RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Your opinion on TCR Carbon frame/fork(9 posts)

Your opinion on TCR Carbon frame/fork125lb
Feb 19, 2003 6:02 PM
Upon your recent frame advice, I've tried a calfee tetra, TCR carbon, Litespeed compact ti/carbon, and Merlin. I am leaning towards the TCR because of ride characteristics, weight, and price. I've tried to find more information on their website and search engines for manufacturing methods, but no luck yet.

Any ideas, opinions, or facts about the mass produced Taiwanese carbon frames? I know that the other frames are better in quality and longevity, but I'm looking for any information on the Giants that you might have.
re: Your opinion on TCR Carbon frame/forkDutchy
Feb 19, 2003 8:04 PM
Go here to check out the weight of the frame, very light.
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/listings.asp

I have a TCR1 carbon and it is great, the best thing I could get for the money, smooth over bumps but rock solid for climbing. All my riding mates were very jealous. Why would other manufacturers frames be better quality or last longer? They come with a 10 year warrantee. I would rather have a mass produced frame from the worlds largest bike manufacturer than a hand made one any day. My last bike was a Giant CFR1 with carbon tubes and Alu lugs, it is a very good bike and is still going after 7 years.

Just my thoughts. You won't regret the Giant, check the review section also.

CHEERS.

Mark
re: Your opinion on TCR Carbon frame/fork125lb
Feb 19, 2003 8:51 PM
Yup, I tried out the TCR1 carbon and it was awesome. I liked it the best of all of the carbon or titanium bikes that I tried the past few weeks.

The OCLV felt really dead, the Titanium didn't have the snappy feel of the carbon. The carbon also had the smoothest ride over slow-fast speed flats. The TCR climbed the best of all of the bikes, even the compact titanium bikes. Standing up to sprint hard uphill was best on the carbon tcr too.

I haven't been able to find any info yet on production. The calfee dealer was mentioning the corrosion factor on the calfee lunas, due to the aluminum lugs inside the carbon, although wrapped in some resin, would still deteriorate, which is why it has a shorter (10 year warranty.) The tetra has titanium lugs inside and has a 25 year warranty. He also said the TCR carbons use a lot of fiberglass, or something other than carbon, which give the carbon frame a deader feel. Similar to the construction of the OCLV.

It seems the high-modulus (what Kestrel uses-I think) monocoque carbon utilizes carbon in its greatest potential, mainly because of the tube shaping and strenth in certain areas. I've just seen plenty of bonded carbon come apart.

Just more thoughts...
re: Your opinion on TCR Carbon frame/forkHorace Greeley
Feb 20, 2003 9:21 AM
You said "I've just seen plenty of bonded carbon come apart." Just curious about your experience. I can understand if you like a specific ride quality of a particular carbon frame, but I don't fully understand all the horror stories of lugged carbon frames. I'll be the first to admit I have no firsthand experience that carbon frames by the hundred are actually coming apart to the point where there is conclusive evidence a structural flaw in the carbon lug concept exists. Just a wild guess, but I would think the failure rate of lugged carbon frames is probably no different than other carbon frames or, for that matter, aluminum frames. Warranties don't always tell an accurate story of quality, since companies set warranty terms based on competition, market share, etc., in addition to the concept of "standing behind" their product. Thanks.
carbon bonding or unbonding125lb
Feb 20, 2003 8:10 PM
Since 1993, I've been working in various bike shops, college park bikes, proteus design, bicycle pro shop-all in the Washington DC area. Performance Bikes, Agee's in Richmond, VA and a few here in the SF bay area. I've seen Guerciotti's, Alan (aluminum and carbon-tubed), a whole lot of Trek (the old lugged carbons) and some giant (lugged carbons) all come apart. I've seen steel bike break, even really nice ones (concorde was the only one). I didn't break any of these, nor do I think I would ever be heavy enough or strong enough to break one, but I've seen all of these break. I've also seen cannondales that were snapped. These are all road bikes, not mountain bikes! And no, they weren't crashes, they were failures at the joints-always. They were mostly warrantied. some were not. Even the calfee dealer mentioned corrosion concerns for certain monocoque frames and bonded-like the luna.
I know there are good frames out there, but after seeing these beautiful frames come undone.....yikes. Your opinions are very valuable, thanks again for the input.
re: Your opinion on TCR Carbon frame/forkJowan
Feb 20, 2003 3:05 AM
No info on the manufactoring process, but if interested in the TCR nice to read:

http://www.cyclingnews.com/tech/?id=2002/features/giant10k

http://www.cyclingnews.com/tech/?id=2002/features/giant10k_diary

How about the new Bianchi carbon frame, I believe that's fairly reasonable priced.

Jowan
Bianchi Carbon125lb
Feb 20, 2003 8:15 PM
yes, the shop down the street has the bianchi carbon in the window, and yes, it is nice. yup.
tough to test ride, no one has it built up.
the other shop has tons of tcr carbons built.
they are nice too.
A lot of threads on this bike in these forums, just searchfbg111
Feb 20, 2003 6:58 AM
"TCR Composite" to get them.
re: Your opinion on TCR Carbon frame/forkThorman
Feb 20, 2003 9:56 AM
I just finished building up a TCR Composite. I haven't had her out on the road yet so I can't give a complete review, but so far the time I've spent on the rollers making adjustments has me anticipating that first climb. If you're interested take a look at my build up reports.

Part 1- http://www.scottthor.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=32&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

Part 2- http://www.scottthor.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=35&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

Thorman
http://www.ScottThor.com