RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Trek, LeMond or Bianchi(13 posts)

Trek, LeMond or BianchiJuniorgriff
Feb 18, 2003 9:36 AM
What are everyones opinions on bikes? I am going to be purchasing a bike in the spring and I don't know what to buy. I have been looking at Trek 2200 or 2300, LeMond Buenos Aires or Zurich and a Bianchi Vigorelli. It all depends on how much money I have saved by spring, right now its at $1200, but I just started a second job and I should be able to have around $1800 by spring. The bikes basically have all the same components but the frames are different materials. These are the best bikes offered at the LBS in my area(Milwaukee). Are there other brands of bikes I should consider?
re: Trek, LeMond or BianchiAFrizzledFry
Feb 18, 2003 10:03 AM
i'd consider the Specialized Allez Comp too. its what i ride. got mine for $1500. full Ultegra. http://ww.specialized.com says they're $1750, but i'm sure you could find one for around the same price as i did.

do you already have all of the other gear? shoes? shorts? jerseys? helmet? b/c you'll be buying more than the bike if you're just getting started....
Other GearJuniorgriff
Feb 18, 2003 10:06 AM
I have a Helmet(Giro Pnuemo) and I also have a pair of bib shorts. I have yet to get a jersey and a pair of shoes, but I am constantly looking. Any recommendations on shoes?
Other GearAFrizzledFry
Feb 18, 2003 10:15 AM
being relatively new(since Sept), the only shoes i've used are Titan 2's. they're pretty nice, but i'll probably get a new pair in a year or so- i have wider feet and get a bit of pain. i've been happy with my bike, though it is a size too big... another thing i'm learning alot about is bike fit. i'd recommend getting a pro fit done if you're new, as you may not know until its too late(like me). all in all, i'm happy with my purchases despite the minor problems.
1 vote for the Zurich.Ken of Fresno
Feb 18, 2003 10:05 AM
If you plan on putting in long days on the bike you'll be thankful of the smooth as silk ride of 853pro steel. Most Lemond bikes have a slightly longish top tube. My 55c has a 56.5cm top tube which happens to fit me perfectly. You should ride them all and see which you prefer. Supergo.com has the Zurich for $1299 now.

Best of luck,
Ken
re: Trek, LeMond or Bianchipdg60
Feb 18, 2003 10:23 AM
What Milwaukee area shop??

Wheel & Sprocket by chance??

I like them all but would lean toward the LeMonds or Bianchi. Which is made of Reynolds??
forgot to mention...pdg60
Feb 18, 2003 10:25 AM
you could probably find one or all of these at the W&S state fair sale in April.

Are you familiar with it??
Milwaukee Bike ShopJuniorgriff
Feb 18, 2003 1:32 PM
I have checked Wheel and Sprocket and I am planning on going to the state fair sale, but I have been told that the prices at the sale aren't that much lower than normal prices. I have also looked at Rainbow Jersey. I believe both the Bianchi and the LeMond are made of Reynolds.
Milwaukee Bike Shoppdg60
Feb 18, 2003 2:11 PM
Prices on current year models may be only slightly reduced but if you get there on Thurs or Friday chances are you may find a sweet deal on last year's models, etc.

Rainbow is a good shop also. Have you talked to Jerry? He is usually up for "wheeling and dealing". I've seen some freinds get great deals from him also.

FWIW, I agree that you should go the Reynolds 853 route.

What size frame are you looking at?
Milwaukee Bike Shopabelson
Feb 18, 2003 6:31 PM
You may also want to check on Ben's on the south side if you are interested in the Specialized. You could also probably build up a Gunnar (a nice 853 steel road bike) in that price range which Ben's also sells. I've found the service at Wheel and Sprocket real hit and miss you really have to get the right person.
another vote for the Zurichjimmyihatetoregister
Feb 18, 2003 1:03 PM
I just got one at Supergo, size 55 cm. I test rode one near my home. Its very similar to my old steel Pinarello but the geometry is better & a lot lighter. Lemond (Trek) claims the Zurich frame weighs 3.3 lbs-per an email inquiry by me to them. If that's true its as light as most straight gauge ti frames like the Litespeed Tuscany or a Dean. Yet the price is way lower. Some say the Tuscany is smoother, but this steel bike is pretty darn smooth.
My vote for the Zurich too!fliparagon
Feb 18, 2003 1:06 PM
Owned a 2000 Lemond Zurich with full Ultegra. One of the best bikes I've ever owned - the Reynolds 853 pro tubing is one of the best materials out there and it's hard to believe that you can purchase a full Ultegra equipped bike for under $1800 (If you live in So.Cal, Supergo does have the 2002's for $1299). You may find a few floating around Ebay or Roadbikereview classifieds for a good price too.

Since then, I've upgraded to the Lemond Victoire Titanium but still feel the Zurich is one of the better buys and bikes out there.

As for shoes, try on a pair of Sidi Genius 4's. Really comfortable.

Good luck.
The BA is 98 percent of the Zurich forOldEdScott
Feb 18, 2003 2:08 PM
$400 less. If you're on a budget (even if you're not) it's a helluva deal.

By the way, I believe LeMond has 'downgraded' a couple of the components on the 2003 BA. The rear mech now 105? If you can still get a 2002 at a discounted price (didn't someone have it for $999?) you be hard pressed to beat that anywhere.