RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Colorado Cyclist and thier tricks....(22 posts)

Colorado Cyclist and thier tricks....niteschaos
Feb 4, 2003 7:32 AM
I order 60 bucks worth of spokes to build up a race wheelset. I "assembled" the wheels, but didn't bring them up to tension fully cause it was obvious with 5mm of threads showing that the spokes were going to be WAY short. I called them asking about the procedure to exchange them and they said that I couldn't because the spokes were already "installed" and therefore couldn't be returned!! How are you gonna know if someone jipped your spokes unless you at least assemble the wheel.

(I usually have my trusted home shop supply me with everything, but they didn't have any spokes of length and recommened another shop out of town, but they didn't have any of the length I needed either, so I went with what I thought was the largest and best reviewed mail order store, Colorado Cyclist.)

Moral of the story: Don't rely on mail order, especially if it is something that must be installed to confirm its spec.
re: Colorado Cyclist and thier tricks....MR_GRUMPY
Feb 4, 2003 7:48 AM
Did you order the incorrect spoke or did they ship you the wrong spoke ?
If you ordered wrong, I can see why they wouldn't accept a return. (Who wants to buy used spokes?)
Rule #1 on spokes. Never trust that they picked the right size. Always measure them before building, unless they come from the factory in a marked package.
I told them everything...niteschaos
Feb 4, 2003 9:31 AM
they just shipped wrong. And when I tried to use a spoke calculator for an ultegra hub 3cross with a mavic reflex tubular rim, it would tell me a spoke length of 305mm, and I know that isn't right. I used every spoke calculator posted on this site and nothing seemed to turn out right. If I had the money to drop on a custom wheelbuilder I would, but I've never had trouble in the past building wheels for freinds, but of course, when you try to do something for yourself something crappy happens.
why not just have excel build em for you?ColnagoFE
Feb 4, 2003 9:51 AM
i figured that their cirrus wheelset was cheaper to buy built up than buying all the parts separately.
You're trying to tell us something53T
Feb 4, 2003 10:17 AM
What's all this about spoke calculators? I repeat previous the question, did they send you what you ordered, or did they not send you what you ordered? Are you sure the spokes are too short, 5mm thread showing on a loose spoke doesn't sound too far off the mark, why not lay out 4 pairs and tighten them up a little. What is your level of wheelbuilding experience? How about spoke calculator experience?

I have to disagree that you can't afford a wheelbuilder, since wheelbuilding today is only for fun. You can buy the wheels already built for the retail price of components.
Granted they sent you the right spokes I don't blame themPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 4, 2003 10:33 AM
As long as they sent you the right spokes it was your wrong. They can't knowingly accept used spokes whether they were tensioned or not.

However, if you wanted to return them you'd call and leave out the fact you hadn't used them. Its lieing by ommision which isn't completely right but you didn't really use the spokes so I wouldn't have too bad a conscience about it. And don't flame about my frame please... thats completely different.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Granted they sent you the right spokes I don't blame themPicshooter
Feb 4, 2003 3:41 PM
Nick,

In my book a lie is a lie. I assume by your postings you are a young man. Regardless, it's never to late to change your ways. Do you like people lying to you? In my book it all goes back to the Golden rule. Sometimes you have to shrug it off and move on.
DependsPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 4, 2003 4:02 PM
Normally I don't lie... ever. And in a case like the frame I came clean as soon as I could since my original intention was just to get peoples attention. I don't see the harm in lieing by ommision to get an exchange on something that was built to spec and the spec did not work as long the spokes were hardly used as in this case.

Nick
me too!chops
Feb 4, 2003 8:49 PM
I never, ever, ever, never, never, ever lie...usually.

A lie within a lie, how quaint.
Yeah right.StewartK
Feb 6, 2003 8:49 AM
Nick, you are a jackass!

The only person who ultimately believes your lies are you. You may think that people believe what you're saying because they don't challenge you, but, actually, they're just so used to your lies that they don't even bother.
Naw, I ordered 296 and they sent something around a 292niteschaos
Feb 5, 2003 7:27 AM
Its there fault and they shouldn't screw you for their mistakePODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 5, 2003 10:18 AM
You shouldn't have to measure your spokes when you get them. You should trust from a big company like Colorado Cyclist to 1) not make mistakes or 2) absorb the expense of the mistakes when they happen.

There are two ways I can see you solving this:
1) Tell them you measured the spokes upon arrival and tell them they sent you the wrong size.
2) You put them in your wheel and realized they were too short.
Either way since it was THEIR mistake which led to this they should pay for the return shipping on the item or just let you keep them. Ask to talk to a manager, write them a letter... just harp on them as much as you can until they break. A company with good customer service knows when to cut their losses and keep a customer happy.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
SpokesMR_GRUMPY
Feb 4, 2003 12:04 PM
I can't get into my favorite spoke calc. at work, but from memory, I think you might need 302 in front and 301 and 299 in back. At least that was the spokes size for GL330's. Reflex's should be close.
Ps. I think that CC. has tech. people there who can check to see what spokes you need.
re: Colorado Cyclist and thier tricks....curlybike
Feb 4, 2003 8:17 PM
If you are using current production Shimano Ultegra 9 sp hubs, 32 hole , 3 cross with Mavic reflex tubulars you need
Front 302 mm
Rear 297.6 Drive
Rear 299.6 non drive
If the spokes are within 3 of that you can salvage the spokes by using the DT 16 mm nipples. The thread starts further away fom the rim seat so you will get more engagement than with the 12's
I have used this calc. to build Reflexes before. So unless something weird has happened, this is the answer.
I ended up just going to Extra long brass nipples. (nm)niteschaos
Feb 5, 2003 7:28 AM
People like you....burdiman
Feb 4, 2003 9:31 PM
shouldn't be ordering parts off the internet or through the mail. No matter what happens I am sure you are able to blame someone else for the problem. Might you be a lawyer?
It doesn't work like that at all.niteschaos
Feb 5, 2003 7:30 AM
You tell them what you have and they order the calculate and ship the spokes for you. I didn't request a size. If you go to the website is says to put the hub and rim specs in the comments box and they will calculate the spoke length for you.
Sorry...burdiman
Feb 5, 2003 10:34 AM
didn't mean to snap at you like that. I have ordered many spokes online and use an excel spreadsheet spoke calculator that has never been wrong. For something like spokes I wouldn't rely on anyone's opinion or calcs but my own.
I'd say its your faultpmf1
Feb 5, 2003 5:38 AM
You didn't order the right size spokes. Did CC send you what you ordered? Sounds like they did. You made the mistake, not them.

If you didn't put any spoke prep or oil on the threads, then why not just take them off the wheel and return them? Who will be the wiser? If you did oil/prep them, then you can't expect CC to take them back. Would you buy them if they had oil/prep on them?

FWIW, I've ordered lost of stuff from them over the years and never had any reason to complain. Their prices are not much better than retail on a lot of things, but their service is excellent.
you must have never ordered spokes from them...niteschaos
Feb 5, 2003 7:32 AM
I usually have all my stuff come from a my shop, but they didnt' have the length I needed, so I just put in an order at CC and they calculate length for you.
you must have never ordered spokes from them...pmf1
Feb 5, 2003 9:23 AM
No, the last time I built a wheel (8 years ago), I got spokes at the local Nashbar store. Bags of 20 DT spokes and nipples for around $5. And they always had them in stock.

If I were dealing mailorder, I'd make sure I knew the correct size. Nashbar used to have a book that had all that info.

If you didn't prep or oil them, then why not just put them back in the bag, send it back to CC and say you opened the bag and discovered they are too short. How will they know you laced them up?

I find returns go more smoothly if you're polite.
still not clearDougSloan
Feb 5, 2003 10:14 AM
After all the above, it's still not clear to me what happened.

Assuming you specified your hub, rim, and pattern, and then they calculated the size and shipped, and then they don't work, they must accept a return, regardless of disclaiming language. Either there was an implied contract to correctly get the right size for you, or a UCC implied warranty of fitness for your purpose existed. There is no way for you to know the size was wrong without installing.

Again, assuming the above, I'd call and again request a return; if they refuse, do a credit card dispute.

Doug