RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is this FRAME worth the $1800??(8 posts)

Is this FRAME worth the $1800??Psychler
Feb 5, 2003 9:06 AM
May be able to get this frame for a tad less, but what are your thoughts? I have a full Ultegra group, Heliums and Ouzo Pro fork.
http://www.deanusa.com/el%20diente%20x-lite%20cti/eldienteXcti.htm
Not to me...but neither is any other frame.cory
Feb 5, 2003 9:11 AM
If I were going to spend that much (which I wouldn't, unless I'd won the lottery and needed to clear some extra money out of the closet), I'd go for a custom frame from somebody who'd build just what I need. But that's not a reason for you not to do it if you have the money and like the frame.
maybe...C-40
Feb 5, 2003 9:26 AM
Seems to be a fairly good price for the level of sophistication. As with all frames, there comes a point of diminishing returns for the extra cost. This price is almost twice the cost of a basic Ti frame, but still far less than some Litespeeds.

The head tube length is a little shorter than I would want, nearly 1cm shorter than some other brands of the same c-c size.

If you're not a weight weenie, take a look at the new LOOK KG461. A pretty nice carbon frame and fork with a decent paint job for $1400. This model has different geometry than typical for LOOK.
Dependsmacalu
Feb 5, 2003 10:01 AM
And I'm not talking about adult diapers. Friend recently bought a DEAN Ti with carbon seatstays, little heavier/beefier version of the frame you are looking at. He really loves it. From what I have seen, that seems a good price for the weight and features advertised.
Would I buy it. Depends. If someone handed me two grand, would I spend the whole amount on this frame? No. But I have a couple of bikes I like. I would tend to spend 10-20 percent of the windfall. Maybe buy a Phil Wood cassette hub. Drool! Now if someone handed me 20 grand? I probably would spring for this baby with full record, and plenty left over to placate the wife. All is relative.
That Should Be A Nice Frameset --Gregory Taylor
Feb 5, 2003 10:52 AM
I own a Dean El Diente CTI, which is the slightly heavier cousin of the X-Lite that you are looking at. I thought about the X-lite when I ordered mine, but plopped for the El Diente with the straight gauge tubing. In terms of bang for the buck, Dean offers a pretty good deal. I eventualy went with the less expensive bike because I thought that it presented the best balance between performance and $$$.

Overall, I'm delighted with the Dean. Mine is a 54cm, built with an Ouzo Pro fork, Campy Record/Chorus mix, and a set of 32 spoke Open Pro's with Michelin Race Lites. Nothing stupid light or overly trick. Weight is about 17.8 lbs., ready to ride, with pedals.

The frame is laterally stiff, but has a very nice feel going over the road. That, I think, is a function of the fairly large diameter tubing that they use, as well as the carbon seat stay. I go about 190 lbs., push bigger gears than I should, and the thing definately does not feel at all noodly underneath me. It climbs and descends confidently. As for the "feel", most of the low-level road chatter is nicely filtered, and the overall sensation is that the bike is painted on the road, much more so than my Cannondale CAAD3. I'd suspect that the use of butted tubing on the X-Lite shouldn't change the ride characteristics of the bike too much.

There are, however, a few downsides with the Dean. First, if you are ordering a new frame from Dean, it can take a while for them to build it. The guys are great to deal with, but they are still a small shop. This is both wonderful and frustrating. Wonderful in that I got courteous, enthusiastic, personal attention to my order. They even customized my tubing selection to match my style -- no charge. Frustrating in that it took a while to actually get the bike. This is expecially true if you pop for the powdercoating. It is farmed out to an outside vendor, which causes delays. The powdercoating is beautiful, but it added about 6 weeks to the delivery time.

Second, I did have an issue with the seat tube. The bike was built with a slightly undersized seat-tube, which required some honing to get a seat post to fit. Not a huge deal, but it did complicate matters. Otherwise, the welds and construction looked first rate.

Overall, the Dean is a nice bike. It all depends on what you are looking for. If you are set on titanium, then it definately worth a look. If you cross-shop it with comparable Lightspeeds, etc., it looks like a pretty good deal. And you don't see them everywhere...
re: Is this FRAME worth the $1800??Alpedhuez55
Feb 5, 2003 11:40 AM
THere were a few issues with DEAN posted on this board within the last few weeks. I have not ridden one myself but they look great. I guess there have been some warranty and customer service issues with thim. You may want to read theses before making your decision.

Mike Y.

Nessism "A little Dean bashing..." 1/17/03 6:21pm

_rt_ "A Dean update..." 1/22/03 8:17am
No bashing here...Nessism
Feb 5, 2003 2:16 PM
...In fact, I'm in the process or ordering one! Submitted a bid to the Dean Auction for a El Diente X-lite CTI and won! Been wanting a Ti frame for a long time but was balking at the price. At any rate, talked to them today and they told me approx. four weeks. We'll see.

I personally don't think the machine cut tubing and rear carbon stays are worth a whole lot but what the heck, they shouldn't hurt any. To me, the regular El Diente is a better value.

Ed
Congrats! Let us know what you think when you get it (nm)Gregory Taylor
Feb 5, 2003 2:25 PM