at a Klein.

~mdh
re: Buying a new bike, what is my TCR worth? Opinions?yeah right
Feb 22, 2003 8:48 PM
eh, I'd say you'd be lucky to get maybe $1200 for it. wheels are nice, but you don't get out what you put in, and like cars, once you take it off the lot, used is used. now, I don't know what your situation is with discounts and whatnot (teams, store employee etc) but I'd seriously think about keeping that bike and skipping on the klein. the klein isn't going to ride much better (they're not considered the end all be all of alu bikes, although their finish is excellent) and you stand to loose a lot of money on the deal. just my thoughts.
Thanks for your thoughts, I do partiallyyellowpearlz
Feb 22, 2003 10:58 PM
agree about the Klein not being absolutely amazing in comparison. I'm only torn because I have this "Klein-complex" that makes me lust after them. I realize the TCR is a good bike... perhaps I will just upgrade here and there, instead. Thanks again.

~mdh
Thanks for your thoughts, I do partiallyspuncrazy
Feb 23, 2003 6:12 AM
My buddy just bought one Sat, new (with the stock rims of course)for $999. So stores are starting to reduce the price on the 2002s they have left. That surely will hurt resale of used bikes.
Wondering what ALU bike(s) are considered beter than Klein?nmMrDan
Feb 23, 2003 6:50 AM
Cannondales nmcyclopathic
Feb 23, 2003 12:35 PM
re: Buying a new bike, what is my TCR worth? Opinions?weiwentg
Feb 23, 2003 3:19 PM
Kleins sure are pretty, but I would wager (never rode one) that they are less value for money than the TCRs. much less.
generally, you would look at asking about 50% of what you bought the bike for. for some reason, Cane Creeks aren't particularly popular wheels, so that's another strike against. I think the $1200 figure may very well be a bit high.
I think the only reason to get a new bike would be if this one doesn't fit. it looks like it does, judging purely from the number of spacers you have and your seat height. I would simply upgrade the components. you have a very race-ready machine here. if I were rich enough, then I would certainly not be averse to getting a Klein just because. it's your call in the end, but I wouldn't think you're getting a performance upgrade.
changing the pedals to something higher zoot would be my next step. I usually suggest Speedplays.