RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ebay Questions. How do you feel about money orders?(16 posts)

Ebay Questions. How do you feel about money orders?Kristin
Feb 3, 2003 6:44 AM
I just snagged an item (non-bike related, sorry) and the guy doesn't take any Paypal. Grrr. So I issued him a certified bank check, but I'm nervous about doing that. Someone could really screw you over, could they not? But he has 470 comments and only 6 are negative. So I'm guessing its okay. How do you guys feel about sending cash instead of Paypal? To me, Paypal seems so easy and costs so little, that a person not working with it makes them a little questionable.
it's basically like giving them cashColnagoFE
Feb 3, 2003 6:48 AM
I'd be nervous personally. Sounds like his ratings are OK though. Depends on how much you like to gamble.
should have checked before biddingDougSloan
Feb 3, 2003 6:51 AM
I would have made the decision whether to do business with him before bidding. You are sort of stuck now.

A cashier's check and a money order are effectively the same. You can't stop payment either way, as far as I know.

Paypal has dollar limits, both per item and gross per year, as I recall. When I was selling, I didn't want to mess with it, either. I made it clear that I wanted cashier's check or money order. If you don't agree, then don't bid.

Doug
Thanks O'Wise OneKristin
Feb 3, 2003 6:58 AM
Yeah yeah. I didn't look at the payment options before I bid. Its okay. I'm wouldn't normally be nervous, but I won the item on Thursday afternoon and haven't heard word one from the seller. I emailed him again today and told him I needed verification from him within 24 hours. We'll see.
what about escrow?DougSloan
Feb 3, 2003 7:01 AM
Have you checked the escrow options? Also, what dollar amount are you talking about (maybe I missed this)?

Doug
It was something simpleKristin
Feb 3, 2003 7:30 AM
He replied immedately to my email this morning saying that his previous emails were bouncing. I'm going to believe this because my previous ebay email address was no longer valid and I changed it just before winning the item. Though there was no notification, it might have take some time for my new email to propigate. (Or he could be lying--time will tell.) He doesn't give an option for escrow. Its for $257. That's not enough to put me on the streets; only enough to make me cry for a few days.

I would have never bought from you!! I can't imagine sending some guy in SoCal with little or no feedback a money order for a few grand. Talk about risky. ;-)
re: Ebay Questions. How do you feel about money orders?CJ838
Feb 3, 2003 7:34 AM
I've been on eBay for 4 years now. I have a great rating as well. No negatives. I usually will buy from anyone with all positive feedback. I would investigate the negative feedback. With 470 comments, your bound to get a few negatives, some folks are just looking to hurt people's feedback for no reason. I only buy with a money order if it's under $75. This way I limit my liability. I don't understand why people don't use PayPal. It is fairly inexpensive (2.3%) and you could always factor that into your auction reserve. I would be a little weary buying from someone that only accepts money orders, but wouldn'tr rule it out. I think you'll be fine.

CJ
Use postal money order...noveread
Feb 3, 2003 7:45 AM
Well, I like to use a postal money order if I can't use paypal. If they cash the postal money order and don't produce the goods, the Feds tend to get upset. They are a little safer than certified funds from your bank, but not much.

Oh yeah, they tend to be cheaper than certified funds through your bank too...

Noveread
Thx. I didn't know thatKristin
Feb 3, 2003 7:55 AM
But my bank does this for free and I don't even have to leave my chair. My banks online banking system uses certified cashier's checks. Its a little scary, but I had an incident where the check was lost in the mail and the bank put the money back in my account after I signed a form for them. Lets just hope it never happens with my mortgage payment!! :-)
re: Ebay Questions. How do you feel about money orders?Alpedhuez55
Feb 3, 2003 7:58 AM
I would not worry abut it too much. I would just read the negative reviews and make sure he did not use a money order issue to scam anyone. Sounds pretty safe though.

Accepting money orders is something to be careful on. Make sure it clears the bank or you cash it before before sending out the item. People can produce a pretty convincing money order or casheirs check on a computer.

Mike Y.
Negatives and money orders?Leroy
Feb 3, 2003 9:08 AM
I would not send a money order to a seller with 6 recent [last 6 months] negatives. It's too easy to become another negative yourself.
That's the way it works with ebayB2
Feb 3, 2003 10:23 AM
As a buyer you have to decide how much risk you're willing to take. It's not foolproof by any means, but in combination with reviewing the sellers ratings, I find it useful to exchange two or three emails with the seller. At least you can get some feeling for what kind of person he/she is. If their responses are the least bit arrogant or self serving, etc, I stay away. If a seller has 6 negatives with four hundred and some transactions, this would seem to be a few more negatives than I would like to see. Like some one else mentioned, you might want to see when the negatives occurred.

I believe PayPal offers some sort of buyer protection, but personally I wouldn't put much faith in it. I think your only real protection is if the buyer takes credit cards or you can use PayPal with a credit card (this might even be a little shaky).

Hope it works out ok for you.

Bryan
Oh, I checked out the negatives alreadyKristin
Feb 3, 2003 12:13 PM
All the complaints were from people who had tried to use manufacter warrenties and were refused because he was not an authorized dealer--yet he'd advertised the product as brand new WITH the warrenty. His bad. I don't think he speaks much english and probably doesn't understand that most of the manufacturer warrenties are void once the product leaves his house. Unfortunately his response to the negative feedback was quite negative itself. Which means I can't count on Customer Service. But that's okay if Minolta's got my back. I called them and they have a liberal warrenty policy. As long as I have a receipt for the scanner from this guy and the warrenty card in the box, then I'm good.
You are always in control...wasabekid
Feb 3, 2003 1:56 PM
as a buyer.

By exercising due diligence you will always be in control of the transaction. If you're really worried I'd suggest the following:

1)Offer to pay the extra transaction cost of Paypal, to be added to your winning bid.

2)If still you opted to and it's not too late, get the Cashier's check issued to Company Name & Manager marked "FOR DEPOSIT ONLY".

3)Get phone number

4)Get physical address, no P.O. Boxes.

If you find/smell resistance, walk away and let him/them chase you. If they are interested in your business and are legit they would understand and forgive you inquisitiveness. He/They will be more than happy to acquire another happy customer that will provide another very positive comment.

Good Luck,

W.
re: Ebay Questions. How do you feel about money orders?maximum15
Feb 3, 2003 4:46 PM
If I remember correctly, E-Bay will reimburse you for a bad transaction up to $200 on a $250 item. Haven't looked at this feature in a long time but believe it is still honored. Anyway, with 450 positives and 6 bads, he is probably okay.
You can use the Ebay seek bidder information feature...Willz
Feb 3, 2003 5:49 PM
http://cgi3.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?MemberSearchShow

Plug in the item number and sellers ID - this will give you his/her name, city and phone number. Call him/her and ask your questions.

On a price this high, and I know you didn't know they didn't take PayPal when you bid, I would not bid if they didn't take PayPal. If his feedback is as you say, check the auctions he has received feedback on - if they are high dollar items, I would send him the money order.