RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online Retailers(31 posts)

need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online Retailersgregg
Feb 11, 2003 9:34 AM
I'm coming up with a road cyclist's version of the quick poll that I put up on MTBR yesterday:

Who is your favorite online retailer?

And I wanted some input on who I should put as choices. My initial opinion is:

-123bikes
-Bike Nashbar
-Bikesmart
-Bikes Wholesale
-Cambria Bike
-Cbike
-Colorado Cyclist
-Excel Sports
-JensonUSA
-Performance
-Price Point
-River City Bikes
-Supergo
-TotalCycling
-Webcyclery

Any other biggies that I missed? I think there is another overseas one that I am forgetting. In an effort not to slight anyone (especially our advertising partners), this list tends to be a little long.

Thanks for the help.

-g
www.branfordbike.com - nmMcAndrus
Feb 11, 2003 9:40 AM
The Third Hand/Loose Screws (nm)Gregory Taylor
Feb 11, 2003 9:45 AM
Excel, Colo Cycl, TX Cyclesports, Supergo, TotalCycling (nm)terry b
Feb 11, 2003 9:45 AM
Excel Sports (nm)carpe_podium
Feb 11, 2003 9:45 AM
My vote(s)....funknuggets
Feb 11, 2003 9:47 AM
I have dealt with 7 of the 15 listed, and have had good results with all of them. I think the difference is in customer service when returning or handling issues with orders. I got some of the best service with Supergo.

I did have one bizarre issue with Price Point that eventually got resolved, but overall, most have been acceptable.

best of luck
chris
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online RetailersJS Haiku Shop
Feb 11, 2003 9:48 AM
-123bikes
-Bike Nashbar
-Bikesmart
-Bikes Wholesale
-Cambria Bike
-Cbike
-Colorado Cyclist
-Excel Sports
-JensonUSA
-Lickton's at www.lickbike.com
-Performance
-PeterWhiteCycles.com
-Price Point
-River City Bikes
-Sdeals.com
-SierraTradingPost.com
-Specialized.com
-Supergo
-TotalCycling
-Wallingford Bike Parts at www.wallbike.com (highly recommended)
-Webcyclery
and to answer your other questionJS Haiku Shop
Feb 11, 2003 9:51 AM
excelsports.com
nashbar.com
wallbike.com
performancebike.com
supergo.com
pricepoint.com

honorable mention: colorado cyclist has nice catalogs :)
my favoritesDougSloan
Feb 11, 2003 9:53 AM
My favorites, in order of preference:

*Excel Sports -- great website, absolutely reliable and great service
*Performance -- close to Excel, but not the same selection

If you want something reliably fast, the above 2 are the only way to go.

*Harris (for weird stuff)
*Branford (same)
*Lickbike (same)
*Loose Screws (same)
*Bianchi USA (for Bianchi only things)
*CBike (expensive)
*Colorado (little flakey on filling orders)
*Nashbar (a redundant lower end Performance, mainly)
*World Class Cycles (for Tufo tires)

I swore off Supergo permanently after several repeated problems. Jenson's advertised "sale prices" always seem to be higher than others' regular prices.

Doug
gearlink.com.....................my fav nmafrican
Feb 11, 2003 9:55 AM
REI and Sierra Trading Postno excuses
Feb 11, 2003 10:15 AM
Both include Cycling deals on their sites
Re: Any other biggies that I missed? - Sierra Trading PostKen of Fresno
Feb 11, 2003 10:20 AM
http://www.sierratradingpost.com/

They have recently increased their cycling inventory. I have had nothing but good experiences from them. Their customer service is top notch and return policy is unbeatable. Once, an item was lost in shipping, and they promptly credited my card. Best prices you will find to boot! It would be a shame not to include them.

Ken
Bikejerseys.com & Performancebike.com nmeschelon
Feb 11, 2003 10:32 AM
branfordbike and excel sports [nm]Leroy
Feb 11, 2003 10:33 AM
Cyclocrossworld.com and Schwab Cycles (nm)The Walrus
Feb 11, 2003 11:04 AM
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online Retailersmainframe
Feb 11, 2003 11:24 AM
Excel Sports. Very pleasant, efficient and competitive.
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online Retailerstrout_bum
Feb 11, 2003 11:54 AM
My favorites-Excel, Colorado Cyclist, Branford Bike,
Harris Cyclery, Bike Nashbar
You may want to include GVH and Wrench Science. (nm)Uprwstsdr
Feb 11, 2003 12:02 PM
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online RetailersMVN
Feb 11, 2003 1:04 PM
My favorites are:
Specialized.com (fast)
Colorado Cyclist (fast and good service)
Performance
Lickton's (good prices)
Nashbar
Excel
ProBikeKitUSA (great prices)
Bikejerseys.com (good prices and knowledgeable)
JensonUSA (great service)
Koobi.com (I know they only sell saddles but Phil is a pleasure to deal with, and they make great saddles)
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online RetailersSeth1
Feb 11, 2003 1:24 PM
www.peterwhitecycles.com is worth checking out.
My choices:djg
Feb 11, 2003 2:31 PM
Maestro-uk for Italian bikes.
Parker-international for all sorts of things (though it's been posted recently that they no longer ship to the US)
Sdeals
Excel & Colorado Cyclist have proved to have good service (and occasionally very good sales)
I've also bought a couple of things from Total, Txcyclesport, and Labicicletta--no problems at all--and shorts from O2 bikes (great Progetto prices on ebay) and a helmet from Jenson--again, no problems.
I also buy some stuff from Performance.
I like bicyclebuys.com a lot.....cydswipe
Feb 11, 2003 3:57 PM
They have great customer service. Great prices. I like the fact they have Trek and Nike clothing without the high markup. I also like Nashbar but will not do business with Performance. Peter White has a very entertaining web site with good service and prices.
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online Retailersj-son
Feb 11, 2003 4:14 PM
My faves:
Excel
Colorado Cyclist
Speed Goat (nobody has mentioned them ... decent prices, excellent service ... mostly Mtn but decent selection of road gear).

Jason
River City Bikes12x23
Feb 11, 2003 4:59 PM
in Chattanooga. I recently discovered them and their excellent service, and they're only one day standard ship from me. Very friendly and helpful shop to visit, too.

I've also used Excel with nary a bad experience over the last 7-8 years. And, I've had good luck with Colorado Cylist since about 1989 although I haven't shopped there in a couple of years. I have a pr of GL330 and a pr of Matrix ISO II tubulars they built for me 1992 or 1993 that are still going strong, though they're not everyday wheels.
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online RetailersOverhill
Feb 11, 2003 7:13 PM
Competitive Cyclist. Knowledgable, good prices, good service.
Another vote for peterwhitecycles.com (nm)lorenmb
Feb 11, 2003 9:00 PM
Colorado & Competitive CyclistsGeoCyclist
Feb 11, 2003 11:46 PM
I've been using Colorado Cyclist since 1993 and find they are the best for delivering what you ordered and good shipping service to APO - FPO addresses. Colorado is good for stock items when you know exactly what you want.

I just started using Competitive Cyclist last fall for a new bike and then a couple small parts orders. Competitive is great for product info and customer service (you know you're talking to a cyclist - wrench instead of a phone jockey). Also switched onto the FPO - APO shipping game.

Ride On!
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online Retailerszooog
Feb 12, 2003 2:18 AM
no one has mentioned ProBikeKit.com. A UK based company but Now has a USA site...cheaper shipping
My favs..macalu
Feb 12, 2003 7:01 AM
I like this topic. For mainstream stuff I like Excel, Performance and Nashbar. For hard to find I like Branford and Licktons.
re: need help w/Quick Poll topic: Best Online Retailerstarwheel
Feb 12, 2003 9:29 AM
Here's my review of online retailers I have ordered from:

excelsports.com has the best selection, good prices and fast shipping
coloradocyclist.com has great selection and catalogues, average prices and shipping
performancebike.com has average selection, good prices, and fast shipping (if you are a team member)
aebike.com has perhaps the best prices, wide selection, average shipping
branfordbike.com has a wide selection of hard-to-find items, average prices and slow shipping (in my experience)

Don't forget velowear.com, the on-line site for Voler. Great clothes at great prices with great service
thnx for the input, new Quick Poll going up now (nm)gregg
Feb 12, 2003 9:47 AM