RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Granddaughter's first road ride.(13 posts)

Granddaughter's first road ride.Spoke Wrench
Feb 3, 2003 9:10 AM
The temperature in St. Louis reached 65 degrees yesterday. Sitting behind my grandkids in church, I noticed that my 11 year old granddaughter looked to be about the right size to ride a 19" Terry bike that I've been trying to sell for a couple of years.

It was great! My wife and I rode our Santana. A daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter were on a Burley tandem with a deLite trailer. We met another tandeming couple we know and ran across the woman with whom I ran my first marathon. The granddaughter finished strong and didn't complain about her butt hurting. What a wonderful Sunday afternoon in February.

My Terry bike is no longer for sale. I've got three more granddaughters after this one who might like going for a ride with their grandad.
AwesomeAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 3, 2003 9:18 AM
Have you taken them to the St. Louis children's museum? That place is a miracle. I see small kids zoom off from their parents the moment they walk in and stay lost for hours. Some of those funky catacombs and hamster tube setups are too small for adults to enter, so passing 12 year olds are recruited by parents to go in there and find their children. How they every got that place past the insurers is beyond me, but it is the most amazing place for children I have ever seen.

Alex
Question for AlexHBPat
Feb 3, 2003 11:26 AM
Hey Alex, I hope you don't mind but I was wondering what the name of a good shop in Evanston. Though I am primarily a Road biker, I do a lot of mountain biking as well. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks
Question for AlexSeth1
Feb 3, 2003 12:11 PM
(I'm not Alex) but I live near Evanston. Turin Bikes is a high-end shop in Evanston. Further south near Wicker Park Higher Gear also is worth checking out.
thanks (nm)HBPat
Feb 3, 2003 12:14 PM
Seth...Alex-in-Evanston
Feb 3, 2003 12:42 PM
Are you a furniture designer/builder? If you are, I hope all's well.

Alex
Seth...Seth1
Feb 3, 2003 3:17 PM
I'm not even a furniture buyer. By the way, what road bike manufacturers does Alberto's carry? I had never heard of that shop before.

Seth
Lines they carryAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 4, 2003 7:55 AM
Serotta, Cannondale, Calfee, Felt & Waterford.

I'm probably missing something.

Alex
re: local shopsAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 3, 2003 12:34 PM
I like Alberto's in Highland Park. They're nice people and I've never had better service at a bike shop. I ride for the club, but this is an objective review.

If you're bent on buying in Evanston, the brand you want will probably make your decision. There isn't much overlap in the lines they carry. The only thing really special about any of the Evanston bike shops is the pricing at Turin. If you want to spend 125% of retail, they're the only place to go.

Alex
I've been thereDougSloan
Feb 3, 2003 2:54 PM
That is a fun place. I felt like a kid (and I was 35 at the time).

Doug
That's great - we recently had a first family road ridePdxMark
Feb 3, 2003 9:33 AM
My two daughters, 7 and 9 years old, were troopers. They rode on non-residential streets for the first time in urban bike lanes. They were on Trek mountain bikes (24" wheels) and went 12 miles. I learned that what I wear for a regular ride on my own is not enough when the pace drops way down. Their only complaint was with "wedgies." It looks like Kucharik has some nice kids shorts that will make nice Valentine's Day gifts.
That's great - we recently had a first family road riderbol52
Feb 3, 2003 2:35 PM
The "wedgie" reminds me of a ride my wife and I had with our 6-yr old grandson last Saturday. We did a fairly flat MTB ride and he had his single speed. We did 7 miles and his only complaints were the wedgie and a sore behind. He loves to ride with us. Now we're trying to find a good saddle for him. What a great activity for families!
City MuseumAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 4, 2003 9:26 AM
Here's a link to the children's museum. If you haven't taken the granddudes yet you're missing out.

http://www.citymuseum.org/