RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help me decide between 3 trainers...(10 posts)

Help me decide between 3 trainers...Ride-Fly
Feb 7, 2003 7:17 PM
I am looking at the CyOps Fluid 2, CyOps Magneto, and the Performance travel Trac AF500 Fluid w/ Tension control. From reading the reviews, the Fluid 2 seems a lot like the Kurt Kinetic (although the Kurt is probably a notch above), and the Performance unit is an exact duplicate of the Elite Volare Fluid w/ tension adjust. The Magneto is the most intrigueing to me because it has the "power band" auto tension feature but without the possible downside of fluid leakage. The question I have is is it better to have an auto tension feature of the CyOps units, or a controllable unit like the AF500. The auto unit gets harder the faster the RPM but that is counterintuitive WRT to climbing. How do you simulate climb gearing in the auto units, by using a higher gear??? How realistic does that feel??
BTW, I am not interested in the Kurt because of the $300+ price. I've seen the Fluid 2 for as low as $220 and the Magneto for $170 online. The AF500 is on sale for $160 while the exact copy Volare w/ adjust is about $300 too. Cost, performance, reliability are all factors. Thanks and Ride ON!!
re: Help me decide between 3 trainers...CJ838
Feb 7, 2003 7:22 PM
I had a CycleOps Magneto, didn't like it. It was way to loud, very distracting. It's bad enough we have to be inside and use these things to keep up on the training, but too much noise becomes the last straw for me.

I have that exact Performance model, and love it. It works very well, and is a lot quiter. I bought mine for $149, but $160 is reasonabale. I would get it.

CJ
Thanks CJRide-Fly
Feb 7, 2003 7:57 PM
it is always great to hear firsthand experience. Besides the noise, how did the magneto work?? Is it similar to your AF500?? How/when did you get the AF500 for $150?? Thanks again!!!
re: Help me decide between 3 trainers...rogue_CT1
Feb 7, 2003 8:45 PM
I would recommend the CyOps 2. It is very quiet and the resistance is good. They reportedly have the leakage problem fixed in the new fluid 2. I got mine off of e-bay using buy it now for $189. That included a video and the riser block for the front wheel. I got it from 02 sports. Their shipping is very slow, but the price is pretty good.
Great Price...Do they have a Website?? Thanks. NFMRide-Fly
Feb 7, 2003 11:30 PM
NM
Spend the extra $$ and get the Kurt....SS_MB-7
Feb 8, 2003 5:46 AM
I used a Tacx Cycleforce Swing mag trainer with 7 resistance levels for ~1.5 months. But, I had to sell it. It had 3 issues I didn't like.

First and foremost, it resonated and sent vibrations through my frame into my saddle and handlebar. After about 1 hr, my hands and crotch would become numb....not good when you are trying to do a 3 hr endurance ride. Second, it wasn't very solid. During out of the saddle sprints, I could easily flex the unit and it felt very uncomfortable. Also, during in-the-saddle rides, I could see the unit's arms flexing up-n-down. Lastly, I didn't like the resistance.

I sold the Tacx and bought a Kurt (road version). I was trying to decide between the Kurt and 1Up....both excellent trainers....just read the reviews.

I had originally considered the CycleOps Fluid 2 prior to the Tacx, but after reading the reviews here and at MTBR.com, I didn't want to chance a fluid leak. The CycleOps has a shaft that penetrates the fluid reservoir and is more likely to leak vs the Kurt which is completely sealed.

In the end, I spent the extra money and bought the Kurt. I've logged ~25 hrs so far (2.5 weeks) and have been very impressed with it. It's smooth, solid and silent (relatively speaking). I also prefer the exponential resistance change with speed/cadence which better approximates a real-world ride vs that of the mag trainers.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Thanks for the input Mike B., but...Ride-Fly
Feb 8, 2003 3:43 PM
it seems that the Kurt with the larger (road) flywheel will run me about $325-$340. I might be able to get the CO Fluid 2 for less than $200, and at the most $220. The Kurt is no doubt the better engineered system but I can't justify the extra $105 to $150. I may even opt for the Magneto to bypass the whole fluid issue, as the noise issue is not that big a factor for me. Thanks again Mike. Ride ON!!!
Agreed, but...SS_MB-7
Feb 9, 2003 5:05 AM
I agree the CycleOps Fluid 2 can be had for much cheaper than the Kurt (the standard Kurt is ~$275 at a couple mailorder places, or $300 direct from Kurt), but the reliability of the CycleOps is something I was not willing to chance. If you are going to go fluid, go Kurt.

As you mentioned, Mags avoid fluid issues all together and are generally cheaper too....they just don't feel as nice as fluids.

I'm riding 5-6 days/week on my trainer [I'm located in frigid, windy, snowy Ottawa, ON, Canada where outdoor riding is not desirable right now, but I need to log miles in preparation for a 24 hr solo MTB race in June] so I needed something reliable, smooth, stable, etc. The Kurt fit perfectly.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
re: Help me decide between 3 trainers...RickMTB
Feb 9, 2003 12:13 PM
I just "voted with my dollars" and got the Performance fluid model with adjustment (and a front wheel block). I didn't want to spend more (in case I really hated using a trainer) and I have had good luck with every Performance-branded product I have purchased. My choice was between the Nashbar fluid and the Performance... and since I have heard good things about the Performance trainer I spent the few extra bucks to get that one.

I bought mine for $159 through their web site. I was going to buy the AF300 model (w/o adjustment) since it seemed that the previous week they had it going for $129 but they upped its price to $169 so I got their AF500 model for ten dollars less than the AF300 model... go figure...
I just "voted with my dollars" and got the Performance fluid model with adjustment (and a front wheel block). I didn't want to spend more (in case I really hated using a trainer) and I have had good luck with every Performance-branded product I have purchased. My choice was between the Nashbar fluid and the Performance... and since I have heard good things about the Performance trainer I spent the few extra bucks to get that one. I bought mine for $159 through their web site. I was going to buy the AF300 model (w/o adjustment) since it seemed that the previous week they had it going for $129 but they upped its price to $169 so I got their AF500 model for ten dollars less than the AF300 model... go figure...RickMTB
Feb 9, 2003 12:13 PM
approved