RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Another Poll, anyone?(64 posts)

Another Poll, anyone?4bykn
Feb 6, 2003 4:06 PM
I've often thought that this forum is generally populated by intelligent and/or well-educated people, which leads me to this query:
What level of education has any of us achieved?
Myself, I am but a high school graduate, with an aborted attempt at college(damned cheap beer available in college towns).
I done graydeated the thurd grade!!!Akirasho
Feb 6, 2003 4:19 PM
... which seems to be allz I needz...

Be the bike.
Too FarRJF
Feb 6, 2003 5:08 PM
I think I stopped learning after the third grade, but somehow got through 4 years of undergrad and 3 years of law school.
Another lawyer here, too. (Please don't hate me...) (nm)jtolleson
Feb 6, 2003 5:19 PM
B.S. / J.D. (nm)DougSloan
Feb 6, 2003 7:31 PM
Don't all JDs involve "BS" ...????? (nm) :)jtolleson
Feb 6, 2003 8:24 PM
but mine's specialDougSloan
Feb 7, 2003 6:51 AM
Of course. But I have a B.S. in philosophy. Could it be any worse than that? ;-)

Doug

P.S. If I didn't get into law school, I was going to get a doctorate in philosphy and teach at a college. I blew it. What a life that would have been.
A BS in BS? (nm)53T
Feb 28, 2003 4:53 PM
Same here. Why so many lawyers?elviento
Feb 7, 2003 11:31 AM
BA,JD.
cause we're bored at work? nmDougSloan
Feb 7, 2003 11:41 AM
Higher education is not necessarily indicative of . . .ms
Feb 6, 2003 7:45 PM
intelligence or ability. I am lawyer who has spent most of the last 20 years involved in business litigation. I have read thousands documents generated by corporate employees --from people who have doctorates to people with little education, from CEOs to people who work in entry level jobs. Although there is some correlation between the education of the author and the quality of the written work that I have reviewed, I never cease to be amazed by the poorly written and/or poorly reasoned written work produced by some highly educated and/or highly compensated people compared against the solid work produced by people with much less education or status. I would be curious to see how the educational background of various people on this forum compares with the quality of their respective posts. My guess is that that there is little relationship between education and quality.
I agreeDougSloan
Feb 6, 2003 8:09 PM
I have had associates work for me who could not write a sentence with a subject and verb in it. I had to teach them English 101. Amazing.

My grandfather, with an 8th grade education, could beat anyone at Scrabble and run circles around most people in any political or historical argument. He read lots.

Doug
Absolutely.Ken of Fresno
Feb 6, 2003 8:40 PM
My father often amazes me with arcane bits of knowledge that he has embedded in his mind over the years. Among my favorites are "Son, did you realize that the moon is approximately 215,000 miles from the earth at vernal equinox?" and "Do you know that the piston firing order of a 1963 Olds Eighty Eight is 2,5,8,1,3,6,5,7" (or whatever). He sold that car over 20 years ago. He's fluent in Engish, Spanish, and French, and can do some Portuguese and Japanese. This from a man that only saw one week of high school.
Higher education is not necessarily indicative of . . .tremblay
Feb 6, 2003 8:50 PM
I am willing to bet the person who earned a degree in political science or philosophy is more likely to be a better writer, and a more rational thinker, than someone who majored in a subject area where there was no need to write long term papers, and little need to develop strong arguments based on opinions, theory, and research. This is why law students are good writers. It could also be that some people are only capable of producing essays, and simply lack the ability to engage in an argument in the real world. Writing something on paper is much more difficult than a spontaneous argument.

I think all people should take a logic class at the school they are attending. The logic courses my university offers are very difficult, pretty much identical to math, but were quite rewarding in the long run. I would say a large proportion of students and graduates have never studied logic, and as a result, lack the basic skills necessary to develop valid and sound arguments. It's quite likely they cannot even differentiate between deduction and induction, not to mention validity and invalidity.
no kiddingcollinsc
Feb 6, 2003 8:59 PM
Im a college student. A computer science major at that. I've been through just about every high level logic class and digital computation class the school offers, not to mention a handful of philosophy classes.

I run into so many students who just cant hold a reasonable discussion. Granted my experience with the subject is overkill, but students should be required to take some introductory philosophy classes. I dont see how they can communicate without these skills.

Then again, a girl sitting behind me in my physics lab today couldnt figure out how to spell "Styrofoam"
Poli Sci?noveread
Feb 7, 2003 7:09 AM
Heya, I gots me a poli-sci degree, guez me a smurt ones.

Too badz it don't meen morz moneys...

Noveread
Just finished my MAKen of Fresno
Feb 6, 2003 7:53 PM
Wooo Hoooooo!
BA, JDLeroy
Feb 7, 2003 12:14 AM
I agree that writing skill isn't always related to education, even though it ought to be. The ceo of our nonprofit, who claims to be an attorney, can't string three words together, and will use ten to say what he could in two. It's painful. I believe writing skill has gone down the tubes along with the public school system and the rise of quickie e-mail communication. Degrees aren't always an indication of intelligence level, either. An old Randy Newman song allows as how it's possible to "go in dumb and out dumb, too."
re: Another Poll, anyone?abelson
Feb 7, 2003 5:40 AM
B.S., J.D. in May -- The world can always use another lawyer.
high school dropout, G.E.D., technical A.A.S., zero B*lls*it. nmJS Haiku Shop
Feb 7, 2003 5:43 AM
Hey, me tooKristin
Feb 7, 2003 6:44 AM
Highschool is just another word for rejection and torture. Unfortunately, I was selected to be that ONE kid in the whole class who was tormented. By the time I was 16, I'd had it and quit. Later got my GED and tried my hand a college. But by my Junior year I still wasn't settled into a major and the loans were mounting. So I left. Thank God for computers. Tech support was a natural fit for me.
wow, we really must be sisters in spiritlonefrontranger
Feb 7, 2003 9:12 AM
I made it through high school... barely. I didn't hand in a single page of homework after fourth grade. I only graduated because the guidance counselor fiddled my grades for me after I got wild high scores on my SAT/ACTs. He was expecting the colleges to beat down my door. They did. I ignored them because high school entirely ruined the learning experience for me.

I am now an administrative assistant to an IT department. I have an uneven smattering of tech support skills (worked as a hardware support person for a friend in construction doing network cabling, PC installs, etc.).

What I'd really like to do for a living is coach full-time, but since I'm a lowly Cat III with no household name, and worse yet, female, I can't make a living at it. Sometimes this factor really gets to me. Someone offered JV roughly what I currently earn as an admin. for coaching, and was willing to pay him a year in advance; this was right after he quit the Tour and returned to Denver. JV wasn't entirely certain he wanted to coach or could even be good at it (in fact he hired Hampsten to coach his 5280 juniors' squad)... Now, I don't begrudge him the chance or the cash at all, and I think with his scientific mind he'd be great at it, but daggone!
re: Another Poll, anyone?MR_GRUMPY
Feb 7, 2003 5:53 AM
I spent so many years at college, I was ready to start drawing a salery. I finally got a high draft number, so it was OK to graduate.
I felt a little like Bluto, in "Animal House"
thats Senator Blutarskythatsmybush
Feb 7, 2003 6:03 AM
tossed out of college and still went on to great things. Myself, I'm yammering in Grad School
re: Another Poll, anyone?UPrider
Feb 7, 2003 6:00 AM
I am going to graduating in May with a B.S. in Physiology and I am currently applying to Medical School.
Indiana University/Teacher > Lawyer (soon after teaching) (NM)wookieontherun
Feb 7, 2003 6:03 AM
re: Another Poll, anyone?toomanybikes
Feb 7, 2003 6:32 AM
Bachelor of Commerce (5 years)
Masters (2 years)

Chartered Accountant (CPA - 3 years of articling)

Bankruptcy Trustee licence ( another 3 years of articling)

Finally done - Thank G#D!
Education?noveread
Feb 7, 2003 7:03 AM
hmm, not sure, but I did go to college (UW-Madison) for 4yrs and got a piece of paper out of it. There were some bonus stuff on the side, but that's not what this post is about anyway...

Noveread
Education?raptorUW
Feb 7, 2003 7:19 PM
No one ever said that a Madison education was based in the classroom!

in all seriousness, if you came out of the PoliSci dept here w/o some sort of enlightment, i'd say you picked the wrong classes.

Ever have Downs for a prof? I'm finding his class (Criminal Law) to be one of the best of my career here in Madison.
BS, then Med school, then lifePaulCL
Feb 7, 2003 7:10 AM
But I never finished medical school. I was into my third year of med school, of four, and took a leave of abscence. Burnout. Fried. Exhausted. I just didn't like it at all. 19 years in school. That was enough.

So, I stayed absent. I joined an investment banking firm, did OK, then moved to a full service investment brokerage firm. I've been a financial advisor for 14 years now. Of course, I'm no dummy - I married one of my fellow med students. She practices voodoo medicine. ;) Paul
EducationKeeponTrekkin
Feb 7, 2003 7:11 AM
A lot of science education and a BA and an MBA
B.S. in Agronomy (nm)BikinCO
Feb 7, 2003 7:11 AM
.
Too many degreesDale Brigham
Feb 7, 2003 7:33 AM
B.S. (Biology), M.S. (Nutrition/Exercise Science), and Ph.D. (Nutrition).

Having a father with a Ph.D. sort of compelled two out of four of us kids in the family to go for the trifecta (B.S., M.S., Ph.D.), myself and my (late) younger sister. My older sister and my brother have somehow managed to trudge through life with only one degree between the two of them. Of course, they are much more prosperous than my younger sis and I have ever been. My dad warned us that would be the case: "A Ph.D. is a license to be paid less than you are worth."

My grandmother (my dad's mom) had a witty way of expressing the difference between "doctors" -- the Ph.D. kind vs. the M.D. kind: "My son is a doctor, but not the kind that can do you any good."

A fun and happy weekend to all!

Dale
Too many degreesjefajones
Feb 7, 2003 9:28 AM
That's funny, my wife has a Ph.D but I tell her that I'm not calling her Dr. since she can't write me a prescription.

Personally, it's BA,MS,JD for me.
BS-PoliSci Indiana State 1975 nmIamhoosier
Feb 7, 2003 7:51 AM
B.A./M.A. in literaturevelocity
Feb 7, 2003 7:57 AM
Then came to my senses and decided, rather than turn into a dried sour grape, not to pursue a Ph.D.
I seem to be going downhill.djg
Feb 7, 2003 8:05 AM
Ph.D. first, then J.D. At this rate I'll be in traffic school sometime next year or so.
BS...going for MS. (nm)jtferraro
Feb 7, 2003 8:17 AM
B Sc. Chem Eng, Biochem grad school dropout nmContinental
Feb 7, 2003 8:25 AM
BA, JD nmvindicator
Feb 7, 2003 8:49 AM
GED, PhD/English ... don't ask. nmOldEdScott
Feb 7, 2003 8:51 AM
re: Another Poll, anyone?Stepan
Feb 7, 2003 9:16 AM
BA MA Physics
BS Biology, MT (ASCP) certified. (nm)look271
Feb 7, 2003 9:18 AM
BA & JD (nm)outofthesaddle
Feb 7, 2003 9:44 AM
soon to be a high school grad.. then off to penn state -nmbenja15
Feb 7, 2003 9:57 AM
BA, MBA ... not that it mattersMaartin
Feb 7, 2003 10:01 AM
It is weird that in Europe most roadbikers do not have higher degrees (and usually faster) I think it is because they have more free time to bike
B.A., M.A., Ph.D. in Psychology...nmPsyDoc
Feb 7, 2003 10:18 AM
nm
BA, Geography (nm)laffeaux
Feb 7, 2003 10:34 AM
BA, JD (nm)Turtleherder
Feb 7, 2003 10:49 AM
Dumb Guy, Dumb Posts:)-Jon Billheimer
Feb 7, 2003 11:43 AM
Don't know what this says about the quality of my posts, but I have 3 years university (Honours, btw), plus various and assorted business and other university courses I picked up from time to time for the fun of it! Add to this, I am also a CEO. Now y'all know why the world around you is in such bad shape!
I know just about everything : Pthe other Tim
Feb 7, 2003 12:23 PM
BS EE, MS Physics, PhD Materials Science.
Gotta get one of those JDs, though - I like being admitted to bars.
You don't need a JD to get admitted to bars...Brooks
Feb 7, 2003 3:04 PM
I think I would like the apprentice route myself. Years of practical experience without law school! Pour me another one, barkeep!
U. of Wisconsin , B.S. Mathematics, 1979, with..hrv
Feb 7, 2003 12:32 PM
minors in beer, brats, and foosball!

hrv
BBA; PharmDkatie1
Feb 7, 2003 12:37 PM
How is that for an odd combo?

PharmD = Doctor of Pharmacy.
B.S. Biology/M.S. Clinical MicrobiologyNater
Feb 7, 2003 12:51 PM
nm
B.S. Recombinant Genetics, EMT-I (nm)_Helix_
Feb 7, 2003 1:06 PM
re: Another Poll, anyone?Barton
Feb 7, 2003 1:20 PM
BSEE, MBA
BA. MLA (that's Landscape Architecture). nmBrooks
Feb 7, 2003 3:06 PM
edjumacatedfunknuggets
Feb 7, 2003 3:33 PM
MBA, BS
BS in Speech Communications. -nmcydswipe
Feb 7, 2003 3:36 PM
Isn't that redundant? (nm)katie1
Feb 7, 2003 4:20 PM
B.A. Psych. (December 2000), M.Ed. Counseling (August 2003)MVN
Feb 7, 2003 4:17 PM
Too many degrees and initials.Helix
Feb 7, 2003 8:27 PM
AB, MS, PhD, MD, FRCP(C), FAAP, FACMG. (For completeness I really should get a JD sometime).
PhD in biologyspringbok
Feb 8, 2003 12:41 PM
But in this career, a PhD is kinda required. If I didn't have to get it, I sure wouldn't have bothered. And previous posts about "what does it matter" are right on: I certainly know plenty of "well educated" people who decided not to pursue college, and plenty of people with PhDs who are complete dolts.

At least the pesky degree is behind me now so I can spend more time on my bike. :-)