RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Campy Record Group w/ Shimano Pedals? Any Thoughts?(13 posts)

Campy Record Group w/ Shimano Pedals? Any Thoughts?Franchise
Feb 20, 2003 11:14 AM
Everyone,

What do you think about a bike with full Campagnolo Record components, with the new Shimano "Lance" pedal? I just saw one whiz by the other day, and I was a little confused?!
re: Campy Record Group w/ Shimano Pedals? Any Thoughts?The Walrus
Feb 20, 2003 12:12 PM
Maybe the rider was secure enough to do what works best for him, rather than having to define himself by what gruppo he uses ;-)...
..wouldn't the shifting be all screwed up? ;-) nmSpunout
Feb 20, 2003 12:17 PM
re: Campy Record Group w/ Shimano Pedals? Any Thoughts?Franchise
Feb 20, 2003 2:05 PM
Good call!
re: Campy Record Group w/ Shimano Pedals? Any Thoughts?rogue_CT1
Feb 20, 2003 3:26 PM
I couldn't agree more. I don't use Record because I want to show off. I use it because I think it is the best drive train system. (Disclaimer: THAT IS PURELY MY OPINION) But, I also use King headsets, FSA carbon cranks w/chorus large ring and record small ring and record chainring bolts and Look pedals because they work the best for me. I have always mix and matched components to get the most "bang for the buck." It may be heresy but I considered switching to the new Shimano pedals too. Anyone have any experience with them?
Shimano pedals not compatible with 10 speed Record (nm)RJF
Feb 20, 2003 12:20 PM
D'Oh! 9-speed pedals! Maybe with the 2004 model? nmSpunout
Feb 20, 2003 12:27 PM
You think that's confusing ...sacheson
Feb 20, 2003 12:48 PM
... I ride Speedplays with Chorus. That aught'a send you cross-eyed.
You think that's confusing ...Franchise
Feb 20, 2003 2:06 PM
Confusing because I thought that those using Campy were die hard Campy fans, and would never go to the dark side(Shimano).
speaking of pedals..campy pedal sale at GVHyodlebike
Feb 20, 2003 12:56 PM
noticed this while browsing frames:

Chorus Pro-Fit(2001 model) - $89.99
Chorus Pro-Fit Plus- $109.99
Record Pro-Fit Plus - $169.99
Daytona Pro-Fit Plus - $64.99

GVH BIKES

think im gonna stick w/ time, but these look like a good deal...
Use SPD-R with Record 9.AaronL
Feb 20, 2003 1:14 PM
So far, the fashion police have yet to arrest me.

I'll use my SPD-R pedals until they are worn to the nub and replacement parts are no longer available. IMO they are the best pedal system of all time. Too bad they never caught on.

I noticed that Rithchey picked up the SPD-R torch this year and offers two SPD-R pedals. Has anyone seen them and do they use the exact same cleat as the Shimano pedals?
Pros do itTimePedal
Feb 20, 2003 3:31 PM
Johan "the lion king" musseuw rides the spd-sl and quick-step uses campy. In fact Johan uses shimano shoes as well...don't know what is worse, john using shimano shoes and pedals with campy or some of the other pros that ride time frames using look pedals, or look frames using time pedals??!
Pros do itFranchise
Feb 20, 2003 8:24 PM
I think that pros riding Time Frames, using look pedals are probably worse than The Lion of Flanders. Just my opinion.