RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Unexceptable behavior.....(26 posts)

Unexceptable behavior.....jrm
Feb 1, 2003 8:22 AM
yesterday i rode with this guy from work that doesnt wear a helmet, and runs intersections. I and other cyclists stopped and watched as this guy blew intersections. behind him in traffic the guy just changes direction without any indication. In short i was embarrassed by this guys behavior and gave him some shlt about the helmet and intersection thing.

I'm ready to say to him that i wont ride with the guy anymore unless he 1) wears a helmet and 2) follows traffic laws. Or should i not make the stipulations ive mentioned above and never ride with the guy again?
I repremanded my roommate cause of that!niteschaos
Feb 1, 2003 8:28 AM
I told him that he was making the bike community as a whole look bad. He thought I was over-reacting and complaining too much. But after a month of riding by himself, he straightened up.
Attempt at reformbigrider
Feb 1, 2003 8:40 AM
Peer pressure can be a good thing. If as a group you exert positive peer pressure maybe you can teach him a better way to cycle. Your description of his style is taking chances and let's remember we all wear seat belts and we NEVER need them if we don't get in an accident.
You did your part by talking to this guy....bent_spoke
Feb 1, 2003 8:47 AM
I'd also tell him that you don't want caught up in any accident that he might cause. I'd give it a little while to straigthen out & then move on if things don't improve.
I don't like having other people telling me what to do.Spoke Wrench
Feb 1, 2003 11:47 AM
I kind of doubt he does either.

I suspect that a more effective approach would be to say: "I don't like riding with you because .... Whatever excuse or argument he gives, you can counter with "I still don't like it." The next move is totally up to him.
I just wouldn't ride with him nmDougSloan
Feb 1, 2003 11:55 AM
ask politely,works better than threat of not coming out to playishmael
Feb 1, 2003 12:25 PM
A lot of the people I ride with (including myself) dont wear a helmet sometimes, and everyone I ride with blows intersections when it's safe. Not wearing a helmet and blowing intersections has nothing to do with you. In the case of the helmet it has nothing to do with anyone else, and in the case of the blowing intersections, unless you happend to be coming towards him at that intersection it isn't your RIGHT to say anything. In these situations all you can do is ask that he change (unless you know him well in which case maybe it's ok to do more, but you dont seem to know this guy at all). Not signalling when changing directions I can see as annoying if you are trying to follow him. I've forgoten to signal myself a couple of times and have been slightly scolded, not a big deal though.
You must be functionally illiterate!Rusty McNasty
Feb 1, 2003 12:56 PM
Hey, bozo, the word is unACCEPTABLE. You should've paid better attention in high school english class.
You have got to be the longest surviving troll of all time. nmSintesi
Feb 1, 2003 1:16 PM
Golly, Rusty, I think that you just proved my point! (nm)Spoke Wrench
Feb 1, 2003 1:21 PM
From an anonymous trolling loser...jrm
Feb 1, 2003 5:15 PM
No doubt..same to you...
stay away.snwbdrhoon
Feb 1, 2003 1:17 PM
he sounds like a liability... keep away from that guy. may be you will be lucky and someone will hit him... does he have a nice bike? try to work your way into his will.

yes and it is unacceptable.
re: Unexceptable behavior.....Raven1911
Feb 1, 2003 1:32 PM
My riding group has rules layed out that you have to wear a helmet, have to have some sort of extra tube or patches and a way of inflating a flat tire, and must obey traffic laws. I think all clubs and teams run through stop signs provided it is safe to do so, but running through traffic lights is something totally different and should NOT be done. Your group needs to establish these rules as a group. You need to ask him politely with others at your side to obey these rules or else not ride with the group IMHO.

Raven
re: Unexceptable behavior.....Woof the dog
Feb 1, 2003 2:05 PM
Oh my god, you are such a Helmet Nazi

People like you are a disgrace to a human race as a whole. F***ing bigot. You may be right on running the lights issue, but if I were that guy I would not talk to you at all. You suck.

Sincerely

Woof the dog.
re:What with the disgrace and bigot shlt?jrm
Feb 1, 2003 5:12 PM
You know its been said that roadies are elitist douche bags and i think that youve openly disclosed that you are one.

Instead of using your emotions use your head..You only have to go down once to be dead or a focking vegatable. And it doesnt have to be your own actions either. Just because it hasnt happened doesnt mean it wont happen. A false sense of safety affording you not to wear a helmet is still a false sense of safety.

Common sense doesnt know your splattered guts on asphalt from the next guys. I ALLWAYS wear a helmet and really dont give a fock what you think......
re:What with the disgrace and bigot shlt?Woof the dog
Feb 1, 2003 6:09 PM
Dance for me, jrm! Dance like you've never danced before!

Cheers! :-)

Woof the dog.

P.S. http://www.cyclingforum.com/forums/Thread.cfm?CFApp=2&&Message_ID=54215&_#Message54215
re:What with the disgrace and bigot shlt?Woof the dog
Feb 1, 2003 6:11 PM
the link was meant to lead to the original message in that thread.

peace
re: Funny Line....jrm
Feb 2, 2003 6:57 AM
But im not very sure what it is your trying to communicate by using it and the link. Hey no one said we had to agree anyway. Im on my way to a nice long ride..on which i will be wearing a helmet.
read thisWoof the dog
Feb 2, 2003 2:51 PM
In all honesty, its just not right to shun a rider without a helmet. Running red lights is another thing, but helmet or no helmet? please! Twenty years ago nobody was wearing helmets. If you go to Europe, seems like a lot less people wear one.

The link is to the thread about helmets, I didn't read it all, but the original message went like this, and I was wandering a/ the same thing:

"First, I believe it is safer to wear a helmet. However, I also believe it is a free country, and it is our choice at to whether to wear one. I don't usually wear and have been shunned on group rides, asked not to ride. Of course, the roads are a free space so no one can stop me from riding. I just don't understand the intensity of the backlash."

What don't you understand? I am just wandering what kind of roadie are you if you shun people w/out helmets? Who is an arrogant roadie now? Sure you don't have to agree with me, but that is why this world is in so much sh!t. People just don't want to accept. Instead, people like you pressure others into doing something they don't have to do.

Whatever you wear, whatever bike you got, helmet or no helmet, I would ride with you or anyone else. I always say hi to all the riders I meet, even homeless on bikes. Do you do the same, or the helmet qualifications first have to be met? Do you also make sure their gloves are the right color?

Yes, running red lights is not cool, but helmet issues? Please!

Woof the dog.
I wouldn't ride with himPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Feb 1, 2003 3:24 PM
Just because your on a bike doesn't mean you don't have to follow traffic laws. With the exception of my stints downtown where I ride in between cars to bypass very long lines and just have fun I behave on roads. A bicycle is like a motor vehicle. Its not a superior form of transportation that doesn't need to stop for stop signs and lights.

As for the helmet I like my brain where it is so I'm not gonna risk riding without a helmet especially with my background.

Talk with him and tell him you won't ride with him until he rides smart and just wish him all the luck not getting plowed by a car.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
re: Unexceptable behavior.....look271
Feb 1, 2003 5:40 PM
I'd bring up the issue of blowing through intersections and obeying the traffic laws. If he doesn't get it and behave,I wouldn't ride with him. The helmet issue? It's his head. If he wants to increase his chances of becoming a vegatable; that's his choice.
re: Unexceptable behavior.....thisendup
Feb 1, 2003 7:14 PM
My group has no helmet "rule" per se, but I've actually never seen anyone show up without one. It seems to be just kind of understood. As for road rules, we have another unwritten rule in this area- stop signs are ok to blow if the intersection is carless, but lights must be stopped for. They're both official traffic controls so I don't know why one is respected but not the other. Incidentally, I do two other group rides periodically and the traffic thing is the same. The other two are shop sponsored and have definite helmet rules- no lid=no ride.
now that is pretty funny...philippe crist
Feb 2, 2003 2:24 PM
Our team canceled this week-end's long ride b/c of snow on Sat. and so I hooked up with an informal ride that leaves not too far from where I live on sunday morning. This ride is a mixed bag w/ some 50+ year old ex-elite riders, some sunday "cyclotouristes" and some regional-level racers. It is a good group to ride with but not for the weak of heart! For the first half, the old guys pull to the front and pound along @ 30-34km/hr. Stop signs are ignored absent any clearly impending danger, lights are run as soon as all cars in the other direction have cleared the intersection, perhaps 3% of the riders wear helmets, etc... all good fun! The one rule that is adhered to (well, most of the time) is the two-rider abreast rule b/c of the stiff headwinds and rotating paceline. After the first hills, the racers and some of the other fit riders pick up the pace, pull off the front bomb back the rest of the 120kms in a tight echelon/pace line that respects lights/stops only marginally better than on the way out.

And this is considered a pretty disciplined group here! Cars are very courteous and we often get waved through the intersections by drivers that we sometimes cut off.

Anyway, I sometimes chuckle at the way in which these guys just take over some of the intersections we go through and today I heard something that still has me laughing.

When a lead rider approaches an intersection (without a traffic light) they scan it and if no cars are approaching they yell out "c'est bon!" ("its good!") signalling that the other riders can proceed through the intersection without so much as feathering their brakes. So today we come up to an intersection with a traffic light and I here the lead rider yell out "c'est rouge... c'est bon!" ("its red...its alright!")-- two phrases I never expected to hear in the same breath! Well, it was red, and it was clear, so we breezed through...

Just a different perspective I guess.

A+
Philippe
re: Unexceptable behavior.....OTG
Feb 2, 2003 5:53 PM
Lay off the helmet thing. It's really none of your damn business. Claiming that you need a helmet to ride safely is one of the worst things that you can do for the sport.
http://www.magma.ca/~ocbc/hfaq.html

The traffic thing, however, is a legitimate complaint.

-owen
Why so little comment on his erratic riding?torquer
Feb 3, 2003 7:30 AM
Most responses to this post deal with this guy's not wearing a helmet & running lights; in my opinion, if he wants to get that Darwin award fine, but when JRM writes "behind him in traffic the guy just changes direction without any indication", that puts other riders in danger.
If you want to talk to him about anything, that is the point I would stress; it would help him understand that issues of "cycling's image" aside, he's going to be riding by himself because of our instinct for self-preservation.
Lance doesnt wear a helmet- u guys wont ride with Lance??str8dum1
Feb 3, 2003 7:47 AM
nm