RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help me buy my first aero bar(9 posts)

Help me buy my first aero barvindicator
Jan 31, 2003 8:59 AM
I've never used 'em, but Matheny's book on long distance cycling has me convinced I should buy a set. I don't see many competitive TTs in my future, but I would use them to help increase speed and comfort (one more riding position to choose from) on the long straight parts of solo centuries and similar long rides. Obviously, I won't be using bar end shifters or the like, so I don't need a bar that accomodates them.

Matheny recommends flip up armrests, which makes sense to me so I can use the tops either for my hands or for my computer or hrm when not in the aero position (can I put the computer and hrm there without them interfering with the pads when I'm using the aero bars)?

Don't need the lightest, newest, carbon model. Just something reasonably priced that will hold up well and serve its purpose.

I have some Team Performance points built up, and they have the Profile Design Airstryke 2000 on sale, is this a good choice? Reviews seem to be positive over on that part of the site. Many seem to say that the "loop/one bar" models are sturdier/better than the ones with separate bars.

So, should I try the Airstrykes or something else?

Also, any tips for installation angle, proper adjustment, how to get used to using them without killing myself in the process, tips for moving in and out of the aero position without swerving three lanes over, etc., would also be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave
Profile Jammer SLAaronL
Jan 31, 2003 9:15 AM
for what you want, get those, or a pair of the Spinachi knock-offs. Regular aero bars would be overkill for what you want out of them. You still have full use of the tops of your bars and you you can ride in an aero position with them.

Just my opinion
AL
re: Help me buy my first aero barkameamea
Jan 31, 2003 9:30 AM
if you are intereseted in a pair of airstrykes I have a set with the computer mount I have been thinking about getting rid of. They are in like new condition and they were on my bike for less than 150 miles. If you are interested in them let me know.

joshwagoner@earthlink.net
I'm a big fan of Profile Carbon Strykes but...Akirasho
Jan 31, 2003 9:36 AM
... you might wanna hold off for just a bit...

There are a slew of next generation aerobars being released this spring by makers across the board and they show promise over what most are using now.

Deda, HED, Profile and Easton among others will be offering relatively lighter versions of existing designs... many of them, integrated. If you have a chance, you can see many of the innovations and prices in the current issue of "Triathlete" magazine.

Be the bike.
airstryke is a good one...JS Haiku Shop
Jan 31, 2003 9:49 AM
it's the one i finally settled on (after trying many), regardless of weight, age, or cost (of the bars, LOL). flip-up is nice, they're not obtrusive otherwise, and easily adjustable.

tips on setting up: hard to give. independent to each user. it's often written that a lower/closer to level/horizontal position is favored for competitive events (tt/tri), and a more upward pointing setup for distance rides. mine are setup relatively high, probably at a 30-35* incline.

fyi, resale for these is pretty good on ebay, if you use them and decide they're not for you (provided good pics and a decent feedback profile, that is). i've finally decided not to ebay anything else, as i sold two sets of aerobars on ebay before buying another, after swearing them off for 18 months.

-J
also, FYIJS Haiku Shop
Jan 31, 2003 9:51 AM
the ones i was using (borrowing) were recent generation airstrykes. the ones i bought to replace them for permanent use are airstrykes from the early 1990s. there is little--if any--difference between them. the set i bought included computer mount, riser kit, and arrived in almost mint condition. they were purchased on ebay for $35/buy it now.
Airstryke 2000 for $49/silver or $79/black at PricePoint.com...nhycobob
Jan 31, 2003 10:28 AM
.
ditto on Airstryke 2000cyclopathic
Jan 31, 2003 12:03 PM
Airstryke 2k is probably the best choice for long distance rides. It has adjustable reach (most don't) and flip up arm rests. Second frees handlebar tops so you can still use 'em on climbs and to rest hands. The only draw back armrest screws have tendency to back out; use blue locktite when assemble. 49$ is a killer price
Also check out the Syntace C2 Clip Ultralite. -nmTig
Jan 31, 2003 3:50 PM