RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Take a look at my new Look!(16 posts)

Take a look at my new Look!Cheezhead
Feb 11, 2003 7:39 AM
Hey all,
Building up a 2003 Look Kg381i. It's basically a settlement bike from getting hit by a car (aka going all out on this one!). Right now it has Deda Newton bar and stem, USE Alien seatpost, and Selle Italia SLR saddle. Planning to build it up with DuraAce and either Ksyriums or Velomax wheels. What do y'all think?
One more!Cheezhead
Feb 11, 2003 7:41 AM
One more!AFrizzledFry
Feb 11, 2003 8:16 AM
i am very jealous!!! beautiful!!! what are you building it up with? gruppo? wheels?
Stealthy! You need Record and Eurus, more black!! nmSpunout
Feb 11, 2003 7:47 AM
Look out!jaybird
Feb 11, 2003 8:03 AM
Wow that is a cool paint job. That is a lot neater than the 02 "barbeque" version.

As the proud owner of a 9 month old 381i (Kelme), I would like to welcome you to the family. If you want my opinion, nothing would look better on that carbon frame than some snazzy Record carbon levers and a carbon rear der. Since we are throwing money around like it is confetti, why dont we go for the new Record carbon crank... The Kysriums will look hot!

How did you know where to cut your steerer tube? You are just shy of the max allowable for that fork, so I guess you have some room to work yet.

Very Nice!
Look out!Cheezhead
Feb 11, 2003 8:24 AM
Thank guys.

I've always been a Shimano type of guy, so I don't know if I can dig the Record, but we'll see. As far as cranks, I don't think I could spend $800 for the Record carbons just on principle, so I'm thinking FSA Team Issue. Yeah, right now the steerer tube is cut down to allow the max number of spacers, and from test riding another Look, I know that I can take out at least 1 cm. of spacers from that.
Look out!jaybird
Feb 11, 2003 8:54 AM
I don't understand the $800 crank thing either, but then again my wife doesn't understand bikes in general that cost more than $500.

Are you from WI? I grew up in LaCrosse. Go Packers!
Nice Look, I just built up...Horace Greeley
Feb 11, 2003 8:37 AM
a new 2002 KG381i Look w/ full DA (red/polished nude carbon), Newton bar/stem, Alien post, SLR saddle, etc. The 2003 paint scheme looks great! FWIW, my wheels are Velomax Ascents, which I transferred from my other bike. They look great, but so do the K's, if that's your preference. Right now I'm waiting for the snow/roads to clear enough that I'm willing to take her outside. I have that new bike syndrome, and don't want to ding it up with salt and sand on its maiden voyage. The wait is killing me though. Best of luck on your new ride!
Well,djg
Feb 11, 2003 9:39 AM
I think that the combination of matt black and carbon weave looks pretty darn sharp.

Had good luck with Ks myself, but no experience with Velomax, which some folks seem to like. Enjoy.
nice looking ridezooog
Feb 11, 2003 9:41 AM
When you finally ge it on the road lets u kniw how you like the Kg381i. I am seriously thinking about this bike or another Look. Would like to hear your and others opinion on the ride of their carbon dream machines. Have fun riding her.
re: Take a look at my new Look!pa rider
Feb 11, 2003 10:12 AM
How long did it take for you to get your frame? I'm getting a LOOK 461 by monday. I been waiting since mid december, but they closed down for the holidays.

I hear they're (LOOK) is backed logged on the 381 and 386 frames. Can't wait to get it and go for that long ride, since now I'm riding a CDALE bike.

Like the other posters said maybe Campagnola would look better on your bike. I'm putting centaur and my kysrium wheels on my 461 to keep my cost down to $2500. Next time I'll have to get a 381 and save some more money to purchase it.

Hope you get it build by march so you get to ride it soon.

Emory
totalcycling has them along with Excel. nmPaul
Feb 11, 2003 10:37 AM
Supergo has Weyless carbon cranks that are cheaper..cydswipe
Feb 11, 2003 5:33 PM
...I can't afford carbon anything. That being said, I am in lust for that black matte Look!!
Here's what she will look likeS-U-B
Feb 11, 2003 9:43 PM
This is my 381i CSC colors with DA, Deda bar/stem, Alien post, Flight TT saddle, dont like the looks of the SLR saddle but most seem to love it. The K's look good, but they have been replaced by some zipp 404's. No current picture available. enjoy
Sweet!! I have a 386 (yellow/black). In the market for a 381i nmPaul
Feb 12, 2003 3:44 AM
re: Take a look at my new Look!Mudman
Feb 12, 2003 10:33 AM
Colorado cyclist sells black carbon fiber "look" bar tape that would look great on the frame. Nice ride!