RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Differences between Flite and SLR(8 posts)

Differences between Flite and SLRJohnIV
Feb 12, 2003 8:27 PM
I was curious on the dimension differences between the flite saddle and the new SLR. Is the overall length of the SLR the same as the flite? Is the SLR comfortable if you move around on it? Are the rails as long as a flite saddle? Is the nose narrower? Do the side edges of the nose hit a rider's legs? I've got a flite Trans Am and really like it, but was interested in the SLR, as well as the Flite TT. So if anyone has opinions/comparisons, I would appreciate it. Thanks
re: Differences between Flite and SLRrogue_CT1
Feb 12, 2003 10:48 PM
I have both the Flite Gel Ti and the SLR (135 gram) saddles. As far as the actual dimentions, I don't know. The SLR is a little narrower in the nose and it is not as tall due to the lack of padding. The edges have never caught on my legs. I think the SLR is as comfy or more so than the Flite. You can really adjust positions on the saddle quickly because of the smooth cover. The SLR flexes enough to provide all day comfort. My only complaint with the SLR is that the leather cover seems to be wearing rather quickly along the side of the nose. Luckily I got it for $45 new at Cambria. But then again, I don't want to have to buy a new saddle every 1000 miles. If you decide to try the SLR, make sure you have a good chamois in your shorts at least until you get the saddle broken in.
re: Differences between Flite and SLRGileyD
Feb 13, 2003 4:35 AM
I've ridden Flites pretty much since they came out and love them, done hilly 200k rides with no probs at all.

Recently started running a 165g SLR - it looks seriously painful but the reality is that it is as comfy as my flites. The longest ride I have done on it so far is only 60miles, but I'll have no hesitation using it for centuries and longer. No problems with rubbing etc, though I agree with the post above that the leather is VERY thin and looks as though it will wear quickly.

I am pretty skinny (5'11", 150lbs) and these ultra-minimalist saddles seem to suit me. The same may not be true for bigger guys though. For me it's a good way of saving weight on my bikes.
re: Differences between Flite and SLRrogue_CT1
Feb 13, 2003 9:02 AM
I'm 220 and the SLR suits me fine. Just be patient enough to get it dialed in, then it is very comfy.
angle of rails is different by about 12 degrees...Fez
Feb 13, 2003 5:47 AM
but most seatposts should be able to handle the angle of either.

The length is about the same. The width is a little narrower, especially the area towards the front of the bike. I can see more of the top of my seatpost (viewing from above). The saddle is still new - only a few rides on it, but it is surprisingly comfortable.
re: Differences between Flite and SLRColnagoFE
Feb 13, 2003 6:23 AM
SLR feels shorter...especially when you lay on the saddle in a downhill tuck. Profile is flatter. Edges don't hit my legs, but my thighs are not tree trunks either. All in all I like both saddles. The Flite might have a slight edge on comfort, but is considerably heavier and personally I can't tell that much of a difference comfort-wise once you get them dialed in.
re: Differences between Flite and SLRStarliner
Feb 13, 2003 11:11 AM
My last seat before I moved on to SLRs was a Flite Gel, which I still use on my wet pavement bike (so as to save the SLRs for good weather). I weigh 195lbs. and find the SLR more comfortable overall, that is, I rarely think about my butt on any kind of rides than I would with the Flite Gel, which requires more periodic shifting around in order to combat numbness and saddle fatigue. Bicycle seat comfort is not about plushness; it's about elimination/reduction of discomfort, and the SLR is hard to beat IMO.

The only drawback to the SLR for me was that, due to its pancake flat shape, my inner thigh began rubbing against the velcro strap holding my seat bag to the seatpost, which resulted in a few pairs of shorts getting holes eaten into them until I figured it out. Once I moved the bag to one of my rear shirt pockets, I've had no clothing problems, other than losing a pocket to the bag.
I have both, just about the same. Supergo has dim. nmPaul
Feb 14, 2003 5:21 AM