RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Now I'm starting to notice eBay "fraud"..(8 posts)

Now I'm starting to notice eBay "fraud"..cydswipe
Feb 16, 2003 7:49 AM
I've used eBay to buy and sell for about 6 years. After reading some of the recent posts concerning ad fraud I started reading descriptions closer. Just this morning I've found a couple of "suspicious" bike ads. I type "oclv" or "56cm" into the search. How many have you found lately? Is this trend starting? There has always been fraud on eBay in some form or another. Are bikes just the latest "hot spot" ?
Not just bikes...DL Lawrence
Feb 16, 2003 7:56 AM
Apparently, this is a new wave a fraud that has spread rapidly on ebay. I also frequent some guitar discussion boards, and there are frequent posts identifying "copycat" auctions for guitars, that look just like MerlinMan's post below. As others have said, bottom line is don't bid on an auction if the user has a "0" feedback, or sunglasses.
It appears that bikes are indeed a hot spot.Matno
Feb 16, 2003 9:26 AM
I found 4 copycat auctions this week... It really bugs. Fortunately, with a little attention, EBay has been pulling the auctions off. Hope these guys go away for good!

Long live positive feedback!
re: Please explain...WCC
Feb 16, 2003 11:06 AM
Im not 100% clear on how these imposter auctions work.
re: Please explain...CJ838
Feb 16, 2003 11:18 AM
It's fairly simple. These imposters may have a similar item for sale. Lets say a Giant OCR frame, but they don't have a picture. They search eBay for the same frame, find one that has good quality photos and steal them for their auction. They may or may not have the actual product. The fact that they are stealing the photos and possibly your description throws up a giant reg flag.

Hope that helps.

CJ
Not all duplicate photos are fraudmdo
Feb 17, 2003 12:33 PM
I sell some on ebay but don't own a digital camera (actually bidding on one on ebay now), so listing items is a tad difficult without images. I usually contact the seller of a closed item & ask to borrow their photo for representation of my item & list it as such in the description. Never had a complaint or problem yet, and I've bought from sellers who do the same...but I never buy from a seller with a low feedback rating.
re: Please explain...Dave Hickey
Feb 16, 2003 11:24 AM
I've seen a couple this week. A seller lists a bike for sale. Another seller(usually overseas) opens an Ebay account and copies the original auction. The auctions look exactly the same except for seller name. The counterfit seller usually has no history. It hurts the original seller of the bike because bidders get confused with two identical listings. Naturally if someone bid and won the counterfit listing, they'd not get a bike.
Hey, that might explain the identical 64cm Fujis...cory
Feb 16, 2003 6:13 PM
I bid on one a week or so ago, but the price went too high. Soon as it sold there was an identical bike using the same picture...