RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Packing for Brevets(14 posts)

Packing for BrevetsSeth1
Feb 3, 2003 11:52 AM
I am fairly new to riding--my longest ride so far has been a supported century, and I didn't take anything with me except some water and powerbars. I am thinking about doing a Brevet series this year. For those that have done them, how much extra food/clothes do you take with you and how do you take it? Are panniers necessary? I was looking at the N'Aero system, but also wonder if just a smaller Carradice or similar bag would be enough. I'm sure I'll fill whatever size bag I buy.
re: Packing for BrevetsJS Haiku Shop
Feb 3, 2003 12:13 PM
i'm planning my first brevet series this year, also. not having done one before, i'm not 100% within your qualifiers. however, i have done many self-supported 100+ mile rides, and some poorly supported longish rides up to double century length. i'm planning to use my carradice nelson longflap for the 200-600k rides.

the nelson longflap held the following on a test ride:

* 3 tubes
* co2 inflator/hand pump/patch kit
* handful of co2 cartridges
* cellphone & id/cc/insurance cards/medication
* emergency kit
* emergency space blanket
* spare shorts, jersey, socks, arm warmers, fleece cap
* 1 each brake and derailleur cables
* multitool
* rain cape
* spare gloves: heavy and light (2 sets)
* lots of plastic baggies & a few ziploc baggies
* enough food for 250 miles
* enough drink powder for 250 miles
* spare lighting equipment & disposable batteries
* small flashlight
* some other sturff

the longflap derives its name from the double length of flap not visible in this picture--the flap over the top actually doubles to hold more stuff. additionally, more straps can be added to the top of the bag to hold a rolled-up sleeping pad or wet weather gear external to the bag.

the bag (in this pic) is supported by the bagman sport rack, which affixes to the saddle rails. two other bag straps run around a wooden dowel in the bag, through openings in the back of the bag, and attach to bag loops on most brooks saddles. "aftermarket" kits sold at wallbike.com (and other places) retrofit other saddles with brooks-style bag loops.

i've had this bag since december 25--it was fairly stinky and had to be ridden in snow, rain, and cold weather to finally air-out. though it seems to be weatherproof, i still keep my "delicates" in plastic baggies.

btw, i know the list above is way unnecessary, but i wanted to see what the bike felt like at 35-40 pounds. that included 2 32-ounce water bottles, but did not include fenders or bottle cage-mounted battery lights.

should be a fun setup for 600k.

in what part of the country are you riding your brevets?

hasta la pasta,

-J
re: Packing for BrevetsSeth1
Feb 3, 2003 12:29 PM
Thanks for the helpful reply! I was looking at the longflap but wasn't sure about whether it would hold enough and/or whether it would sway too much. If you had a good experience riding with all that gear, I'm sure it will be good for my purposes.

I haven't decided which one I'll try yet. Possible contenders are Kentucky, Ohio, Wisconson, Missouri, or Iowa (most likely a mix). Esp. for the 400 and 600 I want (need) a course that is flat, so I need to do a little more research re the terrain.

Seth
re: Packing for BrevetsJS Haiku Shop
Feb 3, 2003 1:02 PM
i'll be riding the missouri series (acutally edwardsville, illinois). supposedly flat, but i've also heard from a racing friend that it's wickedly deceiving. i think the MO series covers many of the same roads in each brevet. it's the closest one to home for me (320 miles).
Do your legs hit the bag? (nm)Lon Norder
Feb 3, 2003 12:40 PM
no...JS Haiku Shop
Feb 3, 2003 12:59 PM
no, the rack holds it quite far from the saddle. see the pic...
I did 200, 300 and 600 last year.dzrider
Feb 3, 2003 1:41 PM
Didn't carry anywhere near that much. For the 200 and 300 I carried this stuff in my handle bar bag.
2 tubes and some glueless patches
a multi-tool
a small cassette cracker
a few spokes
a small bottle of chain oil
extra batteries
full finger (slightly warmer) gloves
1 rain jacket
for the 200 I wore a leg warmers and long sleeve shirt over my
short sleeve shirt and stuffed them when it warmed up.
extra packs of sports drinks
2 gel flasks
For the 600 I carried more food and drink and sent a drop bag with a change of riding clothes and clothes to sleep in to the checkpoint where I planned to spend the night. From the size of the packs around me I was carrying a pretty normal amount of stuff. The handlebar bag, however was an unusual way to carry it.
re: Packing for BrevetsTrent in WA
Feb 3, 2003 11:48 PM
J,

Take this with a grain of whatever (I've done a few 200K's and am going to try to do the 200, 300, and maybe the 400 this year): You can profitably ditch the survival gear, a lot of the food (unless you're pathologically averse to stopping at convenience stores), the baggies, one of the spare tubes, and one pair of the gloves. The extra jersey and shorts are useful if you're on a superlong ride and will be stopping for a nap, but why take them on a 200 or 300K? If you're carrying spare lighting, what do you need the flashlight for? And I'd rethink the CO2 inflators: if you're carrying a pump, you don't really need them, and if you're carrying them in lieu of a pump, I'd pray that you don't run into the dreaded patch of Michelin wires and have a spate of flats with 150K's to go on a 400K brevet. Also, I'm a pretty retro-oriented biker, but I think using a rain cape on a brevet is kinda dodgy--the standard vented cycling raincoat and nylon rain pants will double as a warmth layer if you get cold on a ride or at a stop.

That's all the unsolicited advice I have to offer tonight.

Take care,
Trent
Don't take more than you would on a nighttime100 mile ride.MB1
Feb 3, 2003 4:08 PM
Assuming that is that you are going to do some of it at night. Actually we carry more for our commute than we do on a 400K.

Find a riding partner and share the tools and spare parts. Carry money not stuff.

The longer rides will start in the very early morning so make sure that your bags are mostly EMPTY at the start so you will have room for the clothes you are going to be taking off through the day. There will be lots of stores on the routes so there is not all that much need to carry more than 1 good feed worth of food.

Use a light that takes batteries that are available in a gas station or quick mart. Make sure you are ready for the worst weather that is predicted anywhere around the route. Run almost new tires with unpatched tubes (and make sure your spares work too). Bring a can of lube.

Don't forget to keep telling yourself "I'm having fun now!"
testhycobob
Feb 4, 2003 8:54 PM
test 1


test 2


test 3
testhycobob
Feb 4, 2003 8:56 PM
test 1
src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/gavia(1).jpg">
test 2
src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/tende(1).jpg">

test 3
src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/speedmachine(1).jpg">
testhycobob
Feb 4, 2003 9:00 PM
test 1
src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/gavia(1).jpg>
test 2
src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/tende(1).jpg>
test 3
src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/speedmachine(1).jpg>
testhycobob
Feb 4, 2003 9:03 PM
test 4
src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Stinger.jpg">
codeDougSloan
Feb 5, 2003 7:25 AM
Your html was correct in this one, except you need a space between img and src.

Doug