RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Should we have a FAQ page?(11 posts)

Should we have a FAQ page?eyebob
Feb 3, 2003 12:21 PM
Those who've been around these parts for a while recognize the numerous repeat "newbie" questions that are often posted by well-intentioned posters (which frame, steel vs. alum, etc.) So my question is this. Should we post a FAQ section with links to the threads that answer the most common questions for newbies? Will it be utilized? I can see two advantages; 1) newbies can get a quick and more complete answer and 2) we all don't have to dole out the same advice over and over again. But would newbies and others bother to utilize the FAQ page?

Thoughts? Opinions? Complaints?

BT
re: Should we have a FAQ page?Alpedhuez55
Feb 3, 2003 12:40 PM
THe "Learn" page used to work like that at one point. I do not think they archive the information that well or update it too often. I think I remember a good newbies guide to buying a bike a year or two ago. I may be wrong though.

I think a well written equipment guide page on the site would be a good idea. It can give information frame materials and component groups. I think there are enough forums already though. It is a pretty good idea BT.

Mike Y.
re: Should we have a FAQ page?Skip
Feb 3, 2003 12:51 PM
Bicycle Debate Questions

1. Shimano vs. Campy - Which is better?
2. Bibs or Shorts - Which is better?
3. Pros & cons of shaving (am I a sissy, does it make me faster, am I vain)?
4. Roof rack blunders - How to avoid?
5. MV (SUV) drivers - Why do they hate bicyclists?
6. Best chain lube?
7. Ti, AL, Carbon fiber, or Steel frame?
8. Which saddle is the best?
9. Who makes the best wheels?
10. Most puncture resistant, long lasting, and lightest tires?
11. Best pedals?
12. LBS or Internet purchases?
13. Best fork, HB, stem, seat post, cages, cables, computer, HR monitor, headset, rim tape, etc., etc.?
14. I’m a newbie, which road bike is best?
15. Which cassette should I get?
16. Should I get a double or a triple?
17. Am I ready for the HTH, Death Ride, RAAM, etc.?
18. Who makes the best helmet (do I really need one)?
19. Should I learn how to change a tire (does anyone get flats)?
20. Difference between a Fred and a poseur?
21. When I meet another cyclist, should I wave, say Hi, or ignore?
22. Who is the best Internet/mail order place?
23. Who makes the best shoes?
24. Rollers or trainer?
25. Is it OK to ride team jerseys & shorts?
26. Who makes the best cycling apparel?
27. Should I use a chamois cream?
28. Should I use a mirror?
29. CO2 or frame pump?
30. Best floor pump?
31. Back pack or water bottles?
32. Best before/during/after ride drinks & food?
33. How should I train?
34. Should I wrench or let my LBS handle it?
35. Best, and lightest mini tool to carry?
36. Do I need a work stand - which one is best?

Please feel free to add your own.
See! We just link a great thread to each! (nm)eyebob
Feb 3, 2003 6:00 PM
then we'd have nothing to talk about! ;) (nm)ColnagoFE
Feb 3, 2003 12:53 PM
Depends... would "do we have a FAQ?" be on it?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 3, 2003 2:28 PM
Just kidding. But this comment has come up many times before and still nothing has happened. I think its good for people to ask questions instead of being redirected to a FAQ since answers personally to a question tend to be a lot better than a blanket answer. Then its also good for the site since people don't just come once to get an answer they come back repeatedly which brings traffic up keeping the advertisers happy.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Read the FAQ's!!!DougSloan
Feb 3, 2003 3:39 PM
I can just see it. Some poor sap wanders in and posts about Campy vs. Shimano. He gets flamed by 50 people about reading the FAQ's first. He goes away forever.

Instead of FAQ's, perhaps we can just save our responses and boilerplate them in each time; or, have an idex of decent threads where FAQ's were discussed.

Doug
Boilerplate secret - I do it already! (nm)Kerry
Feb 3, 2003 4:57 PM
Now that you've told us, will you have to kill us??? (nm)jtolleson
Feb 3, 2003 8:16 PM
no, fate worse than deathDougSloan
Feb 3, 2003 8:19 PM
How about a full day of reading a certain forum participant's threads? Kind of gives you the willies, huh?

Doug
I noticed! Chuckled about it several times.OldEdScott
Feb 4, 2003 6:59 AM