RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Got KG 461?(11 posts)

Got KG 461?spk
Feb 11, 2003 9:32 PM
I'm thinking of buing a KG 461 (and wishing I had pockets deep enough for a 381i), but don't know a whole lot about the 461. Anyone have experience with one, or have some helpful info?

Soren
re: Got KG 461?S-U-B
Feb 11, 2003 9:40 PM
have you looked at Totalcycling.com? They have the 381i for about 1300. That's where I got mine, and they have good service. Looks like a better price than the 461 is going for at excel. good luck.
re: Got KG 461?spk
Feb 11, 2003 9:49 PM
I just checked -- they don't have a 59 in stock, unfortunately. Thanks for the tip.

Soren
totalcycling...C-40
Feb 12, 2003 9:39 AM
Did you just check the website, or did you send an e-mail request? They may be able to "acquire" other sizes, if requested.

I would also ask about the KG461, might be a lot cheaper if they can get one.

The 461 looks like a good value.

Check out the info at www.lookcycle.com, the euro website.
You should call or e-mailHorace Greeley
Feb 12, 2003 11:57 AM
I agree w/C-40. Mike does not update the website very often regarding size availability, so you should call or e-mail. Just be patient w/e-mail b/c sometimes it takes some time for him to respond.
re: Got KG 461?pa rider
Feb 12, 2003 4:27 PM
Hey Soron. I'm getting my 461 look frame this week and plan on having it biuld by the 21st of february. Mine a size 59cm too. I got it through my lbs and used this website to get the information I needed for sizing.

My lbs also sold me the frame, fork, and integrated cane creek headset for $1399. Check this site out for the frame geometry and see if they have your size in stock.

http://www.competitivecyclist.com/bike_look.htm

Mine took over 6 weeks to get it from LOOK. Hope you have good luck getting the frame.

Emory
Hey Em!look271
Feb 13, 2003 6:11 AM
Welcome to the "Look fold". You won't regret it. What are you going to build it up with? I assume Lee is going to do it for you. You'll have to take it out for a test ride w/ Rabbit & crew. Hopefully the weather will start cooperating soon =)
Mark
Hey Em!pa rider
Feb 13, 2003 9:33 AM
To keep my cost down, I'm using my own wheels. I bought a pair of 2002 ksyriums last winter and plan on getting the mavic campagnola freehub replace on the wheel for $80.

I went with centuar 10 speed, double 52/39 crank, and 29 rear derailer for highend on ten speed cassette. Since it's a 27.2 seatpost I can use my LOOK ergo post.

I'm using my current stem so I can dial in my fit position before getting a better stem. Since it's an aluminuim steer on the fork I'm going to keep about 40 to 50cm pacers until I get the height figured out. I'm getting a deda 215 bar and the same saddle I use now.

I figure the bike should weigh about 17.5 to 18 pounds, which is 1.5 to 2 pounds lighter than my CDale.

Rabbits friend Dave Gessley got a 281 last year and left me ride it. That's why I wanted a look carbon bike over the trek 5200. You saw him with it last year when Borhar was riding it and would leave him have his bike back. Dave told me it rides so different than any other bike.

Hope to see you out some sunday in March. Mike Kuhn is doing some mtb training races on every saturday in march, so I want to do at least two of them. He's having a 12 hour race on memerial day weekend and this is the only time you can ride the course.

I got to ride with Rod Myers this winter mtb riding. He wants me to ride with him on the road. I think he'll still kill me even with a lighter bike (Darn Cat 1 pro racers).

Emory
Hey Em!look271
Feb 13, 2003 11:21 AM
You should show up at World Cup's Sat morning rides, especially if Rod shows up. It gets REAL interesting. (Rod drops almost everyone-I'm happy if I can just keep him in my sights!)
kG 461 or KX Light? Help!!llbr22
Feb 13, 2003 11:26 AM
I want BOTH!!! ok.... not really.. but I'm planning to get one or the other and not a 381 cuz the geometry of the aformentioned bikes will fit me better, and are almost the same. Here's the scenario:

I'm either gonna get the KG 461 and change out the fork for the HSC 4

or

Get the KX Light.

The 461 w/ new fork, should actually be a bit lighter than the KX Light... but I wanna know your guys' opinion on these bikes... if price weren't a factor (which I know it plays a BIG factor: $700 difference), then which one would you get?

Thanks in advance!
L

p.s.
I did mention that the geometry will ALMOST be the same w/ either one.. actually it's the head and seat angles that will differ:

KX
head 73°
seat 72°5

461
head 72°
seat 73°5
kG 461 or KX Light? Help!!look271
Feb 13, 2003 1:59 PM
What type of a rider are you? If you are larger, I would go with the KX-it is specifically designed for "roulleurs", or big guys who ride hard. If you are lighter, the 461 might be a better choice. Either one is a great bike. BTW-if you want the whole enchilada, go to http://www.totalcycling.com
They have 381i's for approx $1300.