RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


what vests do people like?(12 posts)

what vests do people like?velocity
Feb 14, 2003 6:59 AM
I've been hemming and hawing for WAY too long and finally want to get a vest for late winter/early spring. I'm leaning toward an Assos Airblock but, before I shell out the big dollars, what do some of you use and recommend?
Performance?cyclopathic
Feb 14, 2003 7:36 AM
doesn't cost much, works for me
2nd the Performance Illuminute, for wind protectioncory
Feb 14, 2003 8:46 AM
I usually wear a fleece vest with a shell jacket over it this time of year, but when it's warm enough for just a vest over long sleeves, I like the Illuminute. Cheap, light, windproof and the cars give you WIDE berth.
Pearl Izumitarwheel
Feb 14, 2003 7:45 AM
I like the PI Zephyr because of the mesh back, and it fits me well. Some vests, like performance, are solid in back. My back tends to sweat more and doesn't need the wind protection, which is why I like the mesh. For colder weather, I also have a PI Vagabond jacket with removable sleeves. Perfect for cold winter mornings that warm up later.
ditto nmJS Haiku Shop
Feb 14, 2003 7:54 AM
Ditto same goes for Hind. (nm)Uprwstsdr
Feb 14, 2003 9:29 AM
Love my PI Zephyr.look271
Feb 14, 2003 12:01 PM
It is probably 1 of the 2 best cycling clothes purchases that I have made.
re: what vests do people like?WCC
Feb 14, 2003 7:54 AM
i have a Castelli that I love.
Pearl IzumiColnagoFE
Feb 14, 2003 8:01 AM
WOrks fine...nice vented back...relatively cheap.
Pacemohair_chair
Feb 14, 2003 9:31 AM
I forgot to bring a jacket or vest to the Solvang Century one year and bought a vest from one of the vendors there. It is from a company called Pace, and it only cost $25. It has held up a lot better than my PI vest and I also discovered it turns into a huge reflector at night, as good as illuminite. Best $25 I ever spent on bike clothing.
Ground Effects Vespajesse1
Feb 14, 2003 11:49 AM
For about $31 (depending upon the exchange rate)I think this is a pretty nice vest. Only comes in bright yellow, but it is stylish, light, compactable, and while venting moisture out the back, it'll shield you from a frontal barrage of wind. I just today wrote a review on this (see reviews).
Go for the ASSOS.....It's impressive, so thin and light(nm)James
Feb 15, 2003 5:12 PM