RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


MB1, I never see you on the non-cycling board, so I'll ask(18 posts)

MB1, I never see you on the non-cycling board, so I'll askOldEdScott
Feb 13, 2003 11:55 AM
here and you can take it over there to answer: Are you guys worried? From what I read, it looks like they're really battening down the hatches in DC. Sounds like they're pretty sure something's afoot. What's the mood?
Unlike the rest of us, MB1 is probably out riding right now! nm.pnitefly
Feb 13, 2003 12:44 PM
In a word, very nervous. Okay, that's two words....Gregory Taylor
Feb 13, 2003 1:47 PM
I have my evacuation bags packed, our "shelter-in-place" larder stocked, and trusty Duct Tape and plastic sheeting at the ready. I always knew that Duct Tape was the answer for everything. Yes, it appears that folks are taking the warnings very seriously.

I am, however, continuing to commute into town by bike. Metro is a likely target, and I figure that my own two legs are the safest and surest option for getting out of D.C. in case something happens. That is, if they let us out of town. Between this and the Sniper, the last 12 months have been a doozy for D.C.

On a happier note, I had a flock of Robins land in my front yard yesterday. They were cold and pissed off, but I took it as a sign that spring was on the way, despite the fact that the forecast for the weekend is more snow.
Avoid Metromacalu
Feb 14, 2003 6:43 AM
I'm with you Greg: Ride the bike, avoid the train. Though I think the 'threat' is being overhyped to sell the war.

dave
Like Alfred E. Newman said, “What me worry?”MB1
Feb 13, 2003 2:18 PM
Or maybe it was Country Joe and the Fish, "Whoopee; we are all going to die!"

In the meantime you live your life with dignity and just do the best you can. Oh yea, and go for a ride.

Don't believe everything you read in the press or hear on the radio and TV-those people make their living by playing things up and acting like the world is going to end soon so tune in for the latest updates at 11:00.

We stayed in town last weekend and we thought the town was packed with people out enjoying themselves.
I think DC residents may actually be getting USED to it ...Humma Hah
Feb 13, 2003 4:10 PM
I'm not sensing any huge panic around here. My wife works in DC, and is taking a fairly sensible approach to preparedness: don't panic if something happens. Mostly, they plan to stay put, unless otherwise instructed, and just about everyone is showing up at work.

A lot of stuff the "experts" are recommending, like duct tape and plastic to seal windows, is actually pretty silly, something folks who feel an urge to do something are welcome to do if it makes them feel any better. In reality, some houses are leaky and the windows are not the cause, and other houses are already so tight they don't have adequate ventilation. Most of the hazardous airborne stuff that could conceivably be used is unlikely to spread very efficiently, will be carried as particles, and will settle outdoors unless sucked into houses by fans or allowed in by open windows and people tracking it in from outdoors.

The recommendation to have 3 days of food and water stored, radio, flashlights, and batteries on hand, good first aid kit, and an alternate source of light, is pretty standard for Southern California, in case of a major earthquake. This is good preparedness for all sorts of emergencies, even for the prospect of major power or water failures, and ought to be pretty routine everywhere.
I think people pretty much tired of paranoiacyclopathic
Feb 13, 2003 6:46 PM
and propaganda. You can be scared only so much. They'd cried wolf so many times.. why should we believe 'em this time? just because they need to sell something fishy?
You can count on the terrorists trying ...Humma Hah
Feb 13, 2003 6:55 PM
... you can also count on the fact that, out of a nation of 300 million people, they won't get many of us. Overall, they're a small part of the risk of daily life.
yeah butcyclopathic
Feb 13, 2003 7:08 PM
remember da snipper? less then a dozen died, but how depressed everyone was.. I can only imagine how it felt in NYC after 9/11

with respect to "warnings" gvrmt used and misused it so many times.. quite often "warnings" were dictated more by political agenda then by reliable information IMHO
Agreed...OverStuffed
Feb 13, 2003 7:15 PM
Merchants and politicians have mastered the art of creating fear, or exaggerating it, and then claiming to have a solution. In this case, I feel like I'm being told I should be fearful for my life, and the life of the millions of people in the DC metro area. I've lived here 22 years, and I ain't buyin it.
I didn't rush out and buy duct tape and plastic ...Humma Hah
Feb 13, 2003 7:22 PM
... but it's a shame I didn't buy stock in Frost King.
remember him?Humma Hah
Feb 13, 2003 7:20 PM
Heck, we got the alledged sumbitch locked up right here in town!

True, he didn't get very many, but one of them was about a mile off my route home, which I was doing after dark, lit up like a Christmas tree, wearing a reflective yellow jacket. Riding by this one brightly-lit gas station surrounded by dark hiding places really felt ... um ... exposed.

After a few weeks, we'd gas up our cars kinda slumped down and trying to be inconspicuous, looking around to be sure we were aware of our surroundings, cursing the sumbitch under our breath, but we gassed up anyway.

I definitely understand the feeling.
The present warning is pretty interesting...Gregory Taylor
Feb 14, 2003 6:48 AM
I can see where one could conclude that the administration raised the threat level in order to scare the public and help sell a war with Iraq. However, I can also see where the heightened tensions with Iraq could provoke an increased terrorist threat, generating a legitimate ping on the ol' government RADAR screen. The Wall Street Journal ran an interesting piece yesterday that fleshed out some of the intelligence that the Govt. has picked up, generating the current code Orange. I tend to think that this one's the real deal.

As for "crying wolf so many times", I believe that this is only the second time that the threat level has gone to Orange. The first was last September, around the one year anniversary of 9/11.

The thing that makes this current warning different is that (1) two cities were specifically mentioned at potential targets, (2) the specific warning of possible radiological or chemical weapons (this ties in with the intelligence that the Govt. has gathered, per the Wall Street Journal), and (3) the suggestion that the public take steps NOW to prepare for a possible attack. We haven't heard stuff like this since the Cuban Missile Crisis in the 1960's.

So, do you freak out every time the threat level goes up? No, you would be an emotional hostage to CNN. Do you totally ignore it? No, that would be irresponsible. So in the spirit of "It Can't Hurt And It Might Help", we here at Casa Lardbutt have collected our stuff, made some plans, and moved on.
we leave in free country Gregcyclopathic
Feb 14, 2003 7:17 AM
everyone has the right to believe what they want to.

I agree your assessment on helping to sell war on Iraq. If you make one more step you'd see that with 80% Euros and quite a few fellow Americans opposing 200 billion war least Iraq needs to give them a reason. Given current situation they'd guard us for free to avoid war. The threat would only materialize when the first bomb falls on Iraq.

But in my post I didn't as much mean politicians as I meant news networks. CNN used to be the source of information, now it is nothing more then tabloid just like others. They need your attention any way they can get it to make money.

And honestly I am too busy living my life. If I am gonna die I am gonna die anyways. I am not planning to die 100 times a day just because someone flashed diff color for whatever greedy reasons they have. Paranoia strikes deep..

be the bike

CP
Amen on CNN - the "Catastrophe News Network"Gregory Taylor
Feb 14, 2003 7:32 AM
While I suspect that we might disagree on a lot of stuff, I wholeheartedly agree that CNN is amazingly sensationalistic when they report the news.
world looks quite different from the bikecyclopathic
Feb 14, 2003 7:49 AM
and I suspect we both like the way it does 8-)
You got it nailed, buddy. Have a great weekend! (nm)Gregory Taylor
Feb 14, 2003 12:54 PM
Last Sundaymacalu
Feb 14, 2003 6:45 AM
Last Sunday was beautiful. Went for a ride then took the family to the National Zoo. Practically deserted. Kids loved it.