RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How do you post many pictures in a page of text ?(11 posts)

How do you post many pictures in a page of text ?PeterRider
Feb 21, 2003 10:03 AM
... here as well as on ebay :-)

Pierre (knowing next to nothing in html)
re: How do you post many pictures in a page of text ?DougSloan
Feb 21, 2003 10:10 AM
The pictures must first be on a server somewhere.

Here's another thread where I showed how:

DougSloan "How about a pic posting class again for us dummies?" 2/5/03 12:52pm
ah, this is what I was fearing...PeterRider
Feb 21, 2003 12:23 PM
... this is just a link to another url :-( This is what I had seen by looking at the source of some pages on ebay.

Anyways, I can do it. Thanks Doug.

Pierre
bewareJS Haiku Shop
Feb 21, 2003 10:15 AM
not everyone reading this board (or ebay auctions) has a fast connection. posting many pics in one post means much longer page load time. posting many pics in many responses (on this board) means those with dial-up connections can open one at a time, selecting which they want to see, and having less load times for each.

...only an observation...
way around slow connection problemDougSloan
Feb 21, 2003 11:39 AM
When mine was slow, I'd right click on "view all" and open in a new window; while that's loading, you can go back and read the other window(s); in the long run, it's sort of faster, as it's loading in the background while you do other things.

Doug
You mean...noveread
Feb 21, 2003 11:39 AM
You mean not everyone has a cable modem?

It's sunny, 50+ deg, no wind (relatively), I haven't ridden in temps over freezing in 3 months, and I'm stuck at work.

This SUCKS. I'm GRUMPY, really, really GRUMPY.

Sorry to dump on your topic!

Noveread
I don't think this is an issuePeterRider
Feb 21, 2003 12:17 PM
with jpg images and good resampling/compressing programs, you can have very small files (ie high compression) and excellent result. I swear by 'convert' under linux. Paintshop pro on a PC gives also good results.

Pierre
you have a limited audienceJS Haiku Shop
Feb 21, 2003 12:28 PM
i'd guesstimate that less than 20% of the posters here are using such programs or taking these steps to compress images pre-post. in fact, some are probably taking them directly from the camera to the board (guilty as charged!).
you have a limited audiencelaffeaux
Feb 21, 2003 12:51 PM
I'd bet that the number of users who have these tools is closer to 90%. The number of users that know they have the tools, know how to use them, and understand when/why to use them is probably closer to 20%. :)
that's close enough for government work nmJS Haiku Shop
Feb 21, 2003 1:26 PM
I refer back to this often...biknben
Feb 21, 2003 1:47 PM
Someone over on MTBR was nice enough to go through the process. I've kept it in my favorites and go to it whenever posting multiple pics. You don't have to have a seperate host site for the images. You can upload them to consumerreview.com and then link to them.

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?13@44.CbWNaEjGkT9^230088@.ef456fc/2