RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I welcome you to look inside my house...........(38 posts)

I welcome you to look inside my house...........african
Feb 14, 2003 11:49 AM
Yeah I have lived here for about 4 months on my own, single dude, single on Valentines day whoooo hooooo!

Anyway thought you might find this entertaining, not the normal junk around the fireplace, note the pump, helmet and shoes all displayed and ready to go in the morning.

Rock on.........
That's not a ashtray on the coffee table is it?js5280
Feb 14, 2003 12:28 PM
Sorry to hear your without a Valentine today. Ever consider doing the online dating thing? Met some interesting women that way and it's easier to find the important qualities (i.e. must not be jealous of my bikes) you're looking for ;-) Much better than the chance bar encounter. My two cents, Happy Valentine's day everyone!
well er it is a .........african
Feb 14, 2003 3:36 PM
not sure really, ok I have a 2 pack a day habbit...only joking. I think it could be used as an ashtray but I think it is more a decorative silver thing.

Cheers
awww, here's a big hug & sloppy kiss ...lonefrontranger
Feb 14, 2003 1:27 PM
... don't tell my SO

Happy Valentine's Day, may your next one be with someone extra special.

:-*
your new assignment...mohair_chair
Feb 14, 2003 1:31 PM
Go down to the paint store this weekend and put some color in your life. I suggest "Hubbard Squash" (SW 0044) from Sherwin-Williams. Get rid of those ugly lamps, too.
your new assignment...african
Feb 14, 2003 1:36 PM
Yeah I need to paint and I need to replace stuff, and I will. But every weekend I find myself on my bike riding. What is hubbard squash? And the lamps you mean the 2 above the fire place? I don't know what to put there...
Get some sconces at Home Depot or Lowes. . .js5280
Feb 14, 2003 1:50 PM
Easy to wire if your current lamps work, inexpensive, these two you could paint to match. Put in a dimmer switch for mood. Think "Fully Functional Babe Lair."

http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS/EN_US/diy_main/pg_diy.jsp?CNTTYPE=NAVIGATION&CNTKEY=market%2fpg_zip_code.jsp&BV_SessionID=@@@@0842036091.1045259453@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccffadchiefmgfhcgelceffdfgidgnk.0&catOID=100011760&DRC=4&source=HOMEPAGE

http://www.lowes.com/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=79511-81378-501920

For additional inspiration, pick up interior design books, watch MTV Cribs, and/or make a gay friend ;-)
thanks.......african
Feb 14, 2003 2:45 PM
for the links, actually some gay dudes used to own the house and they restored it. Just they screwed up the paint in the hallway and when I bought the house those 2 lamp/candle things got put there and the owners took whatever they had there.

Behind those things is a hole and old wire. I hate anything with wire/electric.
Shouldn't have that much to do then. . .js5280
Feb 15, 2003 11:25 AM
assuming the previous owners were somewhat decorating savvy. Wiring is pretty easy provided the wiring already exists and your connecting like items.

Home Depot has their own good book called Home Improvement 1-2-3. I think it covers just about all basic DIY home improvement projects including necessary equipment, steps, tips, and difficulty ratings.

Okay, I don't feel too bad about you being alone for VDay since you made that choice yourself. Sorry to hear things didn't work out.
Every cyclist needs a few of these at home...badhycobob
Feb 14, 2003 2:12 PM
I found some cycling paintings/prints at the Hotter'n Hell Hundred in Witchita Falls, TX and brought two home. They're from an artist named Bobby Dove and available online in original oil, limited edition print, or poster. I got the posters and had them framed and they look great. They get alot of good remarks, from even my non-riding friends. Look for them at http://www.dovesgallery.com I tried to post them all but I'm not that adept at pics yet...
Another onehycobob
Feb 14, 2003 2:15 PM
.
And another onehycobob
Feb 14, 2003 2:16 PM
.
Still another onehycobob
Feb 14, 2003 2:18 PM
.
Ant yet another onehycobob
Feb 14, 2003 2:21 PM
.
Almost donehycobob
Feb 14, 2003 2:47 PM
.
Last onehycobob
Feb 14, 2003 2:48 PM
.
your new assignment...mohair_chair
Feb 14, 2003 3:18 PM
Hubbard Squash is a color I put in my own house. It's a lightish yellow, kind of pastel but not quite. I painted all my trim white so it has a very elegant look. Another color to try is Ecru, which is a faded green, almost pea soup color.

When I bought my house, I knew I wanted to add some color, but there were a lot of colors I would never consider because they were too loud, or too dark, or whatever. I decided to be bold, went against my instincts, and tried out a bunch of colors that really, really worked in my house. I got even bolder after that. Mostly it worked, but I plan on changing one room that doesn't. Get out of the standard antique white and earth tones rut that everybody does and try something different. It's just paint--if you don't like it, you can always redo it.

Paint in the evening, so it doesn't interfere with riding or whatever. Get some worklights and go to work. There is no reason you have to do it during the day.

I'm still looking for lights for my house. It's hard to find good ones that don't cost a fortune. I don't know what style your house is, but it kind of looks like an old 1920s-1940s cottage. Try to find lamps that match the period of your house. A great, great website to look at is http://www.rejuvenation.com/. They have a "Lighting Wizard" that will give you ideas. Try "neoclassic" or "arts & crafts" for style. Their stuff is really high quality, but it is also expensive. You can find similar stuff cheaper.

Is that wine next to the fireplace? That's not a great place for wine storage!!!
coolafrican
Feb 14, 2003 3:32 PM
Hey thanks a million, and you are right the house is a 1932 spanish type. Everything is original in the house, floor windows doors the whole kitchen is just like it was back then.

I just went to Lowes right now and got some cool lights for the fireplace.

I used to be a wine buyer about 7-8 years ago for a 5 star hotel, I do know that the wine should not be there, but I just got lazy doh. I hardly drink anyway, but I will move it.

I am going to paint the hallway and the bath room, the bath room is mostly blue, blue tile, blue floor and white walls, I just need a color for the bath room.

I have other pictures I will put up, they are at work. Seems like this place is great for bike and home advice!!

cheers
Bathroom decorating. Be careful.Kristin
Feb 14, 2003 3:49 PM
Small spaces can be tricky. Using bright or dark colors tends to shrink the space. Here is a link to bathroom decorating tips at BH&G.com. Basically, stick to neutral and light colors, and paint trim and moulding the same color as the walls. I have an interior designer friend who did her very small bathroom in eggshell with a wine/mauve/eggshell/pale green color scheme and it looks really good.

Before you paint, you might choose a color and pattern scheme to follow with at least 4 colors one pattern and one plaid or stripe. Then, use at least two of the colors in each room. This will create a natural flow to your home. But you used to buy wine for a fancy-shmancy hotel...so I'm probably preaching to the choir here. But I knack for decorating and love doing it. So if you ever need to bounce ideas off of someone, feel free to shoot me an email.

http://interiordec.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?site=http%3A%2F%2Fmwl.bhg.com%2Fbhg%2Fstory.jhtml%3Fstoryid%3D%2Ftemplatedata%2Fbhg%2Fhow-to%2Fdata%2F15391.xml%26categoryid%3D%2Ftemplatedata%2Fbhg%2Fcategory%2Fdata%2FDecorating_SmallSpaces.xml
Here's another linkKristin
Feb 14, 2003 4:01 PM
Another link for small space decorating. While I don't agree with everything that BH&G does, they have excellent decorating tips.

http://interiordec.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?site=http%3A%2F%2Fmwl.bhg.com%2Fbhg%2Fcategory.jhtml%3Fcategoryid%3D%2Ftemplatedata%2Fbhg%2Fcategory%2Fdata%2FDecorating_SmallSpaces.xml
thanks.....african
Feb 14, 2003 4:33 PM
you guys have got me fired up. I will be careful in the bathroom. Cheers for the links. When I get to work I will post a pic of the place from the outside. Cheers
and...No_sprint
Feb 14, 2003 1:34 PM
you've got plenty of room for an extra large Eddy or Greg or Lance poster there beside that left side bike.
correctionJS Haiku Shop
Feb 14, 2003 1:37 PM
eddy should go over the fireplace. lance is ok next to the left side bike. greg should be relegated to the potty.
Greg is in the potty @ my shop! ;-) nmrwbadley
Feb 14, 2003 2:38 PM
Pezzos in the potty at minehycobob
Feb 14, 2003 2:56 PM
She's alot prettier than Gregg...

and...african
Feb 14, 2003 1:37 PM
I promise there will be a Lance poster by Monday, thanks for advice.
It don't look that bad.........jeff27
Feb 14, 2003 1:45 PM
and why should you worry about it anyway, you've
only been there 4 mos. Go out and ride!
I'm looking at another roller session tonight
(been a tad snowy around here lately).

Cheers!
I'm in the same boatKristin
Feb 14, 2003 1:47 PM
Screw em. Its just like any other day. Just do what I do, and thank God your not in a bad marraige. If you're patient, you'll find the right one. (Yeah, that's what I keep telling myself.)

Hey, your place has potential, but desprately needs a makeover. Do you own or rent?
I own .......african
Feb 14, 2003 2:39 PM
I bought it. The ony things it needs is a paint job in the hallway that you see, a new bathroom shelving set up and those darn candle things above the fire place. The place is really in top shape inside and out, that is a bad picture, you can't see the wood floors, which are stunning. Of course being a guy there is nothing decorative at all.

Actually I had a girlfriend up till 2 days ago and she wanted to get more serious and I was like no way. So I am on my own, believe you me I rather be on my own right now. To bed early tonight and then early ride!!!
It looks quietmickey-mac
Feb 14, 2003 2:04 PM
Welcome to my world. Kids' toys everywhere, and this is a relatively peaceful day because one of them is gone for the day. Notice the cycling gear sitting near the fireplace ready for the ride that was called off when the little one woke up extra early this morning. (Oh, and two cases of homebrewed English Brown Ale aging in the fireplace.)
Bribing Santa for a return visit? (nm)LactateIntolerant
Feb 14, 2003 2:14 PM
Oh my gosh thats funny, thanks for the laugh....african
Feb 14, 2003 2:41 PM
Ale in the fireplace.........sheez lol.
a familiar sight..dotkaye
Feb 14, 2003 4:32 PM
looks just like my living room, with the exception of the homebrew.. In our house, the kids leave Santa a beer and cookies, not milk and cookies 'Santa gets tired of drinking all that milk, how about giving him some beer instead ?'
Works for me..
Looks fine to me.MR_GRUMPY
Feb 14, 2003 6:59 PM
You probably should have all your bikes on one side of the room, and all of your spare wheels on the other. It helps to balance out the room that way.
My family room. nmdavet
Feb 14, 2003 8:55 PM
Bike Shui? (nm)js5280
Feb 15, 2003 11:05 AM
dude you rule.Tacos Jalisco
Feb 14, 2003 11:31 PM
YES! My pad looks similar, but it's about five feet narower. There's a road bike hanging from one wall (to protect it from Ripley the cat's saddle-ripping antics), and a mountain bike standing on end next to the fridge, as well as a cornucopia of bike pictures and posters and race numbers and patches hanging everywhere on every wall and blue ridge parkway maps and bent creek maps and frame pix and time trial pix and all the stuff I can never afford pasted EVERYWHERE! Oh yeah, and in the middle of it all is a computer. ;) The pump is on the fridge, and all the lycra is in the closet to keep it from Ripley's WOLVERINE attacks. Ok I DO have a girlfriend, but she lives elsewhere, so it still qualifies as a bachelor pad. Rock on!

PS no digital camera due to recent component purchases....wahhhhh!!!!!!!
rainbow six..rufus
Feb 15, 2003 7:10 AM
that looks exactly like one of the rooms in the drug lord's mansion in the rainbow six computer game. without the bikes, though, of course.