RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


FYI Rolf...(12 posts)

FYI Rolf...Akirasho
Jan 31, 2003 1:59 PM
... since the seperation 'tween Rolf and Trek, the former has probably slipped a bit off your radar...

This is not an endorsement pro or con for the wheels, simply a chance for you to update your bookmarks and resources.

http://www.rolfprima.com

Be the bike.
they look nicecyclopathic
Jan 31, 2003 4:09 PM
and light even for all Al Vigor.
I wonder how reliable they are and how much.
Where are they merchandised from?cydswipe
Jan 31, 2003 4:19 PM
I mean, after the separation from Trek. Rolf's wheels could be found at almost every Trek dealer. So, now what do they do? On-line sales?
Where are they merchandised from?Leak
Jan 31, 2003 5:14 PM
They're going to be selling them through LBS'. The Vigor is basically a American Classic 420 using the paired spoke format (same rim and hubs), while the Elan is the American Classic 350 in paired spoke format.

Lee
Where are they merchandised from?S-U-B
Jan 31, 2003 6:33 PM
I'm looking strongly at the 420's right now. What do you guys think of the Rolf's? that paired spoke stuff scares me a little, if one pops, it's a long walk home. Seems like the people I know that rode Rolfs on their treks did not care for their wheels much. Anyone know the price on the Vigor?
Where are they merchandised from?superdog
Jan 31, 2003 9:00 PM
I've got the old rolf vector pros and they are OK wheels. As far as the spokes breaking, I know of one guy who broke a spoke and he could not ride it even after opening up the brake quick release. For racing, if you crash with a standard 32 spoke wheel, you can break a spoke and still limp home. No more racing on low spoke count wheels for me.
Where are they merchandised from?Sharkman
Jan 31, 2003 10:29 PM
I saw them at River City Bicycles in Portland, OR tonight for $850 retail for the pair. They struck me as an awful lot like the am classics too.

bob
New crap from the guy who brought you the old crap!(nm)merckx56
Feb 1, 2003 5:49 AM
..funny hub, flanges are on the wrong sides...Spunout
Feb 1, 2003 6:38 AM
to reduce the dish. Like old record hubs, the large flange on the freewheel side reduces dish, evens out the tension.

Maybe they figure a longer spoke on the drive side is better, who know?
re: FYI Rolf...snwbdrhoon
Feb 1, 2003 1:24 PM
Rolf Wheels are great. Even when they were linked to Trek. I have both Vector Pros and Propels. I haven't had any problems, and I use my Vector Pros on my 'cross bike.

The only problem with the Propels are that they're a bit narrow and hard to switch larger sized tires due to the narrow rims and the old UST part of it.

Without Trek slowing him down, I bet Rolf's wheel will kick ass.

Plus the guy is nice!
I bought a pair of the elan last month. They will be here in AprCARBON110
Feb 1, 2003 2:32 PM
I will give you reviews but I expect them to be VERY nice. O yeah, I gotem for $750. I like the 420s and plan on getting a custom pair of those for crits if I dont go Tubular. I am sore about my zipps not working out, they are still my favorite but the most unreliable wheel Ihave ever used. If they get their sht together this year and have no complaints I will go back to them since I think they are the perfect wheels.... but we will have to wait 10-12 months.
REASON FOR LARGE FLANGE ON NON-DRIVE SIDE IS.....cyclist of all trades
Feb 1, 2003 6:26 PM
so the non-drive side spokes become pulling spokes. the large flange transfers some of the pulling duties to the non-driveside. this is the patent that he owns and is the "secret" to his design. paired spoking has been around, but not the idea of making th non-drive side spokes pull until rolf. this effectively gives a 16 spoke rear wheel as many pulling spokes as a 32 hole standard built wheel. it's also why rolfs accelerate as well as an wheel out there.