RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


This forum is going downhill(19 posts)

This forum is going downhillStevieP
Feb 4, 2003 11:32 PM
Is it me or has this forum started going downhill?

I love this site. I like the cycling community, sharing experiences & the help I can get from people who enjoy my hobby as much as me. To me, this site has huge value and I use it every day.

What I have noticed lately is people posted needless cr*p which then provokes people into b*tching with each other.
Over the last couple of weeks it has got so bad I am sure that if some posters were in the same room they would be trying to beat the hell out of each other. This is spoiling the site.

I mean come on guys - surely the aim of this site is to get help & discuss things in a mature manner? Is this site heading towards MTBR level? Why cant we just get along?

I will keep using the site as I enjoy it but it would be more enjoyable if people could leave their stupid opinions at home and post in a mature manner with content that is either funny, informative or interesting.

Anyone else feeling this?

Steve
Happens all the time-usually in mid-wintermickey-mac
Feb 4, 2003 11:51 PM
It has its ups and downs, just like any relationship. Things will improve by spring, if not sooner. All those folks who spend the winter in lock-down on the east coast, midwest, and Canada get pretty grumpy by this time of year. Those of us living in warmer climes ride year-round, are always in a good mood, and never argue with anyone. ;-)
remembercyclopath
Feb 5, 2003 1:37 AM
there is a hard core here - some are useful and only post when they have value to add, lots are just people who must be bored, and can't keep thier fingers off the keyboard, and have to have a pretty much worthless say in amost everything.

In the summer, they seem to get drowned out by those who actually cycle and ask questions related to that, and answer others accordingly. In the winter, the myre thins, the armchair brigade rise to the surface.

C'est la vie, as Pantani always said when I was beating him up the Alpe D'...
Why all the bitching Steve? Winteritis gotcha? ;) nmSpunout
Feb 5, 2003 3:59 AM
You know you're spending too much time on the internet when...fbg111
Feb 5, 2003 5:10 AM
1. You become a forum troll.
or
2. You are unable to ignore forum trolls.

If either of the above are happening to you, maybe it's time to get out and ride more, or read a good book, and get some healthy perspective back.
Winter in the Uk - dont make me laugh!StevieP
Feb 5, 2003 5:28 AM
I have not missed a single weekend of riding. Just coz you may have winteritis it doesn't mean I am suffering:-)

Look folks - all I was asking for is for a little Peace on the site. Not for people to judge whether I was depressed from not enough riding (which I do plenty of) or if I read enough (which I do) or if I spend too much on the internet (which I probably do but I dont have a computer at home so it is purely at risk of being caught at work!).

How can I be trolled for asking trollers to stop trolling?!?!:-)

Steve
A job for Kristins inciteful analysis :-) (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Feb 5, 2003 5:30 AM
Meant INSIGHTFUL.Sorry :-) (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Feb 5, 2003 5:45 AM
I thought maybe you were just poking fun atOldEdScott
Feb 5, 2003 6:56 AM
dear Kristin's occasionally unique spelling!
No just my poor spelling showing...PEDDLEFOOT
Feb 5, 2003 7:24 AM
...I would never poke fun at a fellow Chicago area rider.
Sounded like a Freudian slip to me. nmKristin
Feb 5, 2003 7:25 AM
Do you spend time on other boards?Mel Erickson
Feb 5, 2003 6:42 AM
I referee soccer, have a hot tub and mountain bike. I spend some time on boards related to those pursuits. This board is an oasis compared to most. You really don't know how good we've got it here unless you spend time on other boards. This happens every winter. It's temporary. Don't get your undies in a bundle.
nothing unusualDougSloan
Feb 5, 2003 7:07 AM
Aside from the regular and occasional trolls who only seek to inflame, then call anyone an "a$$hole" who dares to point it out, things are pretty good here. Sure, there are some immature jerks, but as a group it tends to be informative and fun. Don't let the jerks get you down.

People remember that free speech means you get to say any stupid thing you want, but anyone else had the right to comment on it, too, right? It does not mean you get the unbridled right to say whatever you want and be immune from comment.

Remember, too, you don't have to read certain things. A thread with a lot of name calling in the subject lines is a good sign to stay away if you don't like that sort of thing.

Doug
Dear Doug SloanI Love Shimano
Feb 5, 2003 7:19 PM
If someone calls me an a$$hole, then I have no choice but to retaliate.
the solution is always the sametarwheel
Feb 5, 2003 7:11 AM
Don't feed the trolls. That's the only way to get rid of them. They generally are just looking for attention or trying to stir something up. Sometimes it's funny and harmless. Often it gets out of hand. But, seriously, if everyone just ignored the trolls they would get their jollies elsewhere. There are certain posters who I never even bother to read because I know what they have to say is worthless or nasty. Sometimes I read the obvious trolls just to see what's up. But I rarely if ever respond because I don't want to encourage them.
get some thicker skinColnagoFE
Feb 5, 2003 7:43 AM
sure there are trolls from time to time, but that happens on all forums. have you seen velonews lately? used to be a pretty good forum but now mostly trolls.
Well, something is missing this year. Flamebait and Haiku.Kristin
Feb 5, 2003 7:57 AM
Every year, people get restless about this time--and grumpier. But what's missing is the creative flame bate, like porn stars looking for fit recomendations and how to increase aerodynamics on your unicylce. Come on guys! Its getting a little boring around here. Someone put out!
So get some skis. Better than uphill into a headwind. nm128
Feb 5, 2003 8:19 AM
In Kayaking sites there is the same relationshipthatsmybush
Feb 5, 2003 8:47 AM
lots of rain no one posts. drought relentless bitching.