RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


10 Speed 2004 Dura Ace(7 posts)

10 Speed 2004 Dura AceDCP
Feb 19, 2003 6:22 AM
LA's web site confirms that DA will be 10 speed. I guess Campy has no need to respond.

While I cannot image the need for more than 10 speeds, I am rather disappointed that the rear cogs arms race seems to be ending.
Sneak preview pics of the rear mech:Spunout
Feb 19, 2003 7:35 AM
That's a good one !!PaulCL
Feb 19, 2003 8:30 AM
Of course, I'm a Campy Record rider. The next step: electronic shifting (again)
I tried to tell you....teoteoteo
Feb 19, 2003 8:49 AM
It was going to be 10...but no all the conspiracy theorists had to say 11, 12,14.

Truthfully the pre-production rear mech on Lance's SI cover bike looks similar to SRAM XO(gasp) and LA has long since returned group to Shimano. The early word from the man was that the levers still needed refinement. Weight and length of the shifters was mentioned as "refinement points" but there may be others things as well.
the race will never endDougSloan
Feb 19, 2003 1:58 PM
I've been biking since the 10 speed days -- yes, 10 speeds total. I thought I was something when I got a six speed freewheel. Woohoo!!! Everyone said that that was enough, and only weak kneed tourists needed more.

Well, then we had 14, 16, 18, 21, 28, 20, and now 30 (Campy 10 triple). Each and every time people say "that's enough."

Funny.

The race won't stop until we have every gear inch covered from 22-150, or continuously variable with that range.

Strangely, I like riding my fixed gear as much as my 30 speed. Go figure.

Doug
the race will never endcapnjim01
Feb 19, 2003 6:35 PM
yeah i'm still riding an old campy with eight speed cassette i guess it's time for the uci (uninformed cycling idiots) to mandate 10 speed max and put an end to this so called race and then the mfg can focus on quality and cheaper prices(ok that part was wishful thinking) Jim
the race will never endRob Sal
Feb 20, 2003 11:23 AM
You could say that about various companies making things I am interested in, particularly digital cameras. Rather than concentrating on 'improving' cameras by upping the resolution one mega pixel at a time, I would be more than happy with my 4MP Olympus but with less chromatic aberations!! But we will see 8-9 MP consumer cams before we see excellent lens construction. Improved numbers sell better than improvements you can't quantify in some way!