RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


the Ciocc arrived(39 posts)

the Ciocc arrivedThe Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 3:20 PM
here's a few pics
pic 2The Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 3:21 PM
pic 3The Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 3:21 PM
pic 4The Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 3:22 PM
re: the Ciocc arrivedThe Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 3:23 PM
pic 6The Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 3:25 PM
pic 7The Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 3:26 PM
sweet ride - enjoy it (nm)Iwannapodiumgirl
Feb 6, 2003 3:31 PM
re: the Ciocc arrivedRJF
Feb 6, 2003 3:29 PM
Nice! She sure is pretty. Where'd you order her from? Maestro?
re: the Ciocc arrivedThe Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 5:12 PM
ya, i got her from Maestro then had them ship it to GVH for the build. about 10 weeks total.
re: the Ciocc arrivedThe Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 5:46 PM
ya, i got her from Maestro then had them ship it to GVH for the build. about 10 weeks total.
that's it for now...The Human G-Nome
Feb 6, 2003 3:30 PM
i've ridden it all of 7 miles. the first impression is that it is infinitely more comfortable then my columbus thron steel bike. of course, this has just as much to do with the Eurus, stays, etc. as anything else. ummm... it's light. well it better be since it's U2. i really like the longer wheelbase as well. it feels VERY stable thus far. i'll give the real review on saturday evening after my 85 mile ride.
Once again I hear the call of bike lust.MB1
Feb 6, 2003 3:51 PM
Sure looks pretty. Now if it were mine I'd take it in the dirt right away otherwise I would be too tempted to baby it.

Give us a review after you get the cost of that beauty down to a buck a mile-any sooner and you are still on your honeymoon (and we all know that the honeymoon is going to be great).
Don't forget pouring 30-weight motor oil over it first! LOL -nmTig
Feb 6, 2003 4:54 PM
You're acutally going to RIDE that?WrigleyRoadie
Feb 6, 2003 3:33 PM
I'd frame it, or donate to the Smithsonian.

Bella Bici!
Joanie Loves Ciocc...Akirasho
Feb 6, 2003 3:53 PM
... impressive...

Be the bike.
Schwing! n.m.koala
Feb 6, 2003 3:57 PM
GWAH-juss DAH-link. Congrats! (nm)jtolleson
Feb 6, 2003 5:21 PM
how bout hookin us up with a high-res full on catalog shot? nmcollinsc
Feb 6, 2003 7:49 PM
how bout hookin us up with a high-res full on catalog shot? nmThe Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 6:31 AM
sure, i'll try to get around to that. the forum only wants you posting 600pixel width shots so i'm kinda limited.
she is a sweeeeet little thing!!!!!-nmzooog
Feb 7, 2003 2:18 AM
shur is purdy! hey, is that a 13/29 on the back? nmJS Haiku Shop
Feb 7, 2003 5:50 AM
shur is purdy! hey, is that a 13/29 on the back? nmThe Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 6:34 AM
it's a 13/26. i had considered a 29 because i live in SF and do a ton of hill climbing, but i figured i'm strong enough out of the saddle now that the 26 would be fine. plus, i just went on a diet that cost me about $3000 and netted about 7 pounds. it should make a pretty reasonable difference.
7 pounds?!? what were you riding before?.........JS Haiku Shop
Feb 7, 2003 6:42 AM
and, are you happy with the gvh build?
7 pounds?!? what were you riding before?.........The Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 6:56 AM
i was riding Columbus Thron. the GVH build seems great so far. i really like the care they took in packaging, instructions, etc. i had asked for Michelin Pro Race tires and they shipped it with Contis. no big, but slightly dissappointed. also, i had asked for white bar tape and they through on some Cinelli black. again, not a huge loss, but a missed detail. the gruppo itself is dialed in very well though i have no complaints yet.
an elegant bikevelocity
Feb 7, 2003 7:06 AM
I hear your frustration on the tires and bar tape. I do like the black tape on it though.
re: tires and tapeJS Haiku Shop
Feb 7, 2003 7:25 AM
i'm now on my FOURTH bike/build from GVH and have had zero problems with missed details or setup. i bet if you'd e-mailed him on the details, he'd have been more than happy to make it right.

ah, well--at least the major stuff is satisfactory. his prices are good, too!

beautiful bike!
don't get me wrongThe Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 9:01 AM
i think GVH are absolutely terrific. i actually did email all the details so i'm surprised they missed it. Gary said they had run out of Michelin Pro Races (which is fine) and then said "i just made a mistake" on the bar tape and then offered to send me some new bar tape which is very admirable in my book. i have nothing but praise for them.
cool deal! nmJS Haiku Shop
Feb 7, 2003 11:30 AM
the rundownThe Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 6:54 AM
a few more specifics:

setup -

Ciocc Hurricane - "Blu Notte"
Deda Carbon seat stays, Deda BlackMagic2 all carbon fork.
Campy Chourus except for Record bottom bracket and ergo levers.
Zepp stem, prima199 bars, FSA hiddenset.
Contis on Eurus.
Koobi Au Enduro on Deda Black Stick 32.4 post.
Look 369s

i bought this from Mike at Maestro of course and actually had him ship it to GVH for the build. both were a pleasure to deal with. i had been eyeing DeRosas for awhile and had targeted a Planet for my next ride, but decided for something a little different. the Ciocc's are VERY similar to DeRosa and apparently even share a few builders in common. they're also painted at the same shop. for awhile i had a hard time justifying the frame. U2? is it just going to crack in a couple years? why do i need a bike this light? is it going to feel "sketchy"? anyway, Mike put my mind at ease and the superior fork is actually what swayed me away from the Slide and toward the Hurricane.

the bike is no tin can and feels VERY solid. i have absolutely no interest in getting in a debate over the relative merits of carbon seat stays, but geeessshhhh. if this is only mental, then i'm more then happy to remain ignorant and deluded. soooo comfortable compared to previous steel and aluminum rides i've had. the thing is just ultra smooth in every way. it weights about 16 pounds and i could have went much, much lighter but i didn't imagine that would make any difference.

cheers.
p.s.The Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 9:03 AM
i realize i'm not riding "Look 369s" and that my gruppo doesn't consist of "Campy Chourus". lack of sleep is killing me.
Nice. What size? Std or compact geo?nmFez
Feb 7, 2003 7:48 AM
Nice. What size? Std or compact geo?nmThe Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 8:56 AM
it's a standard 50cm. i'm not very fond of the compact geo. it has a lot of spacers and an up stem because i had a bad back injury two years ago and i'm still babying it. bulging discs are no fun (especially at 30 years old).
Sweet. (nm)djg
Feb 7, 2003 8:12 AM
Stunning! Congrat's and enjoy! NMShad
Feb 7, 2003 8:16 AM
Nice! Here's her sisterNo_sprint
Feb 7, 2003 8:29 AM
An old pic. She looks much different these days. Different wheels, groupset, SLR Evolution, no spacers, FSA carbon cranks, etc.

Enjoy the ride.
Nice! Here's her sisterThe Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 8:57 AM
she's a beaut! is that still your main ride?
Nice! Here's her sisterNo_sprint
Feb 7, 2003 9:15 AM
She's the main crit racer, although the Quantum Pro will see this week's action. How do you like that U2 tubing? Those are some ridiculously low prices. Couple years ago the challenger was going for about $1800.
Nice! Here's her sisterThe Human G-Nome
Feb 7, 2003 11:25 AM
so far, i love the U2. it feels like butter. how much of that is geometry, tires, wheels, saddle, carbon stays... i dunno. either way, it's light and stiff. honestly, i think the route i took is one of the better deals you'll find.