RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?(16 posts)

Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?ds5200
Feb 5, 2003 6:26 PM
I've been saving all year and now its time to get a new ride. Looking to spend up to $3500. If it was your money what would you buy and why? I've been on a 2000 model Trek5200 for over a year and really like the ride of carbon. (4000 miles) Before that an old steel bike. I don't race but do competitive group rides(35-75miles) on the weekend and regular training rides a couple of days during the week(15-25 miles). I saw this Look kg386 in my price range at a respectable M.O. company- does anybody ride one like this? Also considering the trek5500, Giant tcr, and haven't ruled out al. frames (Merckx) or Ti. What else should I try to ride before I make a purchase? Thanks for your advice.
re: Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?AFrizzledFry
Feb 5, 2003 6:36 PM
if it was my money? i'd probably spring for a LOOK kg381 with full Dura Ace. good enough for Jalabert, good enough for me. its not a sprinter's bike, from what i've been told- so if you're a sprinter forget about it. i just love the look of their bikes, and Treks are great bikes- but they're a bit too common!
re: Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?Daddylonglegs
Feb 5, 2003 7:00 PM
If your light enough check out the Litespeed Ghisallo or the Seven Alta. They are the shiznit. Being a Clydesdale it makes me jealous that the flyweights can ride such svelte machinery. They must climb like nobody's business.
Lot's of Look in the peloton though. High wow factor.
re: Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?forewheel
Feb 5, 2003 7:36 PM
You should also check out the Klein Q Carbons, and the Lemond bikes. These offer the same value as Trek, but not as common. Im a little partial to these since I work in a shop, but they are very nice bikes. You can even get a Project ONe in both of these, which lets you get the Campy....mmmmmmmm!!
re: Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?african
Feb 5, 2003 7:48 PM
That look looks like a great looking bike. Very sweet. Not long ago I bought a colnago dream plus and then a fondriest u107.

Personnaly I would drop that into a fondriest, or any exotic italian that stands out from the crowd. I just love the look of my Fondreist frame, very exotic. Here is a link to some pictures of it http://www.competitivecyclist.com/fondriest/tt/

But that look does look really sweet.
Enjoy the ride...........
re: Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?bugleboy
Feb 5, 2003 7:53 PM
Try everything you can. $3500 will get you a very nice bike. Also at that price they are all going to offer something that you like. I would go with the one that fits you the best. The Look in the picture is very similar to Trek in the way that it's made. As long as it fits what ever you buy in that price range you will probably be very pleased with.
re: Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?ASiegel993
Feb 5, 2003 9:02 PM
If you want carbon, Look might be your best option at this price point. A KG381i would be sweet (you could get one REALLY cheap right now at totalcycling.com if one of those frames fits you and you like the color...) and even sweeter would be a KG486. Similar to the KG386 you're looking at, but even stiffer and cooler looking. All three of those bikes will be kick-arse. Oh, and to get this out of the way, since you're not racing, don't buy Record. D-A or Chorus (I'd choose Chorus) is the way to go.

I would suggest that you look at other materials too. If you like the ride of carbon, a nice Scandium aluminum bike will be awesome. A Merckx Team SC is great, as well as a Deda SC61.10 bike like a Pinarello Prince or Pegoretti Fina Estampa. I'm partial to the Pegoretti since I own a Fina Estampa w/ Chorus... Also look at Ti and steel. Steel bikes nowadays are plenty light and stiff. If you can, go custom. Serotta and Seven both make great custom Ti and Steel bikes. You could definitely find one in your price range. Also, Pegoretti has a custom program and you can get any of their bikes (steel or aluminum is all they build) in custom paint and geometry as well. My biased opinion would be for a Pegoretti. Check out www.competitivecyclist.com for info on the Pegoretti custom program and they also sell Merckx, Look, Pinarello and Colnago. Great customer service (bought my bike from them... so again I'm biased). Check out www.pegoretticicli.com for more info on Pegorettis bikes.
-Siegel
re: Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?merlint3
Feb 5, 2003 9:05 PM
3.5K buys many great bikes. Before buying my Merlin extra light, I tested a Serrota steel, Kestrel (very nice) and a softride. If the road conditions near you can vary as much as they do here in Ohio, (, e.g. chip and seal);I think you would be well served to test a Ti bike like a Merlin or Litespeed. I love my XL road.. stiff, reduces road buzz, and plenty light. Also if you ride Shimano, give Campy a try. Best advice.. try all the frame materials.. and component groups. You can always buy better wheels down the line, so Open pros or Velocity rims would be good.
I have a 386, and really like it. The pros and cons are this:Paul
Feb 6, 2003 4:18 AM
Pros: light and aero. Mine is set up with K's, and Dura Ace 9 speed, and weights under 16 lbs. It's really a beautiful design, has an adjustable wheel base, replacable hanger, and repairable due to it's monoblock construction. I've had it for 2 years and have had no problems.

totalcycling has a good deal on this frame.

Cons: Have to ship to France for repair. The light weight fork can have a noodle effect at times. I've heard the same thing with other light weight, carbon forks. The new kg486 like the 381i has beefed up the fork to 1 1/8 and a thicker blade. My friend has a 381i, and it's really super stiff. Though the 386 rides better (in my book).

Overall, I really like it and recommend it. hey, it won the tour of spain.
I have a 386, and really like it. The pros and cons are this:ds5200
Feb 6, 2003 6:54 AM
Thanks guys for some really great advice. Lbs in my area have the Trek,Team SC, and Lightspeed/Merlin in my size so I will probably test ride these in the near future. I really do like the "look" and the history of Look frames and the deals at Total Cycling. Maybe I can find someone in my group that has one and test ride it or maybe my work travels will lead me to a shop that has one.
You can get a Trek 5900 with full Dura Ace for that inda $$CARBON110
Feb 6, 2003 7:01 AM
Check out Fastrackbicycles.com and RAcyles.com

They have great prices. I have over 12k on my 5900 and its in perfect condition... Congrads n your ride whatever you get!
An alternative.....cdale02
Feb 6, 2003 7:25 AM
Your wrote: "I've been on a 2000 model Trek5200 for over a year and really like the ride of carbon. (4000 miles)"

The 5200 Trek is a great bike, if you want a little higher caliber feel, upgrade the shifters to Dura-Ace. You could also pick up some DA cranks and bottom bracket and possibly a cassette and knock off a couple of hundred grams as well. All of the above can probalby be picked up on used on-line for under $250.00 total. (I picked the above stuff up for my girlfriend for her 2000 5200)

Heck, keep the bike two more years and then the new Dura Ace stuff should be out then you will have even better options.

Practicality aside, bike lust is a hard thing to shake. I've ridden/owned a Trek OCLV, CAAD5, and a SEVEN Axiom Ti in the past two years. I think they are all great bikes, but the SEVEN is a cut above the other two. If you can pick up a SEVEN, you won't regret it.

Good Luck
About that CAAD5 . . .mja
Feb 6, 2003 8:11 AM
Since you have ridden the two frames I am currently looking at -- Trek OCLV 120 and CAAD5, can you compare them in terms of ride and performance. (I know which costs less!) That is, specifically, is the CAAD5 harsh on long rides over less than ideal surfaces, and which frame is stiffer through bottom bracket with respect to transmission of power? Thanks much!
About that CAAD5 . . .cdale02
Feb 6, 2003 9:01 AM
I can to a perfect (or as close to perfect as possible), because I swapped all of the components on the OCLV to the CAAD5 (axcept for the headset). First thing - fit is most important for comfort. If you fit well on both bikes we can look at frame riding characteristics.

First to answer your questions: the CAAD5 is noticeably stiffer in the bb. Not that the Trek is flexy by any means, but I'm 6'3.5" and abot 205 so I can feel a slight diff. If your are 160 or so you may not be able to feel it.

As far as comfort - = The Trek has slightly longer seat chain stays, lower botom bracket and my frame had a 72.5 vs 73 (on CAAD5) degree seat tube angle. I think this translated to a more comfortable ride for the long distances on the Trek. The carbon frame did absorb road vibration as well which was kind of neat, but the CAAD5 is not uncomfortagle by any means. The CAAD5 rides much better than my former CAAD3. (of course I got one size larger in the 5 so it fits better..... it all comes back to fit).

To sum it up, I like to hammer on the CAAD5 - it feels like the bike is made for that. For longer rides, I like my SEVEN Ti (has chainstay length and seat tube angle similar to the Trek) I sold the Trek because I could not get comfortable with the fit in their 62. (My CAAD5 is 63c-t, and my Seven is 61 c-c. The Trek 62 measured close to a 58 c-c.)

Hope this helps, you shouldn't have trouble riding both bikes. GOOD LUCK.
Look framesS-U-B
Feb 6, 2003 11:03 PM
I have a 381i and I do like the bike alot. It is also quite nice in a sprint, I can put the hammer down and if this thing flexed at all I would have gotten rid of it. I also feel no flex in the fork, probably due to the 1 1/8 tube. That is a sweet looking Bike, I think I saw that at Excel sports. Since you already have a carbon bike, I would take a strong look at the Merckx. As for myself, I'm trying to control my bike lust, had to settle for a new pair of zipp 404's. happy hunting.
re: Want a new bike!! Trek, Look or something else?Averyj8
Feb 10, 2003 4:59 PM
The best value right now is Fondriest. I own a Status Carb (EOM 16.5 Steel with carbon seat stay) and have never ridden anything quite like it. The steel is extremely comfortable but yet stiff enough when climbing and accelerating. I did not think this combination was possible. They recently started selling to consumers and lowered their prices which is why I say it is the best value right now. I paid $2,499 for my frame/fork/headset and now the exact same product is $1,899. They have all materials (aluminum, carbon, titanium, steel) with the same type of pricing and discounts. Certainly the best bike I have ever ridden.